We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine for a night, but don't eat here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown
Ranked #14 of 60 Hotels in Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
“Fine for a night, but don't eat here.”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

As was the case with an earlier reviewer I stayed here for one night when returning from a Galapagos cruise.
Frankly, after three weeks away, I just wanted to get home and this no doubt affected my enjoyment of my stay at the Hampton Inn, but it does has some good points:

1. Its location, which is central and close to places of interest
2. Exceptional, helpful, Reception and Lobby staff, but service deficiencies elsewhere
3. Large, comfortable, clean and well appointed rooms (plus a good sized bathroom)
4. A voucher for a free beer each in the Sports Bar (if you can find it!) There is also a happy hour during which drinks are half price.

On the other hand this is a commercial style hotel concentrating on accommodation rather than food and beverage services, and it shows. The sports bar (ground floor and right at the back of the hotel) could have been fun. It was staffed while I was there by two attractive young waitresses dressed in striped umpire shirts and very short skirts, but they had absolutely no idea about service and just stood around looking pretty. Had I been a famous footballer no doubt the service would have been transformed.
The restaurant was more like a cafeteria, had a limited menu, and sullen service. I decided on a steak and fries and that is what arrived. It was a very small steak and, other than the fries, there was nothing whatsoever accompanying it. Not even a slice of tomato or a lettuce leaf! Poor! I asked to see a wine list but the prices were extortionate.
Breakfast was very limited, at least by British standards, and the coffee was lukewarm and stewed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Owlfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine-Akel, Room Division Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Owlfish:

Thanks for share your comments and recommendations, we really appreciate that you take part of your time to mention a few points about our property and service that we have to improve and offer a great hotel experience that is our main goal, we shared this info with our executive staff to work about it, we will hope that you give us the opportunity to show you all the improvements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    246
    81
    34
    10
See reviews for
113
210
54
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Varsseveld, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Had to spend one night here when we came back from a Galapagos cruise. This is a fine hotel for an overnight stop. Located conveniently close to the airport so you don't loose lots of time in the crazy traffic here.

Rooms are quite large, bathroom is clean, empty fridge in the room, but there is a coffee-maker. Breakfast is a nice buffet with egg-station, waffles etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine-Akel, Room Division Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Walter077:

Thank you very much for share your commments and choosing us like your hotel in Guayaquil and for your recommendations to other travelers about our hotel, remember that we love having you here, please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My first experience at this hotel was the driver who picked me up at the airport. He was very friendly. The hotel desk clerk could not have been nicer and the room was perfect. The staff genuinely made me feel welcome. A week later I showed up without a reservation and the hotel was full. However, the desk clerk went out of her way to find me a room at another local hotel. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buffalotraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine-Akel, Room Division Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear buffalotraveller2:

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about our hotel, it is very pleasant for us to know about your great experience with the attention that you received from our team members, thanks again for choosing us like your hotel in Guayaquil, remember that we love having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I used this hotel for a month and found the staff to be very nice . From the pick up at airport everyone made you feel welcome . The hotel is perfectly situated on one of the safest and most central streets in the city . Only a short walk to the river front boardwalk which is well designed and great for a early evening stroll. A few nice places to sit had have a cheap beer.
During my stay I found a local 50 mtr outdoor swimming pool that opened from 6 am and was totally free. Everyone very friendly approx. 1 mile walk . Hotel staff didn't know about it . A friend used Goggle earth.
Most of the attraction's on trip advisor are within walking distance and I did top 5 in one day.

Room Tip: front better as you can look down on busy streets . Nothing to see but aircon units at rear of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine-Akel, Room Division Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Gary M:

Thank you very much for choosing us like your hotel (home) in Guayaquil during one month, we feel so pleased that you enjoyed staying with us for such a long time, thank you very much for describe the landscape arround the hotel and the tips that you give... We are going to include the info about the public pool that you mentioned, Thank you very much for share your experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Excellent hotel, excellent location, There is definitely a language barrier - lounge staff and repair staff did not understand English. There was a problem with the air conditioning in the room. The second time they were called it was much better. Desk staff and especially Franklin went above and beyond.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine-Akel, Room Division Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member:

Thank you very much for recognize our staff when they gave you a great service, we feel so pleased and proud about it, and thanks for choosing us like your hotel in Guayaquil, we will hope that you can visit us in another opportunity, we love having you here!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Situated a five minute stroll to the centre of the wonderful riverfront gardens the hotel is perfectly situated to enjoy your stay. Wonderful desk staff who found us a room within minutes of arriving
despite it only being 08.45. Large comfortable room with excellent beds and beautiful linen and towels.
Delighful concierge who looked after our cases whilst we spent the day out before travelling home and
directed our driver to us on his arrival.Our only slight disappontment was the restaurant at breakfast,
tables were not cleared, the organisation of the buffet was a little hapazard and items ordered from the chef never appeared.
However if you need a hotel in Guayaquil, this is the one.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine-Akel, Room Division Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear alan s:

Thank you very much for share your comments and for choosing us like your hotel in Guayaquil we feel so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and the interaction with our team members, about your breakfast experience, we are going to share your comments about it with our team members, thanks again for the opportunity to be better every day, please come back soon, we love having you here!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We flew into Guayaquil at 7:00 p.m. and picked up our luggage. We then went to the information desk, who called for the Hampton Inn van to come and pick up the three passengers at the airport. They were at the airport in less than 15 minutes, loaded all the luggage and we were on our way. The driver was knowledgeable about seasons and the best time to visit Ecuador. He was careful and drove safely. The hotel staff ensured that our luggage was safely unloaded and taken to our room as we registered. The room was appropriately cool and welcoming. We enjoyed the large screen TV, but most of all the nice shower after traveling the entire day. The hotel passed through a call from the driver who would be picking us up in the morning so we could coordinate with him. Everyone was friendly, the location was clean and the van was free. Thank you, Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Check out Senior citizen's rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine-Akel, Room Division Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Karen K

Thank you very much for share your detailed experience in our hotel and with our team members, our main goal is that our guests live a great and unforgettable experience in our property, Thank you very much for choosing us like your hotel in Guayaquil, remember that we love having you here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#1 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.3 mi away
Continental Hotel
Continental Hotel
#11 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#4 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
#6 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Guayaquil Airport
0.7 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown
Address: Av 9 de Octubre 432 y Banquerizo Moreno, Guayaquil 7524, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Guayaquil
#8 Romantic Hotel in Guayaquil
#10 Business Hotel in Guayaquil
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-oriented hotel - Downtown, 2 mi from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown Hotel Guayaquil
Hampton Inn Guayaquil
Guayaquil Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing