We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value near the airport”
Review of Murali Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murali Hostal
Ranked #32 of 76 Guayaquil B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good value near the airport”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed here for one night before an early morning flight. Our room was large, comfortable and clean, with a/c and cable TV. We had a big bathroom with a good shower. They offer food with a limited menu, but the food was really good. We left early in the morning so can't comment on the breakfast. An ideal place to stay close to the airport

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpbmpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domenick b, Manager at Murali Hostal, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thanks for staying! We hope you stop by Guayaquil again soon, take care, Domenick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    29
    17
    14
    12
See reviews for
17
32
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BOULDER
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

For those who want to stay at a friendly, comfortable B&B in a lovely old
home near the airport in Guayquil, try the Murali Hostal. We were pleasantly
surprised to find Domenick Buonamici, who is from Cleveland, running a
delightful oasis. The Murali is located in a residential neighborhood,
which means quiet (with some exception from the dog across the street).
We were pleasantly surprised to find that Dom and his staff served a
family style dinner with choice of chicken or beef with rice and a
beautiful fruit salad, all at a very fair price. While waiting for our
dinners to be individually prepared, we sipped wine or a beer and met and
conversed with delightful people from Maui, Seattle, upstate New York and
Sweden all on their way to different places in Ecuador and different
South American countries; a real melting pot of backgrounds. Our room in
the Murali was spacious, clean and with a private bathroom that worked
well. The Murali Hostal is our kind of place.

One word of caution, if you come into the Teminal Terrestre bus station, get a business card for the Murali at the Information desk. Make sure the taxi driver follows the map on the card. The Murali is about a kilometer from the bus station, but drivers are not familiar with the Murali location and don't follow instructions unless you insist.

Room Tip: Dominick moved us from the third to the second floor when he saw the amount of luggage we had. Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoulderTags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domenick b, Manager at Murali Hostal, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Hi, it's true, we are relatively new so many taxi drivers i the bus terminal don't know us yet, but ALL the airport taxis know us by now. Just be sure you copy our address down word for word in Spanish as it states on our site, and then look for our red logo and 3 flags on the roof.

take care and hope to see you soon, Domenick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

A quick taxi ride for a few bucks to the hotel from both the bus dept and the airport. We stayed before and after our trip to the Galapagos. The price was right, the room clean with good a/c and warm shower. We left early both mornings with taxi's organized by the hotel so didn't try the breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful, allowing me to use their laptop to make travel plans. A few barking dogs in the neighborhood, so bring your earplugs.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luv2trvlabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domenick b, Manager at Murali Hostal, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Hey, thanks for staying, it was great having you stop by. It's true, there are a few dogs in the area but I've spoken to their owners and gotten them to calm them down at night time. It's still a pretty quiet area in the middle of this big hectic city, anyways, thanks again for staying and hope to see you again soon, Domenick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I liked this hostal because I could walk there when I flew into the airport, then I could walk to the bus terminal the next day where I caught a bus to Cuenca. 2 blocks from each. The service was excellent, I ordered fruit salads for my kids and they served them in my room! Not many places offer room service for the prices they charge. One thing I didnt like was the wooden laced room, I felt out of place, like I was in the Andes when really I was on the coast of Ecuador.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tristin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2012

hello travelers! we flew into guayaquil very late at night with our two young children. the hotel picked us up at the airport. the hotel has nice accomodations, nice staff. they arranged a shuttle for us for our onward travel, they took us to local stores to buy supplies and food. the room has an AC system and hot water and wi fi. Great service, a man there named Domenick is very helpful, from the states, so he speaks perfect english, and he knows spanish...so that is very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

For a hotel so close to the international airport, 15 minute walk or $3 cab ride, in a major city the Murali was excellent value. The rooms where clean and the water was hot, both rooms we stayed in had air conditioning,one had a fridge. All the staff were friendly and always willing to help, the breakfast was basic but nicely served. We would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone using Guayaquil for their starting or finishing point while visiting Ecuador. The owner is a wealth of information and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hhhbflat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRANNA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

This hotel was close to the airport but not walking distance at night.
We found the room very average for the price. No English tv channels.
The bathroom needs huge improvements. Was afraid to take a shower.
Although the front staff was very friendly. The owner speaks English and was very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRANNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domenick b, Manager at Murali Hostal, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Hello, It's correct, the bathroom of room #4 had a leak above the ceiling causing the ceiling to look distorted and ugly, also the shower tiles needed to be replaced. Yesterday we just finished the remodeling and now the bathroom looks good as new. Both the ceiling and the floor. We do in fact have several English channels its just they get lost in the mix among the hundreds we have, so we've since had signs made to indicate which channels are in English so you can surf quickly among them. Hope you give us another chance to meet your expectactions, anyways, thanks for your consideration and honest tips to help us improve the experience for future guests, take care, Domenick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
0.6 mi away
Air Suites Hotel
Air Suites Hotel
#47 of 61 in Guayaquil
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Monte Carlo
Hotel Plaza Monte Carlo
#35 of 61 in Guayaquil
15 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suites Guayaquil
Suites Guayaquil
#25 of 61 in Guayaquil
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Airport Hotel
Airport Hotel
#31 of 61 in Guayaquil
28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Guayaquil Airport
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Del Rio Guayas
Hotel Casa Del Rio Guayas
#16 of 76 in Guayaquil
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murali Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murali Hostal

Property: Murali Hostal
Address: Garzota 2 | La Salle y 3 Callejon 15 N-E Esquina, Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Murali Hostal 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the Airport and Bus terminal in a safe, quiet, upper-class area of Guayaquil, this Hotel-B&B offers 24 hour reception and security, free WIFI in room, patio, Direct TV, A/C, hot water, breakfast, airport pick up, business center and free Ecuador information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Murali Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing