We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in the center of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good location in the center of the city”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed at the hotel in December for 2 nights. Although the halls are dark, and the elevators small, I found the rooms were bright and had all the amenities you would expect in a larger hotel.
The buffet breakfasts were very nice and there was a complementary paper provided each morning. The location was ideal for me as my main goal was to see the Malecon 2000 and the Iguana park, which were both within easy walking distance. I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloTraveler999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    203
    60
    13
    6
See reviews for
90
144
39
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
180 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

First night in Ecuador after 3 flights from Europe (more than 24 hours) ; a good relieve in comfortable bed, warm shower, and wi-fi working well, included in the rate of the room.
The location of this hotel is about 10 mn walk to Malecon, and in the center of city for restaurant and bar.
Mushroom soup in the evening is excellent. Breakfast with various choice.
bottle of water offered in room, and boiling machine (with no coffee offered).
The pool is little small, and water was cold at that time, just nice to see.
Not easy to find a cash machine around the hotel working at night.
We had to wait for the opening hours of bank.

internet site of hotel not indicated in description.

Room Tip: as most of the hotel, better to ask internet code on check in. some hotel write it on the room card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayimei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Price – part of a package.
Cleanliness - excellent.
Quietness – excellent.
Comfort - excellent.
Location – perfect: walk to the main tourist areas.
Parking – do not drive in Equador.
Friendliness - very good.
Breakfast – alas, we had a 5am transfer; too early for brecky. Had a nice meal in the restaurant.
Classiness - excellent.
Room Size - big.
Room included – TV with international stations, shower, comfy bed.
Facilities included – terrific outdoor swimming pool.
Nice touch – the pool.
Wish we had longer here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Grand Hotel Guayaquil was the first and last hotel in my 17 days in Ecuador – and both experiences were conclusive: it is not a GRAND Hotel!!
The reception is only mildly interested in guests, the room I had was dark, stagnant air, hot (A/C was noisy but not efficient) and not really well kept.
I had a breakfast voucher and when asking whether I could exchange it for something light in the evening as my next day leaving for the airport time was 3 a.m. I was told that this requires a change in the computer system for which, the person at the reception told me, he had no time. At the 24 hr. open cafeteria I was later assured that even at 3 .m. I could get some coffee and something to eat but when showing up shortly before 3 a.m. a sleep server told me the only thing he could give me was a glass of choice from a juice machine, but neither coffee nor anything to eat.
There must surely be better places in Guayaquil….

Room Tip: get one with A/C working quietly and efficiently
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed in this hotel once on the way into Eucador and once on the way out. I was impressed with the garden and happy with the restaurant. The location was also quite good.Also, the staff was friendly and responsive to any requests. However the first room I was in was dark and dingy. The ceiling was a cheap drop ceiling where the ceiling panels were warped and therefore didn't fit properly. On the other hand, the second room I had was very nice with a beautiful view of he garden. Both rooms had nice beds and a good TV. I would stay here again but would insist on a "good" garden view room.

Room Tip: The garden view rooms are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kondan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Could have, should have stayed somewhere else. Fourth floor, looking outside to the main streets. Dark, depressing room. Work going on outside our room both times we stayed there. Also, drilling going on on one of the inside rooms. But the bed was firm.
Went to the pool, asked where we could get a towel to use. Was told to use the towel from the room (would I want to use the same towel for a shower after a pool use?)
Outside areas are actually pretty good, but construction/renovation was going on at the times we were there.
Bathroom was okay, but small.
Coffeepot, with no coffee in the room.
Provided bottled water for two.
Food at the 24 hour restaurant was adequate - nothing special.

Room Tip: i truly cannot tell you which room would be good. we had to stay there two nights due to being with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel14599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Quito
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

There are lots of hotel to choose from in Guayaquil but if you have children....this is the only place. Not only do they have an awsome pool area but having the restaurant poolside and Sunday buffet make it perfect for the family. And....the Malecon is only three blocks (Pirate ship!) away with plenty of family venues.

But for me....what makes this Hotel so special is the service....the staff is friendly and helpfull and are quite numerous....whenever you need something...there is always someone around to get it for you. It had been awhile since we went to real hotel with so much service people to take care of you. I felt like a young man again when all Hotels catered to your every wish.

The building itself is little "dated" but quite frankly...that adds to the charm. One never got the feel of a "chain" hotel but rather something more familiar and personal. The fact that the owner is an American and knows how to not only treat customers but his personell as well will fare well for him in the future.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MATtheEXPAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#4 of 61 in Guayaquil
657 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#1 of 61 in Guayaquil
867 reviews
0.1 mi away
Continental Hotel
Continental Hotel
#11 of 61 in Guayaquil
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Guayaquil Airport
0.1 mi away
Unipark Hotel
Unipark Hotel
#8 of 61 in Guayaquil
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Guayaquil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Guayaquil

Property: Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Address: Boyaca Av. #1615 Between Clemente Ballen St. And 10 de Agosto St | P.O.Box 9282, Guayaquil 090307, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Guayaquil
#4 Best Value Hotel in Guayaquil
#9 Business Hotel in Guayaquil
#11 Family Hotel in Guayaquil
#11 Romantic Hotel in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hotel Guayaquil 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Guayaquil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guayaquil Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing