We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murali Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Murali Hostal
Ranked #31 of 72 Guayaquil B&B and Inns
Westminster, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Very clean. Very basic. Only spent one night so we'd be close to the airport. Only one or two choices for dinner nearby. Got up early, asked for a cab. They hailed the guy across the street. Worked out great.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ava B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    28
    17
    14
    12
See reviews for
16
32
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

his is my honest opinion of the place.
location: 15 min walk from the bus station or airport. Catch a taxi to the city - $4 USD
customer service: Spoke little and no English from staff. Not very helpful
cleanness: place was clean and tidy.
bathrooms: Dorm had own showers and toilet.
Bedroom:Quite small with small lockers for personal items. You need to store your stuff under the bed.
extras: 2 computer as well as WIFI was fast and available at reception. Kitchens was big with all the kitchen items and a big fridge.
Noisy: very quite,
Breakout area: decent and outdoor.
Suggestions: bigger lockers

Room Tip: there are private rooms that expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrOzboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I had booked on line, paying the 25%, and had asked them to pick me up at the airport. The arrival was in the wee hours of the morning. Everything on line said that it was close to the airport. No one spoke English, I was brought to a horrible part of town to an apartment. The sheets did not look clean. The next morning, while waiting for my ride, I tried to find food. There was nothing in the area, and not even a cup of coffee in the apartment. My ride was very late because no one at the Murali would answer the door. He was there over an hour, thinking I was there. He finally found someone who explained that I was moved. They ignored that I had paid the deposit, unfortunately I didn't have a hard copy for proof. They had no system set up to explain anything to my friend, who came from Vilcambamba, speaks perfect Spanish.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetteT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guayaquil hotels

Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
186 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

For travelers enroute or connecting it is very close to both the bus station and airport. Otherwise the area is somewhat industrial, not good for walking, and some distance away from central Guayaquil. Spacious comfortable rooms with air conditioning and private bathrooms with hot water. The older home conversion features some beautiful wood carved doors and stair railings. The simple breakfast is not served if you arrive " one minute " past 9:00 a:m. Deposit and reservation system requires attention as ours seem to have gone missing. We found it overpriced for accomodation in Guayaquil.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank global3adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I arrived from Bogotá at 1 am. I was glad to have made arrangement to be picked up. It is my second time at the hostal, and the service is excellent. The breakfast was simple but delicious (and free). Fermin welcomed me, showed me the room, started the A/C. The staff is wonderful and very accommodating.

The room are clean, nice and comfortable. If you like flat pillow, make sure to bring your own.

For my family and I, Murali is the place to stay overnight.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fancypaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed in Hostel Murali for one night, we chose this hostel as we were arriving in Guayaquil Airport in the early evening and we had an early bus to catch the next morning, Murali is close to both the bus station and airport so it suited us

The hostel itself is good, rooms were spacious and clean, the staff were all very helpful and friendly, the area isn’t the best and I wouldn’t fancy walking about there at night, I also organised an airport transfer through the hotel, despite emailing the hostel the night before we flew to Guayaquil to re-confirm it was booked nobody turned up at the airport to pick us up, they did get back to me when I emailed them the night before we flew as well saying someone would be there to meet us, it wasn’t a big problem for us just a bit annoying

Breakfast was provided in the hotel and was fine, toast, scrambled eggs and coffee

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was recommended Murali by a good friend of mine who had stayed there before and so I made a reservation through booking.com and received an email of confirmation by the hotel. When we arrived at Guayaquil we got a taxi and arrived at Murali's. We told them we had a reservation but they said they were full and unceremoniously told us to look for another place to stay at. After a full day of travel being treated like this without even a recommendation to another place was just bad.
Last word: Unreliable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alejandra Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
0.6 mi away
Air Suites Hotel
Air Suites Hotel
#43 of 59 in Guayaquil
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.7 mi away
MundialCity
MundialCity
#32 of 59 in Guayaquil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Guayaquil Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Airport Hotel
Airport Hotel
#34 of 59 in Guayaquil
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suites Guayaquil
Suites Guayaquil
#23 of 59 in Guayaquil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garzota Inn
Hotel Garzota Inn
#39 of 72 in Guayaquil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murali Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murali Hostal

Property: Murali Hostal
Address: Garzota 2 | La Salle y 3 Callejon 15 N-E Esquina, Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Murali Hostal 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the Airport and Bus terminal in a safe, quiet, upper-class area of Guayaquil, this Hotel-B&B offers 24 hour reception and security, free WIFI in room, patio, Direct TV, A/C, hot water, breakfast, airport pick up, business center and free Ecuador information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Murali Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing