We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,338)
Filter reviews
1,338 results
Traveler rating
682
434
146
47
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
682
434
146
47
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungeswim up barsteak restaurantclose to the airportgalapagos islandspre and postbreakfast buffetclub levelnice poolsushiboth timesvery nice hotelminutes from the airportrooms are largefree shuttlespasal
Filter
Updating list...
577 - 582 of 1,338 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here overnight on a trip to the Galapaogs Islands and found the staff accomodating and well prepared for a visit by a group of 50 travelers. The hotel was very clean and modern with all the amenities you associate with Hilton, we ate the next morning at a buffet in the hotel cafe and the food was excellent especially the poached eggs and bacon. if you are coming into the Guayaquil airport you do need to let the hotel arrange your transportation to the hotel and not take an airport taxi, also suggest reading the US State department travel information on their web site.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Gymdawgfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a hotel that excel in my list. Everyone and everything is there to please you. I do recommend it. From the bellboys to the front staff to the housekeepers are there to help you in all your needs. They know the answers to all the questions asked

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccnjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonguayaquil, Hilton Colon Guayaquil at Hilton Colon Guayaquil, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear guest

We are so glad you felt pleased and satisfied during your stay with us.

We certainly wish you can come back soon.

Best regards

=)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We showed up at the Hilton Colon Guayaquil with a crowd off a long flight. We were delighted that the check in process went extremely quickly. Our room was a quiet place on an upper floor. It didn't have much of a view. We stayed during the graduation and a party that took place never even disturbed us for one second. We were given coupons for drinks and for breakfast--these were quite handy and well appreciated. The drinks coupons give you a taste for the local beer. They also serve free peanuts and chips so if you're not hungry, this is a great way to skip a meal.

It rained while we were there, so we skipped the pool experience, but many others tried it out. The hotel's location isn't very close to downtown, but its in a good neighborhood. The desk helped us arranged a tour for downtown and that worked out well, with a guide and driver.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I just stayed at this property with my parents before and after our trip to the Galapagos, and I'm puzzled by some of the negative reviews. This was one of the best Hiltons I've stayed at, and we're members of the HIlton Honors program. The service was great, everyone was helpful and friendly and check-in on the executive lounge was fast and efficient. The free wifi in the rooms was nice. The rooms were sumptuous and immaculate, and a nice range of f toiletries was provided. The TV also gets an impressive selection of international channels.

If you stay on one of the executive floors you have access to the 9th floor executive lounge. There's food served there all day from breakfast, to midday snacks, to happy hour with spirits and wine, to late night bites. The unlimited water bottles provided is a a really nice touch, too.

We chose to eat breakfast downstairs as there was a larger selection. What really stood out for me was the gym/fitness area. I'm sorry I didn't get to make use of it, but I did tour the property and saw a large pool, an unusually well stocked spacious gym, and additional spin and aerobic studios! There were also jacuzzis and steam rooms.

There is not much to do in the area, it is only about a 5 minute ride from the airport, but it is worth taking a short taxi ride to Cerro Santana, where you can walk along the Malecon and look at the beautiful colorful old houses perched atop a hill.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveljunky973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonguayaquil, Hilton Colon Guayaquil at Hilton Colon Guayaquil, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and hope you come back soon.

Best regards.

=)

Hilton Colon Guayaquil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed on either side of our Galapagos trip.
First time around was OK but on our return visit there were issues with our room keys and other glitches that caused problems when we tried to buy a drink or pay the restaurant bill. It was their problem but we had to sort it out, it took the gloss off the experience.
The rooms were clean and spacious, the decor slightly tired.
A lot is made of the variety of restaurants in the hotel. We ate at the Japanese first night which was fine - cheerful staff and reasonable food. For our last night we chose the steak restaurant as it was the only one open on a Sunday. The staff spoke little English and were "reserved". The steaks were very poor, seafood dishes looked OK.
The tour organizers recommended a barbecue place across the road - some of our party went for lunch and were hugely unimpressed.
In contrast the buffet breakfast in the hotel was very comprehensive and of good quality.
Security is important in this area as evidenced by armed guard in the car park. It is important to only use taxis arranged by the hotel. Horror stories regarding those who ignored this advice were provided.
The nearby mall is huge and apparently pleased the girls in our party. Boys should avoid it at all costs - the gym and pool are much better and less costly.
In summary - if you're in an arranged tour party is OK... but avoid the steaks.
Overall would give it a good rating, 3 1/2 stars - but not very good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waiwetu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews