We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

For a man going to the end of the world it was perfect. Best breakfast I seen in al lot of restaurants. The rooms are nice but let say a kind of 3 stars. The restaurant, for unch and dinner is OK, the beer is perfect and it is more or less central.
Nice staff ans safe stay.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies to the central garden, with an iguana statue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stoica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    199
    59
    13
    4
See reviews for
86
138
39
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

When you go to a business hotel, you expect to have at least good wifi, this is the worst service I ever have. You need to enter complex pins and the speed and signal is terrible from any side of the hotel (wifi @ your room...forget it !). For my, is kind of old fashion hotel, service is ok, restaurant is ok+, I wont use it again

Room Tip: ask for rooms that are not over one of the two main streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albertoColombia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Located in the heart of Guayaquil at walking distance to the Malecon, one block from Iguana Park, easy access. Rooms were cleaned, AC worked well, restaurant food was good at reasonable prices, the pool is beautiful!!! I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventasghg, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. Everyday we strive to provide the best, because we LOVE what we do.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Great service, rooms, and wonderful breakfast. This was everything our weary family needed. The food was very good--slow coffee service, but not unusual--had much worse in US just last week! Very kind people.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Centrally located, next to the cathedral, ( actually the rear fassade of the cathedral is part of the inner court of the hotel with a nice swimming pool).
Very friendly reception, very helpful, big rooms, not the most modern but ok, good breakfast, reasonable good restaurant, and in the bar Stan is playing music for you, ( this guy is really an outstanding entertainer ). Thank you to all the team for making us comfortable staying with you.

Room Tip: Inner courtrooms, facing the swimmingpool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guzui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Quito
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We visit this hotel twice annually with my family and are so inclined to write a review everytime. Despite its professional servce staff, upscale dining, and glamourous pool....this place does not give the guest the feeling of commercialism...as if they are trying to sell you something or take your money. We get the feeling of home here. The maids are like the maids we had growing up and the bellmen are like the older boys we used to have in our neighborhood...the ones that looked after you. The cafe is like the Drive Ins we used to go to as a kid and the cute girls behind the check in counter are like the girl next door. There is not a better place to stay in Guayaquil for a family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MATtheEXPAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventasghg, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you very much for letting us know you feel at home with us, that's how friends become family.

Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

this hotel used to be a convent of the church behind. The inner garden with view to the church is really nice. The rooms are ok. The rest of the hotel is like a spanish hotel from the franco-era. At the desk and the door they try to be helpfull, but are a unpolite.
Ask for rooms with good working wifi. Not all rooms it works good.
They allowed me, wuthout extra costs tot stay in my room till 16.00 pm. So that made my stay here worthwhile.

Room Tip: ask for good wifi, of course rooms who look over the courtyard with swimming pool have an advantage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeroenlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#1 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#4 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Continental Hotel
Continental Hotel
#11 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
0.1 mi away
Unipark Hotel
Unipark Hotel
#8 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Guayaquil Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Guayaquil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Guayaquil

Property: Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Address: Boyaca Av. #1615 Between Clemente Ballen St. And 10 de Agosto St | P.O.Box 9282, Guayaquil 090307, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Guayaquil
#4 Best Value Hotel in Guayaquil
#9 Business Hotel in Guayaquil
#11 Romantic Hotel in Guayaquil
#11 Family Hotel in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hotel Guayaquil 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Guayaquil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guayaquil Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing