We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pre/post Galàpagos hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good pre/post Galàpagos hotel”
Reviewed October 27, 2008

We stayed two nights as part of a tour group before and after our cruise of the Galàpagos Islands. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and very busy. Our room was large and had everything we needed. The swimming pool was nice for an evening dip. The area around the hotel is definitely nothing special and common sense security precautions should be observed. We ate dinner within walking distance of the hotel at La Parillada del Ñato, a casual restaurant serving massive portions of tasty grilled meats and seafood. All in all a fine experience.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mimic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    403
    128
    45
    27
See reviews for
217
294
74
494
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2008

The experience in this hotel was about average (or less than) based on previous Hilton experiences. Upon arrival the front deak staff were rude and were trying to increase the rate the travel agent gave me. I had to get serious to make sure they respected the rate. When they gave up and accepted the rate, they tried to give me a smoking room. I had to say NO WAY. They finally gave me what was agreed with the travel agent.
The restaurants are fine; great variety of food. The room was clean and spacious. I just want to confirm what was said by other reviews, stay away from the rooms facing the street, too noisy! And also do not accept rooms in lower floors if you can help it. The volume of the music they play in the lobby is quite high and can be disturbing for sleeping.
They charge for the internet service which I consider very retrograde, since so many hotels offer it for free. In the same Guayaquil there are several hotels that offer internet for free.

  • Liked — Spacious and clean room
  • Disliked — Rude front desk staff
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TucanTico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2008

Claims to be 5-star but lacks the attention to detail that genuinely defines that category. No bath slippers in room, washing materials not replaced as a matter of course, a coffee/tea machine available but costs $2 per day to use. And strangely, the sauna in the health spa lacks a drinking water machine (although there is a free Listerine dispenser!), so remember to take a bottle with you to avoid total dehydration.
On the other hand the internet connection worked reasonably well, although it took a while to get going. And the buffet breakfast is filling if not exactly refined.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluftut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2008

The Hotel Colon has the feel of a 4 * western style hotel. We stayed here twice on our trip. The hotel is loaded with tourists both pre and post Galapagos. This is where the high end tour groups stay. It is about 5 minutes from the airport.

The rooms are large by western standards, the bathrooms marble and glass. The beds are comfortable. The TVs have all the ususal cable channels. Decent business center. The spa, and gym are almost like a resort. But the best part was the huge warm pool. A welcome oasis after a week on a small boat.

The food at the buffet was just average but the Grill restaurant was very nice; well presented cuts of meat, decent wine list. We were too chicken to try the sushi place.

Taxi travel is cheap but you need to keep your wits about you. After a couple of trips out I learned you can have the taxi all to yourself for $10 per hour. So I asked the bell man to hail me a "good taxi" and just had them take me wherever I wanted to go and wait for me. Try to visit the promonade, the handicraft area, the botanical garden, the art museum, and the iguana park if you have time.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank trvldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2008

We stayed here on our way to the Galapagos. The hotel was fine. The room including the bathroom were clean. The restaurants were average and there was really no service to speak of. The convenience to the airport must be the hotel's charm. The pool was definitely a hit with the kids.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AM_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2008

We stayed here for one of two extra nights after a plane crash in Quito created havoc and our flight was cancelled for two days in a row in Guayaquil.

I posted about the other night at the Sheraton, but made a mistake when I said we stayed at the Marriot - it was actually here at the Hilton.

We had an amazing suite on the club floor which included complimentary cocktails, horsd'ouvres, and buffet breakfast in the morning.

Our room was perfect - quiet and comfortable. Although we did not have time to spend at the pool, the are looked really nice and there were quite a few people at the pool area.

The staff were very plesant and accommodating. This hotel is right near the airport and and mall. It is a ways from the downtown are and the malecon which is a better area to stay in if you are in the are for an extended amount of time.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dogcabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2007

We were put in this hotel by the company handling our trip to the Galapagos Islands. First of all, very few of the staff speak English. Second, the hotel is in a part of town where there is nothing within walking distance. For safety reasons, they recommend you take a cab whenever you go out. Whatever you do, try to avoid getting a room in the front of the hotel on the very busy street. You won't get any rest, due to the constant noise of traffic. If you have enough Hilton Honors points, insist on a room on the 9th floor, an oasis of calm. Finally, to top it off I had my purse stolen by a waiter in one of the dining rooms (the one next to the bar). It was never recovered. Whatever you do, hold on tight to your valuables. It was a nightmare!

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank CPGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
2.1 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#1 of 61 in Guayaquil
897 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Guayaquil Hotel
Sheraton Guayaquil Hotel
#6 of 61 in Guayaquil
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Guayaquil Airport
0.6 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
#5 of 61 in Guayaquil
909 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Guayaquil
Courtyard Guayaquil
#12 of 61 in Guayaquil
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Colon Guayaquil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Colon Guayaquil

Property: Hilton Colon Guayaquil
Address: Av. Francisco de Orellana, Mz. 111, Guayaquil 5934, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Guayaquil
#4 Spa Hotel in Guayaquil
#5 Luxury Hotel in Guayaquil
#8 Family Hotel in Guayaquil
#10 Romantic Hotel in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Colon Guayaquil 4.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Ecuador, a strategic point of South America, just few minutes from the international airport, Hilton Colon Guayaquil provides relaxing experiences for business and leisure guests alike.Our fully renovated hotel offers comfort, world class dining, elegance, hospitality, detailed service and lot more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Colon Guayaquil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Colon Guayaquil Hotel Guayaquil
Hilton Hotel Guayaquil
Hilton Guayaquil
Guayaquil Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing