We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel for Pre/post Galapagos Archipelago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
Ranked #5 of 59 Hotels in Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
1,217 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 687 helpful votes
“Best Hotel for Pre/post Galapagos Archipelago”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Our plan was using Guayaquil as the gateway in Ecuador for Galapagos. We need to drop off our heavy luggages in our hotel in Guayaquil and pick up again when we return. The Sonesta Hotel was the perfect property due to its proximity to the airport. The hotel was also located next to a major shopping complex which we can spend our evening on window shopping. The management of the hotel was familiar with their guest's requirement in storing the heavy luggages for two-calls passengers. Our pickup and send off services to and from airport were carried out smoothly. Overall if we visit Galapagos archipelago again, we definitely will book the Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonesta H, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Hotel Sonesta Guayaquil are pleased to receive your comments about your stay with us.

Guest needs are of high importance, so we have thought of every detail to make your stay an unforgettable experience.

Thanks for your preference and we will be more than happy to have you back in our hotel.

Best Regards

Jorge Gutierrez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    291
    70
    8
    10
See reviews for
212
120
35
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was nice, it's super close to the airport, the rooms were decent sized and comfortable. We got in late at night and the hotel staff made extra sure that we got from the airport safely and left on time the next day. I would recommend this place for both short and longer stays. It's also a short cab ride to the Malecón area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonesta H, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to read your comments, we are so gratefully with you for recommend us.

For our employees are very important make you feel safe and comfortable since the start until the end of your stay. You are the main reason of our business.

We hope to see you soon, we are always at your service for short or long stays.

If you have any question, suggestion or additional request, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Jorge Gutiérrez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Modern clean hotel. We had a comfortable king size bed. Internet was very good and hi speed.
The hotel restaurant was over priced for breakfast, never tried it for dinner.
Seems to be a business hotel, prices are up during the week and pretty good on weekends.
Our stay is for 10 nights visiting family close by.

A couple of good restaurants in the mall right next to hotel that are pretty good. (right out the door of the hotel). Large grocery store in the mall that opens at 10 AM.
5 mins to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portmoodytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonesta H, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing us. Your comments are useful to know those details that need to be improved.

Fortunately the hotel is good located, we can offer many options to our guest thank to the connection to the shopping center.

We have thought everything to make you feel like home outside your country.

Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil is always at your service. We are looking forward to see you soon.

If you have any question, suggestion or additional request, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Jorge Gutiérrez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were looking for a comfortable place to stay close to the airport while on our way to the Galapagos. Free shuttle service from to/from the airport just 3 minutes away was very convenient. Rooms were nice and food good. The staff were quite friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flowergirlla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonesta H, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing us. Your comments about the room, food and service are very important and useful .

We hope to see you soon to have another chance to make you feel at home. Always at your service.

If you have any question, suggestion or additional request, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Jorge Gutiérrez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel is very good, new, great food and service.
Very close from the airport and connected to a big shopping center with great stores and a food court.
All the hotels in Guayaquil are somehow quite expensive, also this one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielZl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonesta H, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted and excited to greet you and express our gratitude for preferring the Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil.

Your comments about the food and service are very kind, we have an excellent team that are always at your service, they are happy if you get more than you expected.

Thank you for letting us know your perception of service.

We are looking forward to see you soon. If you have any question, suggestion or additional request, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Jorge Gutiérrez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Although rooms are not very spacious, it has everything has to have a Luxury Hotel: great amenities, comfortable bed with outstanding linens, in room fridge, LCD TV, cofee machine and a safe.
People is very kind and room service is something to remark, it´s fast and good quality, something you don´t usually find in more expensive hotels.

Room Tip: Breakfast is not very well assorted, but it´s decent and good quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pato B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonesta H, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to greet you and express our gratitude for your kindly comments.

Our compromise is create experiences to our guest, for that reason we work hard to get pleasure stays.

We hope to see you soon, it will be a honor having you again in our hotel.

If you have any question, suggestion or additional request, please do not hesitate to contact us.

On behalf of our team, thank you very much.

Best Regards

Jorge Gutiérrez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Fairly standard hotel room which was clean and well maintained. Check your mini bar when you get to your room though... Mine had half a bottle of coke in it but they were happy to sort that out when I reported it. Nice toiletries including mouthwash. Airport transfer uneventful and bottle of water on route was a nice touch. Mall adjoining with food court and restaurants makes this a great choice for singles that don't want to get room service.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank hellcat_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonesta H, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear guest

We are delighted and excited to greet you and express our gratitude for preferring the Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil.

Thank you for writing us and let us known your comments about our shuttle service and the physical condition of our rooms, they help us to continue providing the best service that our guests deserve.

Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil is always at your service.

On behalf of our team, thank you very much.


Best Regards

Jorge Gutiérrez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
1.9 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#1 of 59 in Guayaquil
878 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Guayaquil Airport
2.6 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#4 of 59 in Guayaquil
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Guayaquil
Courtyard Guayaquil
#12 of 59 in Guayaquil
548 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
0.6 mi away
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
#9 of 59 in Guayaquil
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil

Property: Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
Address: Joaquin Orrantia Av. and Leopoldo Benitez Street | (next to Mall del Sol), Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 59 Hotels in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing