We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Hotel I ever been in whole Central America” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel City Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel City Plaza
Ranked #17 of 59 Hotels in Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel I ever been in whole Central America”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Came from UK with my friend and all his large family. by chance i did find this hotel through Booking.com
The best ever, wonderful and fantastic Hotel I did stay in my Trip to Central America.
The Rooms are amazing, Large and very clean, big Bathroom and super clean and organised.
The staff all they Speak English second language and better than any other hotel's i did see when i was looking for hotel that they not speak any english word.
All staff are super friendly and very welcoming with the best hospitality they make you feel you are more than special and anything you ask they wont say no and if they do not have it some how they will bring it to you,
Nice welcoming shuttle will pick you up from Airport. great and central location, 5 minute walk from Guayaquil River. they offer you cheap taxi to take you to any beach and the taxi stays with you all day for very reasonable price.
They have very secure Taxi whenever you want with very cheap price.and also the taxi driver you can book it hourly and also very cheap.
As much as i thank everyone who work at this hotel still not enough. the General Manager Sarah an amazing Lady always welcoming you with her kind and wonderful smile.
Also Very special Thanks to Kristal ;*

Oh forgot to say about the food in the restaurant; they have wonderful and very yummy fresh meal, the lunch set menu very reasonable price with many choices, better and healthy food that the food i had from outside restaurants.
Can not think of any better word than Excellent Hotel to say it.

Room Tip: I do extremely recommend this hotel for Single, couple and family. very reasonable price. and even i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fadihariri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCityPlaza H, Sales Department at Hotel City Plaza, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,


We highly appreciate your comment. Your good comments inspire us to move forward.

We are happy to hear that your stay was excellent.

We look forward to count with your visit soon.


Sincerely,


Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    54
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
17
37
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here 1 night to see a family member off to the airport. We wanted walking distance to El Malecon and airport transport. We stayed in 2 rooms - 1 junior suite and 1 twin double room. The twin double had poor a/c but the staff arranged to switch rooms immediately, very helpful. The junior suite was excellent for the cost. Large and comfortable for our family to utilize. Both rooms had balconies, but if you know Guayaquil, you know a/c is where you want to be. The rooms were very clean. The staff was very helpful and was honest with the pricing our our airport transport. They also were quick with it, which was nice. The hotel is secure, no worries. Overall it is smaller than I expected, more boutique, but had all the needs including a Business center and lounge. It is a bit further from the Malecon than I wanted, but only about 5 blocks. We stayed in the Hampton Inn downtown the last time and overall I would choose city plaza again.

Room Tip: Junior suite is worth the money, the a/c is central so no need to turn it on and off...always nice a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fernalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCityPlaza H, Sales Department at Hotel City Plaza, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your valuable comment. It's always a pleasure to attend all their requirements. We are pleased to hear that the friendliness of our staff was appreciated and that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We hope to receive your visit in your next stay in Guayaquil.


Sincerely,

Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was our first time in Ecuador and Guayaquil. When we checked in we asked the hotel receptionist for info on tour to whale watching and possible transport to Cuenca. He called a 'friend' and quoted us something very pricey. His friend offered to take us to Cuenca one way for $150. We did some research and actually found out we could take the bus or fly for a fraction of that cost. We ended up booking a flight on Tame for round trip of $150. W felt that his price for the transport was outrageous and we were being taken advantage of. A positive was that the hotel offered a $5.00 taxi service on and around. However as we went to book it for our taxi to the airport when e were leaving the price jumped to $10. For no reason. When we questioned it and said we had paid $5. The day before that became the acceptable price. Not sure if you should haggle here. No mention of it in any of the books or blogs. Buyer beware.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCityPlaza H, Departamento de Ventas at Hotel City Plaza, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Our apologize for the inconvenience ocurred during your stay at our hotel. Apparently there was a misunderstanding.
When our guests ask for any tour, our staff contact the travel agency who makes the arrangement directly whit the guest and likewise set prices, schedules and other details of the tour. However, your request was made on sunday, and our staff was doing his best to help.

Once again, we are very sorry for the misunderstanding.

We hope to have you back soon, ao that we have the opportunity to provide the service you deserve.


Sincerely,

Sales Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

Arriving on Saturday afternoon, as the shops were closing, the friendly staff directed us to the river frontage modern complex. Also gave us tips on where not to venture. Rooms large & quiet, beds comfy. Dinner was served in a pleasant restaurant, food above average for a city hotel & reasonably priced. As we were leaving at 5am, we had a breakfast to go - just a sandwich & drink but ok.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gungadin3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCityPlaza H, Departamento de Ventas at Hotel City Plaza, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your valuable comment! The safety of our guests is very important to us and it's always a pleasure to attend all their requirements. We are pleased to hear that the friendliness of our staff was appreciated and that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We hope to receive your visit in your next stay in Guayaquil.


Sincerely,

Sales Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in order to tour Guayaquil. We were impressed with the modern decor. Definitely more modern than most places in Ecuador. It was clean and the beds were pretty comfy, another hard thing to come by in Ecuador. The breakfast, although a nice spread, was just plain gross. And the coffee...iickk. Although we had free breakfast vouchers, we skipped out on the second morning.

Our room was on the 6th floor with an interior view for the first night. It was very quiet, and large, but our view was drab. The next day our air conditioner leaked and we had to switch from a suite to a much smaller room on the first floor. Although smaller, this room was also modern, clean, and quiet. The location was great and in the evening we had the concierge call us a driver to head out to the restaurants and such. W

We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewYorkNewlyweds09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCityPlaza H, Departamento de Ventas at Hotel City Plaza, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment! We're glad you liked the decor of our rooms.

We're really sorry for the problem you had with the air conditioner. We are giving regular maintenance to our rooms, to avoid such situations, but accidents may still happen. We strive ervery day to improve certain details of the hotel so that our guests are satisfied with our services.

We hope you visit us soon.


Best regards,

Sales Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed for one night in Hotel City Plaza and I was impressed with the quality the hotel offered.

THE ROOMS were very nice - bright and cozy, yet spacious enough. Everything was very clean and the room offered anything one might need from a city hotel

THE LOCATION is in a very nice and safe area, at walking distance from the famous Boardwalk, Plaza de Iguanas, shops - basically everything would want to need to see.

THE SERVICE was excellent. I have been to many hotels and I must say - usually I get less service than what I pay for. Here I got 5 times better service than I paid for. I have never seen more helpful staff, even with things that are irrelevant to the hotel.

Sideback - the only minor sideback is that it is a little noisy as the hotel is on one of the main streets and you should know - drivers in South America like to horn a LOT :) But the noise is nothing to worry about.

Quayaquil is a wonderful place to visit and Hotel City Plaza is a great place to stay.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Monanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

Service is the best..! polite people, beautiful room, ubicated into Guayaquil downtown.. sure I´ll be back..!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCityPlaza H, Departamento de Ventas at Hotel City Plaza, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

We highly appreciate your comment! We are happy to hear that your stay was excellent. You deserve excellence and we work daily to find more ways to satisfy our guests.

We look forward to count with your visit soon!


Best regards,

Sales Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
0.4 mi away
Continental Hotel
Continental Hotel
#10 of 59 in Guayaquil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.3 mi away
Unipark Hotel
Unipark Hotel
#7 of 59 in Guayaquil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#5 of 59 in Guayaquil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ramada
Hotel Ramada
#15 of 59 in Guayaquil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
2.7 mi away
Suites Guayaquil
Suites Guayaquil
#23 of 59 in Guayaquil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
#6 of 59 in Guayaquil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Plaza

Property: Hotel City Plaza
Address: Boyaca 922 y Victor Manuel Rendon | Boyacá 922 y Víctor Manuel Rendón, Guayaquil n/a, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 59 Hotels in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel City Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing