We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,338)
Filter reviews
1,338 results
Traveler rating
682
434
146
47
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
682
434
146
47
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungeswim up barsteak restaurantclose to the airportgalapagos islandspre and postbreakfast buffetclub levelnice poolsushiboth timesvery nice hotelminutes from the airportrooms are largefree shuttlespasal
Filter
Updating list...
570 - 575 of 1,338 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Like many people on a trip to the Galapagos, we had to make connections through Guayaquil both going and coming back. I have spent some time in Quito and found it to be an interesting and colorful city. Not so with Guayaquil. It is an unpleasant and apparently unsafe city. Fortunately, the Hilton provides everything you need for a brief stay. It is only about 10 minutes from the airport. It is in a modern high rise building with an attractive lobby, several restaurants, spa, health club, and an outdoor pool. The pool is quite pleasant, enclosed by the hotel and a wall of greenery, and has a small swim up bar. The lobby of the hotel connects to a small shopping arcade with a few expensive shops. Our rooms were large with king beds, HD TV, Wi-Fi, and desks with lots of charger outlets and network connections. The furniture was not the quality you expect to find in a five start hotel but certainly adequate. Our upper floor rooms had great views but all you could see is the run down backside of Guayaquil

The Hilton’s Italian restaurant, Portofino, was their best with carefully prepared and interesting dishes. The Vereda Tropical offers steak and seafood with some local accents and also was good. We did not get to eat dinner in their international buffet, the Café Colon, but did have breakfast their twice. Their breakfast buffet was one of the best we have encounter in Latin America.

If you are heading for the Galapagos, make your connections through Quito, if you can, and take a couple of days to see the city. If you have to go through Guayaquil, stay at the Hilton, but don’t waste any time trying to see Guayaquil.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gordon475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonguayaquil, Hilton Colon Guayaquil at Hilton Colon Guayaquil, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest

We are very glad you enjoyed our hotel. It is pity you did not have the same impression about the city. We hope you come back to see more of Ecuador. Best regards

=)

Hilton Colon Guayaquil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel is in a very good location, very good service and a very safe place. Rooms are big and perfect for work. Internet connection (wifi) very good. Somewhat expensive for Ecuador. The breakfast buffet is very extense and offers good options. Also very close to the airport, with shuttle service available. Next time in Guayaquil I would stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Claudio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Hilton was just what we needed after our trip to the Galapagos before flying back home.
Room was like you expect from a Hilton. Maybe a little bit dated but everything was clean. We’ve booked a romance package including wine and snacks waiting in our room, free WIFI, welcome drink at the bar and breakfast which was very good value for money.
We also enjoyed the swimming pool.
We had lunch at the pool. Service was very slow but we were having plenty of time before catching our evening flight.
Transfer to the airport was very easy: we had the shuttle bus all to ourselves.
Would recommend it as a stopover hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belgiantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed here for a few days, upgraded room (Diamond member) and all priveleges, free internet, lounge access etc. given without asking.

Check in to check out was impeccable, service very good, super comfy bed and non intrusive Aircon.

Great breakfast in the lounge, massive selection, and the steak house downstairs is superb.

Wide room service menu, served quickly and efficiently.

All in a ll, a great Hilton.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetsettel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Who ever heard of hotel without hot water, well this hotel does not have any. Stayed there on two seperate occasions in May and both times the water in the rooms was at best lukewarm.
Complaints resulted in being tol;d by a maid that the temperature was normal. I don't think so.
The 'hot ' food for breakfast on the executive floor was cold.
The second time we stayed and had a day room, there was somebody doing maintainance work next door - maybe they were fixing the plumbing.

Room Tip: not sure there is one
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews