We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highs and lows that make an average”
Review of Hostel Nucapacha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Nucapacha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This hostel has some very good and some poor qualities that make it good-average in the end.
On the plus side:
Nice big swimming pool
Nice outside area
Good breakfast (for a hostel)
Cheap bar
Friendly and helpful staff
OK location
On the minus:
Small and not well ventilated rooms (it gets really hot!!!)
Noisy
Swimming pool is not very clean
Hot water only available in the private bathrooms (I know its hot in Guayaquil, but it would be nice to have)
I think is a good option for a short stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the higher floors have better ventilation and are less hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tazend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 120 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

We got to Guayaquil and when we called them they were able to accommodate us at the last minute. The staff are friendly and breakfast was good. They also have good security. Shopping centre was only a couple of blocks away.

The downside was our room. We got a room with bunk beds and the fan was a small one which was really high so only 1out of 3 beds got any breeze. Also our room was near the pool where people went to smoke. Unfortunately when we were there, there was a group of people who stayed awake until the early hours, talking, smoking and what seemed like a party. Would have been good if they had quiet hours maybe 11pm to 7am.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trave183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

this hostel is super clean i have nothing bad to say about this place. the common area is beautiful the pool is huge, good place to meet people. I like the fact that the kitchen had the basic essential spices we could use. Its also in a safe area and they have taxi services. Highly recommend

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank vanessaboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

An average hostel, with some rooms far better than other. The room we had had no outside window and was very hot, Dan small.

Pool a nice extra and a good area around it to chill at the bar.

Thr bAr is poorly run. You are not allowed to bring alcohol in and when you ask for a drink it does feel like you are asking for a favour. Local guests freely drinking their own alcohol so all confusing!

Worst thing was the noise Round the bar both nights until 5 am and no sleep.

Not sure i would stop again with so much choice in a city like this

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 11Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed here on two separate occasions and was pleased both times. The staff is super helpful and the hostel as a whole is kept really clean. It was so nice to have a pool to swim in as well on sunny days! The kitchen is fully equipped and the included breakfast was delicious and filling. It's located in a busy suburb just a few minutes from several bars and the supermarket. I definitely recommend it!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
Thank LRMTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Nucapacha is your average hostel of pretty good value. The service was good, the breakfast basic (scrambled egg, two slices white toast, one cup coffee). There was an excellent swimming pool the two times I visited, but the 2nd time two young boys using the pool were noisy and out of control and I avoided it.

The location is just so-so, the one shower I took was cold, but my main concern was the security: the lockers are poorly designed so that a padlock cannot be secured to lock them. A flimsy chain was provided with the $2 deposit padlock to secure the lockers, but a $5 pair of bolt cutters could easily snip the flimsy chain. (I had brought my own padlock, but it would not fit the lockers either.)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nucapacha, Owner at Hostel Nucapacha, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear James.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us. I wish your stay would have been more pleasant, we are sorry for any inconvenience you had that prevent this from happening.
Unfortunately it took us a while to get our lockers fix but we are glad to inform you that we finally fix them and now you can fit regular padlocks.
Thank you again.
Regards
Carolina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hostel is in a good central location to get to grocery store, ATM and restaurants. They have keep up the garden and pool. I found the front desk and the owner very helpful and friendly. I found the kitchen staff to be not friendly and in fact was rude to several of the clients. Maybe a miscommunication but I do not think this was the cause.
I stayed in a dorm for 3 nights with breakfast and it was $11 a night. But there is no hot water. Well I would normally say no problem, it was cold out and the ice shower was a bit over the top. The shower and bathroom were located in the common areas. Breakfast was 2 eggs, 2 toast, margarine, jam, fresh juice and coffee.

PROS
Unbeatable Price
Free Filtered Water
Free breakfast
Pool that is well maintained
Well informed,helpful and responsive desk staff
Good beds
Bed Light
Lockers
Good WIFI
Excellant kitchen for common use. (sharp knives, if you can believe)

CONS
COLD showers
No ventilation or windows to open in the dorm room
No bathroom attached to dorm.
Bathroom and showers in common area.
Had to leave the bathroom in sight of everyone, with PJs on to get back to my room.
Can not take a shower at night because of the cold water and cold night.
Unpleasant kitchen staff.
Lockers require a larger lock then most people carry.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingleNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Sander
Hotel Sander
#32 of 62 in Guayaquil
47 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hostal Suites Madrid
Hostal Suites Madrid
#22 of 62 in Guayaquil
202 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tomo Hostel
Tomo Hostel
#3 of 61 in Guayaquil
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Nazu City Hostel
Nazu City Hostel
#2 of 61 in Guayaquil
57 reviews
2.6 mi away
DreamKapture Hostel
DreamKapture Hostel
#14 of 61 in Guayaquil
167 reviews
2.4 mi away
Manso Boutique Guesthouse
Manso Boutique Guesthouse
#4 of 61 in Guayaquil
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Nucapacha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Nucapacha

Address: Urdesa Central. Balsamos Sur #308, Guayaquil EQ09112, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Guayaquil
Price Range: $14 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NucaPacha is Quechua and means "OUR UNIVERSE" ...And this is what our hostel means to us and more importantly, what we want to share with you, our universe, our land. We offer afordable acommodation for backpackers and travelers who enjoy a chill, peacefull and cosy place to stay in while in the city chaos. Our facilities are design to offer a friendly atmosphere where you'll feel like home. Having lots of common areas to invite all of you to feel like part of our family. Nucapacha is in Urdesa Central, a safe and quiet neighborhood, yet close to bars, restaurants, night clubs, banks and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Nucapacha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing