We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
Ranked #9 of 59 Hotels in Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed February 9, 2009

In a nutshell, the Hilton is the perfect place to sleep, eat, work and rest, excellent facilities, good location and friendly staff.

  • Liked — Pool & GYM
  • Disliked — No complaint
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nature1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    397
    128
    44
    26
See reviews for
209
293
73
491
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, MI
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2009

We stayed here two nights on our way to and from the Galapagos Islands and it served us very well for a short stay. It's not near enough to the city center to walk (I would not advise walking in this neighborhood), but the taxis are very inexpensive. The rooms are nicely sized, the bed was quite comfortable and the staff was quite pleasant.

The drinks in the hotel bar are $10 each so be careful. We were given a voucher for a "free" drink, but it was only good for a beer, house wine or a pina colada-which you find out when they bring the bill.

The spa/sauna area is beautiful. A previous reviewer said there is no drinking water; but there are bottled drinking water dispensers (free) in the fitness area you walk through on your way into the spa. Speaking of the fitness area, be careful if you plan on doing any significant exercise; it's about 80 degrees and absolutely NO air circulation. I asked for a fan but none is available. I met a fellow who has been using this facility for 2 years and he brings his own fan. I ran on a treadmill for 90 minutes and lost 10 pounds despite my best efforts to drink water every 9 minutes.

  • Liked — large rooms, close to airport
  • Disliked — Stifling fitness center (dangerously hot)
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2009

I have traveled all over the world and have stayed in many hotels. I found the Hilton Colon to be a top quality hotel, very convenient, and with exceptional service. I stayed on the Executive floor and found all the conveniences necessary to make my stay comfortable and enjoyable. I was most impressed with the overall service from the entire staff. From being picked up by the complimentary shuttle, to the minute I walked into the lobby, all Hilton staff members were very attentive and prepared to handle any request. It's close to the airport, the food was great, and the rooms were very clean. There is also a beautiful spa, pool area, and gym. I will always stay at the Hilton Colon whenever I travel to Guayaquil.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bronx180th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2009

The Hilton Colon in Guayaquil is excellent!!
All personnel was very friendly and courteous, food and beverages were excellent, the executive lounge gave us a superb service.
I strongly recommend this hotel for tourists and business travelers.
Congratulations to all the team of the Hilton Colon in Guayaquil!!

Helpful?
Thank yvonnePeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

We stayed two nights as part of a tour group before and after our cruise of the Galàpagos Islands. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and very busy. Our room was large and had everything we needed. The swimming pool was nice for an evening dip. The area around the hotel is definitely nothing special and common sense security precautions should be observed. We ate dinner within walking distance of the hotel at La Parillada del Ñato, a casual restaurant serving massive portions of tasty grilled meats and seafood. All in all a fine experience.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mimic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2008

The experience in this hotel was about average (or less than) based on previous Hilton experiences. Upon arrival the front deak staff were rude and were trying to increase the rate the travel agent gave me. I had to get serious to make sure they respected the rate. When they gave up and accepted the rate, they tried to give me a smoking room. I had to say NO WAY. They finally gave me what was agreed with the travel agent.
The restaurants are fine; great variety of food. The room was clean and spacious. I just want to confirm what was said by other reviews, stay away from the rooms facing the street, too noisy! And also do not accept rooms in lower floors if you can help it. The volume of the music they play in the lobby is quite high and can be disturbing for sleeping.
They charge for the internet service which I consider very retrograde, since so many hotels offer it for free. In the same Guayaquil there are several hotels that offer internet for free.

  • Liked — Spacious and clean room
  • Disliked — Rude front desk staff
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TucanTico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2008

Claims to be 5-star but lacks the attention to detail that genuinely defines that category. No bath slippers in room, washing materials not replaced as a matter of course, a coffee/tea machine available but costs $2 per day to use. And strangely, the sauna in the health spa lacks a drinking water machine (although there is a free Listerine dispenser!), so remember to take a bottle with you to avoid total dehydration.
On the other hand the internet connection worked reasonably well, although it took a while to get going. And the buffet breakfast is filling if not exactly refined.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluftut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
2.1 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#1 of 59 in Guayaquil
878 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Guayaquil Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Guayaquil Hotel
Sheraton Guayaquil Hotel
#6 of 59 in Guayaquil
810 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Guayaquil
Courtyard Guayaquil
#12 of 59 in Guayaquil
548 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
#5 of 59 in Guayaquil
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Colon Guayaquil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Colon Guayaquil

Property: Hilton Colon Guayaquil
Address: Av. Francisco de Orellana, Mz. 111, Guayaquil 5934, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Guayaquil
#4 Spa Hotel in Guayaquil
#5 Luxury Hotel in Guayaquil
#8 Family Hotel in Guayaquil
#10 Romantic Hotel in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Colon Guayaquil 4.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Ecuador, a strategic point of South America, just few minutes from the international airport, Hilton Colon Guayaquil provides relaxing experiences for business and leisure guests alike.Our fully renovated hotel offers comfort, world class dining, elegance, hospitality, detailed service and lot more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Colon Guayaquil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Colon Guayaquil Hotel Guayaquil
Hilton Hotel Guayaquil
Hilton Guayaquil
Guayaquil Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing