We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant, pleasant rooms, reception staff let the team down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, pleasant rooms, reception staff let the team down”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Conveniently placed hotel with modern spacious rooms and a good restaurant. The front desk however let the team down and were unhelpful on check-in and tried to split our family into two rooms 5 floors apart albeit we booked months ago. However once this was sorted by our travel company we enjoyed the stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fiona-Hotstonmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine-Akel, Room Division Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Fiona-Hotstonmoore:

Thanks for share your comments with us, about your check in, please we want to contact you by phone, can you give me a number please ? is our intention to offer the best service in town, sometimes the high occupancy make this a little harder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    246
    81
    34
    10
See reviews for
113
210
54
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel is located in the heart of downtown, on a very busy shopping street. The hotel room was very clean. Internet reception was fast. As I was advised not to go out after dark by myself, I had dinner at the hotel restaurant. The staff was very polite and friendly. I ordered a seared tuna at US$17. It tasted fresh and good. Next day, I had breakfast (inclusive in room rate) at the same restaurant. They got ham, bacon, sausage, waffle and order-to-make omelette. The food was good, too. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ydenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine-Akel, Room Division Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Ydenw

Thanks for your review, we have Malecon 2000 only 3 blocks far away and is very safe and other touristic attractions close to the hotel... we hope that you can enjoy more during your next stay with us, we will be so pleased to give you tips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night only, in connection with a business trip in Guayaquil. Well, it was excellent for my purposes. Location very good: 10-15 min from the airport and close to several restaurant (though most of them fast food type). The room was comfortable and clean, as usually at Hilton chain hotels. I did appreciate the gym facilities and the jacuzzi/sauna. Breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine-Akel, Room Division Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Alessandro C

Thanks for share your review and for your comments, it is important for us that you enjoy your stay but one of the most important thing is that we could be part of your great business trip and great experience in Guayaquil... we love having you here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Very helpful staff, with most speaking good English. Comfortable room with bed a little hard, but most hotel beds are. Free Wi-Fi available and manager assisted when I had trouble connecting. Good breakfast as only stayed one night. Pretty good choice selection & good service from staff. Room was clean & spacious & bathroom good. In room safe was available which is handy if you don't want to carry all your valuables when you walk the streets. Staff also supplied me with a power plug adaptor free of charge, as I thought Ecuador was the same as Argentina & Chile. Great service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine-Akel, Room Division Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Phillip021

Thanks for your review and for your great comments about our staff and service, we feel so proud about it... the best reward for us are reviews like yours... because we can feel your satisfaction and that is our goal with each guest... please come back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel is great for groups as well as others. Very friendly reception and staff who came out when our small coach arrived to make sure we were checked in with our luggage quickly. Rooms clean, quiet and offered all you need for a stay. Big rooms with lots of space and a good sized bathroom.

It is on a very busy street but once inside it is nice and quiet. I would bring a group back here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICanTravelPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine-Akel, Room Division Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear ICanTravelPanama

Thanks for your review!!

We feel so pleased that you have a great impression about our staff, service and of our property, specially during your check in process.... Please let me know if you decide to visit us again... we love having you here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-England
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I only stayed one night but my room was spacious, bright and very comfortable. Staff (like most others in Ecuador) were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a bit of a let down - sweetened fruit juice, stale coffee and tainted water that made for an undrinkable cup of tea. However, had a good meal in the same restaurant in the evening. Having spent all day on a very humid Sunday walking around Guayaquil (my flight was in the evening) I decided to head back to the hotel for refreshment. Having already checked out of my room I was able to use the gym facilities to shower and change and then looked forward to a cold beer and something to eat. But - no Cerveza because it was Domingo! Cold water was a poor substitute. The gym/spa facilities looked a bit "sad" at the side of the rest of the hotel. Guayaquil didn't seem very geared up to tourists - decent coffee shops were thin on the ground and the two museums/galleries I visited were eerily quiet. A walk up the hill Santa Anna is worthwhile - some great views and a very lively place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fromliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine-Akel, Room Division at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear fromliverpool

Thanks for write about us, but specially thanks for selected us to be your hotel during your stay in Guayaquil.... we are making improvements in our property, recently we changed the carpet of our restaurant and the fitness center (gym) is part of our plan.... Sorry about your beer but we can not sale any alcoholic drink this day because is a government disposition... close to the hotel you had some touristics attractions like: Seminario Park (you can see iguanas), Cathedral, Nahim Isaias Musuem, Mac Musuem, Navy Musuem, Centenario Park, Malecon 2000, Santana Hill (walk distance) We hope that you come back soon, remember that we love having you here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at The Hampton Inn for 8 nights in a double room with 2 queen size beds. It was safe, spotless, quiet, beds were lusciosly comfy, good water pressure (hot and cold), great breakfast, great service, attentive staff. After a week in Guayaquil and being able to visit other hotels in that city, I can attest to the fact that it offers the best value and the best location. I highly recommend it. It did not smell "mouldy". Travellers must understand that the humidity in the Equator can and will smell like that at certain times of the year! It s not the Hotel.
P.S.: ...bartenders should be allowed to pour larger drinks to be competitive. Charging US prices for tiny drinks got us to take our bar business to another hotel in the area. (constructive comment).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoBeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine-Akel, Room Division Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear SoBeing:

Thanks for share your comments about your stay in our hotel, and for clarify and share your point of view about the comments of the moldy smell... we feel so pleased reading your review, Thanks for that, we really appreciate it... remember that we love having you here, and thank you very much for your recommendations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
#7 of 61 in Guayaquil
487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#4 of 61 in Guayaquil
675 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#1 of 61 in Guayaquil
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Continental Hotel
Continental Hotel
#11 of 61 in Guayaquil
735 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
0.2 mi away
Unipark Hotel
Unipark Hotel
#8 of 61 in Guayaquil
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown
Address: Av 9 de Octubre 432 y Banquerizo Moreno, Guayaquil 7524, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Guayaquil
#8 Romantic Hotel in Guayaquil
#10 Business Hotel in Guayaquil
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-oriented hotel - Downtown, 2 mi from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown Hotel Guayaquil
Hampton Inn Guayaquil
Guayaquil Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing