We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can not do better in Guayaquil”
Review of Mansion del Rio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mansion del Rio
Ranked #12 of 75 Guayaquil B&B and Inns
Ecuador
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“You can not do better in Guayaquil”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice now and will continue to make it my first choice in Guayaquil, as well as continue sending my customers and clients there any chance I get.

This hotel has everything - the best location in Guayaquil with fantastic views of the river, comfortable rooms, excellent decoration and atmosphere. Maria - the owner - and her staff are friendly and so very helpful. Security and safety is excellent. The breakfast buffet is wonderful, with a great variety of breakfast foods., This hotel gets our recommendation without any hesitation!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Court593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    35
    10
    9
    4
See reviews for
10
58
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne, Dorset, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a fabulous old colonial building built by an English oil worker and converted to a hotel by the present Italian owner. She has done a superb job and antiques are used everywhere. It is in a nice part of town a short walk to the centre and waterfront. There is free WiFi.

The rooms are big and well furnished. Breakfast is excellent and we were given an early one as we were flying to Peru.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike Gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here one night after our trip to the Galapagos, and wished we could stay longer. Staying here is like staying in a small Doges' Palace. It is very beautiful, with lovely furniture, paintings, chandeliers, etc., everywhere. We had wine on the rooftop overlooking the river followed by a delicious dinner arranged ahead of time. We had to leave for the airport at 5:00 a.m.. Maria had a good breakfast ready for us at 4:30, and was there being her charming self. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXTraveler812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here for four nights and felt like it was a nice luxurious break. The building is very charming with a wonderfully decorated lounge (complete with piano) and top floor balcony over looking the river. The rooms were small and simple, with a comfortable bed, air conditioning (huge plus!), and a small fridge with beers and water at affordable rates. I was also pleasantly surprised by the location. Prior to coming to Guayaquil, we had only heard scary stories about the area being unsafe. However, upon arrival I was pleased to find that we were located at the end of a cobble stone street lined with art boutique stores and close to the Malecon area which were very well patrolled. We never once felt unsafe.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Let me start out by complimenting our host/owner Maria. She was fabulous. Informative, sincere and very personable.

Hotel is very old and you have to climb quite a few steps so if you are physically challenged or elderly you might want to reconsider.

Nice area, walking distance to Malecon and the famous steps to the lighthouse.

Would recommend unless you are looking for a plush hotel. Clean, quaint and charming. Gracias Maria

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here for one night after a visit to the Galapagos and even though Guayaquil is a bit of a disappointment after everywhere else we'd been to in Ecuador, this little hotel was a great place to stay and relax for a night. Maria is very helpful and gave us a complimentary glass of wine and a plate of fruit just after we arrived as it was our honeyoon; she pointed us in the direction of the waterfront to walk along and find somewhere to eat and also got up extra early to make sure we had breakfast before we left for the airport at the crack of dawn.

Room Tip: we had the room just opposite the reception desk and this was very cosy with a modern bathroom but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelseahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

If you're looking for charm, this is the place in Guayaquil. Transformed from a large turn of the century family mansion, this boutique hotel service up the ambiance, service and views up and down the river. Inn-keeper Marie is friendly and caring and out to ensure a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bpmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#1 of 59 in Guayaquil
871 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
#6 of 59 in Guayaquil
474 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#4 of 59 in Guayaquil
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
1.1 mi away
Continental Hotel
Continental Hotel
#11 of 59 in Guayaquil
697 reviews
1.1 mi away
Unipark Hotel
Unipark Hotel
#8 of 59 in Guayaquil
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion del Rio

Property: Mansion del Rio
Address: Barrio Las Penas, Calle Numa Pompilio Llona No. 120 next to Puerto Santa Ana, in front of Rio Guayas., Guayaquil, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mansion del Rio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Mansion del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing