We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent hostel choice”
Review of Hostel Nucapacha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Nucapacha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed here twice both times in a double room with shared bathroom. The room is plain but good size and clean. Room has fan which can be needed is a warm city. Shared bathrooms are spotlessly clean with cold water showers only but havent been a problem for us as it was very hot while staying here.
The hostel has a pool but we didnt use it as looked a little murky. There is a computer and wifi in common areas. Communal kitchen of decent size. There are lots of dvd if u want to watch a movie in common area. There is a bar (not allowed to bring alcohol in) which is reasonably priced.
Staff are ok - sometimes difficult to find but helpful enough.
Location is away from the centre but in a nice neighbourhood with many restaurants and shopping malls are not far away.
Value - rooms aren't cheap compared to other towns in Ecuador but is reasonable.
Overall nothing special just good solid hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamflames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 119 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

The hostel is far from the center like everyone else, the house is very big and beautiful with a garden and a large pscina, also hammocks in the garden, and cheap beer. staff very friendly and fairly inform you about the city. rooms a bit shabby and very hot. breakfast is very good and the price is reasonable, good atmosphere among travelers

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andyamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

The rooms are small, have only small windows and NO AIRCONDITIONING! Very poor performance of staff - they were not at all interested in their guests and prefered to spend the evenings until the early mornings (!) at the pool bar drinking and partying with friends. Bring earplugs or better, avoid the place!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This is a great little place in one of the nicer neighbourhoods of Guayaquil. One of the drawbacks to being in a nicer area is that it is a fair distance to the city centre ($4 taxi, 0.25c bus), but this isn’t too much of an issue. Buses are regular, and the hostel has its own taxi service.
There is a large white rabbit that lives at the hostel, so do not be alarmed if you see him wondering about (I had to do a double take first time I spotted him!)
Dorms are very large, each with a number of large fans. These are very welcome, as this town gets very hot and humid at night. There are large security lockers which can fit very large bags (bring your own padlock).
There are two bathrooms on the ground floor, each of which are cleaned regularly. These are shared between 10 people, so the queue is never that huge.
The kitchen is very well equipped, and there is plenty of room for more than one person to cook. It does get a little warm in there though, so be warned.
You are not allowed to bring your own alcohol into the hostel, but the bar is both well stocked and reasonably priced ($2 for a large beer). The reception and bar staff are one and the same, so it can sometimes take a while to get served if there are a lot of people leaving/arriving.
There is a mid sized pool in the garden, though it looked a little green when we were there. However, it is nice to lounge around during the day. There are also a few hammocks dotted around the garden.
The hostel has it’s own travel agency for Galapagos trips. The prices offered are very competitive, and the service is good.
Wifi is free and available throughout the building. It is fairly fast and reliable. There is one computer available for general use.

Room Tip: Make sure that you get a room with fans. It gets hot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheIntrepidExp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I've stayed at almost all hostels at least one might in Guayaquil and hostel nucapacha might be my favorite. A five dollar taxi ride from airport and bus station and the hostel looks like a huge white house. Inside there is an attractive lounge area with a decent kitchen and a rabbit and cat running around. Outside there is a big patio with tables and a huge clean pool. Dorm beds are 10$ a night with breakfast included(a standard eggs bread juice and coffee). Big comfortable hostel great for crashing for a night or two.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Handog6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

OK for the money. Decent location close to supermarket, mall, food etc. Love the cute rabbit. Beds comfy. Kitchen functional. Very hot in the rooms, but manageable with fans.

No hot water, although not a biggie as Guayaquil is hot hot hot. Certainly not clean, I had jet back feet after walking around barefoot. Staff seemed disinterested, generally unhelpful, and watched TV most of the day. I cooked a beautiful lentil dahl for my dinner, and stored half in the guest fridge overnight, but by morning it had been thrown out. Nearly beaten up by highly aggressive Finnish guest inside the hostel. Pool nice and big, but needed a dose of chlorine. Their wi-fi was useful to book into another hostel.

Room Tip: Room 17 was pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tipt0es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Pros - excellent pool, safe area

Cons - the staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. One of the staff members made a disgusted face when my friend asked for more coffee with breakfast as it meant that she would have to get up from in front of the tv. Bathrooms weren't all that clean and we found a lot of hair on our pillows. Quite unimpressed with the hostel overall.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amelia711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
2.1 mi away
Hostal Suites Madrid
Hostal Suites Madrid
#24 of 62 in Guayaquil
194 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa64
Villa64
#10 of 62 in Guayaquil
199 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Sander
Hotel Sander
#30 of 62 in Guayaquil
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Tomo Hostel
Tomo Hostel
#4 of 55 in Guayaquil
190 reviews
2.6 mi away
DreamKapture Hostel
DreamKapture Hostel
#15 of 55 in Guayaquil
166 reviews
2.4 mi away
Manso Boutique Guesthouse
Manso Boutique Guesthouse
#2 of 55 in Guayaquil
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Nucapacha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Nucapacha

Address: Urdesa Central. Balsamos Sur #308, Guayaquil EQ09112, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Guayaquil
Price Range: $14 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NucaPacha is Quechua and means "OUR UNIVERSE" ...And this is what our hostel means to us and more importantly, what we want to share with you, our universe, our land. We offer afordable acommodation for backpackers and travelers who enjoy a chill, peacefull and cosy place to stay in while in the city chaos. Our facilities are design to offer a friendly atmosphere where you'll feel like home. Having lots of common areas to invite all of you to feel like part of our family. Nucapacha is in Urdesa Central, a safe and quiet neighborhood, yet close to bars, restaurants, night clubs, banks and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Nucapacha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing