We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the airport and mall.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
Ranked #5 of 61 Hotels in Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Close to the airport and mall.”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Modern clean hotel. We had a comfortable king size bed. Internet was very good and hi speed.
The hotel restaurant was over priced for breakfast, never tried it for dinner.
Seems to be a business hotel, prices are up during the week and pretty good on weekends.
Our stay is for 10 nights visiting family close by.

A couple of good restaurants in the mall right next to hotel that are pretty good. (right out the door of the hotel). Large grocery store in the mall that opens at 10 AM.
5 mins to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portmoodytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonesta H, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing us. Your comments are useful to know those details that need to be improved.

Fortunately the hotel is good located, we can offer many options to our guest thank to the connection to the shopping center.

We have thought everything to make you feel like home outside your country.

Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil is always at your service. We are looking forward to see you soon.

If you have any question, suggestion or additional request, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Jorge Gutiérrez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    279
    61
    8
    8
See reviews for
197
116
30
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were looking for a comfortable place to stay close to the airport while on our way to the Galapagos. Free shuttle service from to/from the airport just 3 minutes away was very convenient. Rooms were nice and food good. The staff were quite friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flowergirlla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonesta H, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing us. Your comments about the room, food and service are very important and useful .

We hope to see you soon to have another chance to make you feel at home. Always at your service.

If you have any question, suggestion or additional request, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Jorge Gutiérrez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel is very good, new, great food and service.
Very close from the airport and connected to a big shopping center with great stores and a food court.
All the hotels in Guayaquil are somehow quite expensive, also this one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielZl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonesta H, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted and excited to greet you and express our gratitude for preferring the Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil.

Your comments about the food and service are very kind, we have an excellent team that are always at your service, they are happy if you get more than you expected.

Thank you for letting us know your perception of service.

We are looking forward to see you soon. If you have any question, suggestion or additional request, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Jorge Gutiérrez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
172 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Although rooms are not very spacious, it has everything has to have a Luxury Hotel: great amenities, comfortable bed with outstanding linens, in room fridge, LCD TV, cofee machine and a safe.
People is very kind and room service is something to remark, it´s fast and good quality, something you don´t usually find in more expensive hotels.

Room Tip: Breakfast is not very well assorted, but it´s decent and good quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pato B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonesta H, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to greet you and express our gratitude for your kindly comments.

Our compromise is create experiences to our guest, for that reason we work hard to get pleasure stays.

We hope to see you soon, it will be a honor having you again in our hotel.

If you have any question, suggestion or additional request, please do not hesitate to contact us.

On behalf of our team, thank you very much.

Best Regards

Jorge Gutiérrez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Fairly standard hotel room which was clean and well maintained. Check your mini bar when you get to your room though... Mine had half a bottle of coke in it but they were happy to sort that out when I reported it. Nice toiletries including mouthwash. Airport transfer uneventful and bottle of water on route was a nice touch. Mall adjoining with food court and restaurants makes this a great choice for singles that don't want to get room service.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank hellcat_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonesta H, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear guest

We are delighted and excited to greet you and express our gratitude for preferring the Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil.

Thank you for writing us and let us known your comments about our shuttle service and the physical condition of our rooms, they help us to continue providing the best service that our guests deserve.

Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil is always at your service.

On behalf of our team, thank you very much.


Best Regards

Jorge Gutiérrez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Etienne, France
Level Contributor
120 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I slept at other hotels in Guayaquil and this is definitely not the best one. This hotel is well located, but so are the others nearby. In my room, the aircontioner was very noisy, my pillows smelled like sweat, the furniture was old and in need of renovation. At the gym there were no towels and the treadmills were old and rusted on the sides. The lunch buffet was good in quality but poor in variety (for instance, for the main course no fish available). The staff however was very friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms ending in 08.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ALEX R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonesta H, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted and excited to greet you and express our gratitude for preferring the Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil.

Thank you for writing us. Your comments about the room, the gym and the buffet are extremely important because they help us to detect those details that need to be improved.

Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil is always at your service. We are looking forward to see you soon.

Kind regards,

Jorge Gutiérrez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Sonesta rooms were nice and clean. Staff was friendly but check-in and check-out were rather slow. Being attached to the mall is a great advantage. The mall is fairly large and typical of U.S. malls. From the hotel, you exit directly into an extension of the mall with only a few shops. You have to walk all the way down to the end of that extension and around a corner where you enter the food court. The rest of the mall is after that. There is also a full-size grocery store in the mall.

Room Tip: My room was on the second floor overlooking the lobby/bar area. They had a band there one night and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandyOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonesta H, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for preferring Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil. We are really happy for your pleasant experience with us.

Thank you for writing us and let us know your comments about the check in and check out process , they are very important because help us to improve our service.

Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil is always at your service. We are looking forward to see you soon.

If you have any question, suggestion or additional request, please do not hesitate to contact us.

On behalf of our team, thank you very much.

Best Regards,

Jorge Gutiérrez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
1.9 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#1 of 61 in Guayaquil
866 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Guayaquil Airport
2.3 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#4 of 61 in Guayaquil
657 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Guayaquil
Courtyard Guayaquil
#13 of 61 in Guayaquil
542 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
#10 of 61 in Guayaquil
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil

Property: Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
Address: Joaquin Orrantia Av. and Leopoldo Benitez Street | (next to Mall del Sol), Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 61 Hotels in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing