We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate, and no more”
Review of Hotel Castell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Castell
Ranked #36 of 62 Hotels in Guayaquil
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night last week. I was picked up at the airport at 11:30pm by local friends and they arranged this place. They didn't know that I had stayed there the year before. This report would be the same for both visits.

My room had 2 double beds and 1 twin bed in it. It was clean and simple. Bathroom was small, but I had hot water. They give you shampoo, bottled water and soap for free. Other drinks available from in-room fridge for extra charge.

Wi-fi worked fine in my room. TV was the old style (not flat) but was fine and there were a few english speaking channels.

Towels were good, linens were clean, but BEDS ARE HARD AS ROCKS. I think that's "normal" here in Ecuador.

LOTS of street noise- and I was on the 5th floor. Complementary breakfast was pretty good= self-serve scrambled eggs, fruit, fruit juices, rolls.

If you're only there for a few hours like me, it's probably fine. I paid $60, taxes included. I think that's the Ecuadorian rate, so if you know a local, have them make the reservation for you. I think the "gringo rate" is higher. I'm headed back in a few days to fly out and will try a different place for comparison (the mattress specifically).

Room Tip: Will have road noise from any room I'm sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jeff h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 47 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2011

I stayed here for two nights on business in May 2011. The hotel has four stars on the front, but it's not a four star hotel. My room was small and pokey, with a single window high up in the wall. There was no hot shower on either day. The bed was hard as a rock.
On the up side it was clean and the air con was efficient but loud; wi-fi was good.
The restaurant was cheap and the food adequate, but had a loud TV in the background. Breakfast buffet was basic but the bread was fresh. Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Hotel Castell is close to the airport, the Convention Center and several malls.

The price was very convenient, the room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was adequate in size, with a nice hot shower with good pressure. The free WiFi and the air conditioning never failed.

There was a small "bussiness center" next to the restaurant with two computers which were free for the guests' use.

The restaurant was good and the breakfast, consistently good.

The staff was first rate; they were always efficient, kind, reliable and utterly professional. Given the semi-state of siege in the whole of the country at the time of my stay and the pervading insecurity in the streets of Guayaquil, it was not safe to go out by foot so the recommended way to go out of the hotel was using reputed taxi companies. The hotel staff did a great job in securing these vehicles every time there was a need for them. The taxi fares were quite cheap.

All in all, a very good stay in a hotel to which I would come back happily. Highly recommended. Guayaquil may have not been a very safe place at the time of my sojourn, but this hotel is a haven.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones que dan a la calle principal son las mejores en mi opinion personal.,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Toro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telCastell, Director Comercial at Hotel Castell, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: verificar las fotos de los viajeros
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Malenita_7713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telCastell, Director Comercial at Hotel Castell, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Angel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telCastell, Director Comercial at Hotel Castell, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: ninguna habitacion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fmaldonado49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telCastell, Director Comercial at Hotel Castell, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
0.2 mi away
HM International Hotel
HM International Hotel
#32 of 62 in Guayaquil
46 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marcelius
Hotel Marcelius
#26 of 62 in Guayaquil
81 reviews
0.8 mi away
MundialCity
MundialCity
#28 of 62 in Guayaquil
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Suites Guayaquil
Suites Guayaquil
#25 of 62 in Guayaquil
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Guayaquil
Wyndham Garden Guayaquil
#16 of 62 in Guayaquil
419 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Simmonds Guayaquil
Hotel Simmonds Guayaquil
#56 of 62 in Guayaquil
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castell

Address: Cdla. Kennedy Norte Av. Miguel H. Alcivar y Pumpilio Ulloa esquina | Cdla. Kennedy Norte Av. Miguel H. Alcivar y Pumpilio Ulloa esquina, Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 62 Hotels in Guayaquil
Price Range: $56 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castell 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the most exclusive area of ​​Guayaquil, 3 minutes of "Jose Joaquin de Olmedo", "Convention Center" and 10 minutes from the majestic "Malecon 2000" International Airport. The financial center and most important city business. Surrounded by shopping centers like San Marino, Policentro, Mall del Sol, national and international restaurants, galleries, museums and main tourist attractions of the restaurant ciudad.Nuestro "Mrs. Moon" offers delicious national and international dishes, with a warm personalized attention (open from 7.00 AM to 10.30 PM). Cyber ​​Business Center, computers with free Internet available to our customers, meeting rooms available for business meetings and conferences; free and immediate medical care with mobile Eko Kennedy Clinic, private 24 hour security, private parking free of charge, laundry and ironing service executive taxis 24 hours, all rooms include buffet served in Dona Luna restaurant style breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Castell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing