We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown
Ranked #14 of 60 Hotels in Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence
ubud
Level Contributor
155 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“good stay....”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Spent 3 nights here at different times. Polished hotel, well run. All amenities, gym, spa, business centre etc..super helpful staff. Very clean and spacious rooms and extra comfy beds. Good breakfast and ate in restaurant once which was really good too. Visit Las Penas while in town, really interesting neighbourhood and not too far to walk from the hotel. You must eat at Casa Azul...top seafood with top service....really really good!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine-Akel, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear jan497:

Thanks for your amazing review.... we feel so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, Remember that our hotel is your home in Guayaquil.... We love having you here!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    246
    81
    34
    10
See reviews for
113
210
54
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
aurora,co
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Great hotel and a great location! A couple blocks from the Malecon.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tazAurora_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear tazAurora_co:

Thanks for your review we expect that you come back soon.... we love having you here!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamberoo, Australia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

only stayed 2 nights but rooms and facilities were good including free transport to airport at 5.30 am. My wife enjoyed a great massage for 22.50$on a half price deal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear John G:

Thanks for your review.... We have great promotions in our Spa and different types of massages... right now we are promoting a massage with warm paraffin... remember that we love having you here!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
288 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed just the one night on our way south and were quite happy with our choice. Rooms were large and spacious and very clean, breakfasts were healthy and quite a treat, wifi was fast and free. The location is hard to beat being just a short walk to all the main attractions of Guayaquil. My only complaint is the moldy smell that pervades the whole hotel from the foyer to the rooms which was enough to bring the star rating down to three.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank moonflower59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear moonflower59

Thanks for your amazing review, we can recommend you another activities for your next stay in Guayaquil... about the moldy smell we are working about it with our Maintenance Department... I am going to share your comment with our General Manager, Operational Manager, and Maintenance Manager.... We love having you here :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Comfortable room at a reasonable price, located close to the heart of downtown, just in front of a busy avenue.
The staff is responsive and the cafeteria offers nice hot breakfasts. They are a bit pricey compared to downtown restaurants for dinners and--as a hotel establishment--have slow response so reserve at least an hour if you like to dine there from 7 pm to 9 pm
The hotel is five blocks from the Malecon, and six from Bolivar Square (city's center-point).
We left satisfied and happy about the service including an extra effort to deliver a take-off breakfast at 4 a.m.

Room Tip: If you prefer peace and tranquility, ask to avoid rooms with views directly to the avenue (Ecuadoria...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisianan_at_Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Louisianan_at_Miami

Thanks for your comment... please let me know more info about your stay (name, dates and room) I am going to share the info about the slow response in the restaurant with our Food & Beverage Manager to review your situation.... please come back soon... we love having you here :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
214 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Handy to the river and the Cathedral and the park with the South American Tree Iguanas (opposite the Cathedral). Staff very helpful and friendly. Business centre has good internet and an early morning (prior to restaurant opening) was especially arranged for a very early departure. Rooms comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BongoBickford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear BongoBickford

Thanks for your review... we are very close to the most important tourist attractions in Guayaquil (walking distance)... Please come back soon we will be very pleased to recommend you another activities in Guayaquil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This hotel looks nice and has a nice location. However, the standard of service and attention to detail is rather poor. The location is very nice and walking distance (5 minutes..) from the Malecon. There are many restaurants nearby and you definitely feel like you're in the middle of the city.

However, do not expect Hampton Inn/Hilton class service. We wanted to extend our stay by one night and when I asked the reception they said they'd let us know between 10-11am on the day. When I called at 10am they said there's a big group arriving so they're not sure of availability and they would let us know at around 12pm.

At 11.35am as I was near the reception, I asked them what the status of our extension was. The girl I was talking to asked her colleague (also reception staff) and she replied in Spanish "I already told him that I'll tell him at 12!!".

Certainly not alright for them to assume that we don't speak Spanish. Neither is it polite to display such an attitude at the reception in front of other guests who are checking in (who also probably speak Spanish).

There are other things in this hotel that make you feel like it's definitely missing the class it should have in service. For example: Everyday they will only give you one bottle of complimentary water. (we were in a superior king room and paying for 2 people)

Furthermore, every time I would order room service they would want to bill me for every purchase then and there. The mini bar is also empty. It appears that they have a policy of extending zero credit to the customer.

I don't mind if they take my credit card at check in (they didn't, I think since our stay was already paid for..) and then extend a credit line to me. It becomes annoying very fast to have to pay every single time we order something.

We ordered dinner on one night to the room and our plates were not cleared until 11am the next morning.

This place is fine for a night but don't expect stellar service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lbackstah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando B, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear MasJay, thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel, our customer´s feedback is our best indicator that we´re doing a good job serving them and meeting or exceeding each and every one of their expectations. We are located at walking distance of the most important tourist attractions Guayaquil has to offer. I apologize if you felt we did not meet Hilton/Hampton standards, we do have a 100% guest satisfaction guarantee that can be applied if for any reason our guests feel we did not meet their expectations. Please allow me to answer each on of your comments on the review:

1) We´re always happy to extend a guest stay, however, our ability to do so depends on our availability. Our Front Desk staff did ask you to check back with them later on because we did have a big group coming in and we were fully commited. The only way that we were going to be able to extend your stay was by getting a cancelation, otherwise, we could not because we were at a 100% occupancy.

2)The response you got at the Front Desk by one of our recepcionist in Spanish and with an attitude saying that "she already told you to check back at noon" is totally unacceptable and disrespectful. I profusely apologize for that, she was written up for it and I guarantee you it won´t happen again.

3)The complementary water is not a Hilton or Hampton standard for all guests. If you are a Gold or Diamond member you do get 2 complementary bottles of water on the first day only (depending on the Hilton brand that you are staying at). This is something that I would encourage you to check prior to arrival as there might be certain hotels that do provide additional amenities but they are not necessarily our Standards. Finally, Hilton has several brands and each one of them have a different set of standards (Waldorf Astoria, Conrad, Hilton, Homewood Suites, Embassy Suites, Double Tree and Hampton). Please let me know if you need additional information regarding this matter and I´ll be happy to provide it to you.

4) The reason you were asked to pay for your room service order every time was because you were not asked for a credit card at check in (you should´ve, I will follow up with my Front Desk Manager regarding this matter); as such, you had no credit line with the hotel so every purchase had to be paid at the Point of Sale (restaurant, room service, spa, etc) and could not be charged to the room. I understand this could get annoying very quickly so I apologize for it.

5) Your dinner plates should´ve been picked up either late at night or early in the morning not at 11 am. I will follow up my Food & Beverage Manager regarding this issue.

I look forward to having you stay at our property once again, please contact me directly and I´ll make sure you´re very well taken care of and that the service you receive exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#1 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
0.3 mi away
Continental Hotel
Continental Hotel
#11 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#4 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
#6 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Guayaquil Airport
0.7 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown
Address: Av 9 de Octubre 432 y Banquerizo Moreno, Guayaquil 7524, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Guayaquil
#8 Romantic Hotel in Guayaquil
#10 Business Hotel in Guayaquil
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-oriented hotel - Downtown, 2 mi from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown Hotel Guayaquil
Hampton Inn Guayaquil
Guayaquil Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing