We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Guayaquil”
Review of Hostal Macaw

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guayaquil
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Macaw
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Our experience mirrors those of prior reviews. A quiet, clean, friendly oasis close to the bus and airline terminals. In hot and humid Guayaquil, the remote controlled air conditioner was great.
This hotel is a work of love, designed, built and decorated by the owners and managed with the skill of a 5-star Swiss resort.
Pedro, the recommended taxi driver, gets you around town with great humor and safety.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annadelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 171 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2010

This was a great find for us for our last week in South America. The service, therooms and the location are great;it is a 3 minute walk to a major mall, 5 minutes from the airport and the hotel is in the exact same location as the sheraton etc. and felt very safe. The rooms are new and spotless with flat screen tv´s and free internet. The staff is great, they give you great juice drinks right when you walk in and they made sure that everything went perfect for our stay in Guayaquil/the Galapagos. We would without a doubt stay here again if we ever come back to Guayaquil.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theamericannomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

The Macaw Hostal is located close to the airport in Guayaquil near several other large hotes - the Hilton, Sheraton, etc. The hotel is brand new and decorated beautifully. The rooms are bright and airy, water pressure and temperature excellent, flat screen Tvs with cable function well and the two free internet terminals were greatly appreciated as I had some work to catch up on. Breakfast was very healthy, all-natural and featuring delicious local produce and coffee from Galapagos.
The hotel has only 13 rooms so is small and cozy. It is close to the airport but noise is a minimum compared to other hotels in the area. They do offer airport pickup as well which I strongly recommend in Guayaquil.
I travel frequently to Guayaquil and have to say this is the best all-round hotel I have stayed in. The personal touches are fantastic and service friendly and efficient. I definitely would stay here again and would recommend this to anyone looking for a comfortable, safe, clean location with internet, good service and other amenities.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southern_stingray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Lovely clean airy rooms, incredibly friendly and attentive staff and owners and a lovely gem of a back garden with cocoa plants, wild pinapples and visiting hummingbirds a 5 min drive from the airport

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank africaweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

They picked us up at the airport...even waited an hour as our flight from the Galapagos was delayed. Their location is near a very nice mall in a neighborhood.

When we arrived ,a porter brought our bags in. They had wifi. The room was cold from an a/c. There is no mildew or any bad smells. The beds were imacculate...a little stiff for me, but very clean. Shower had great pressure and was hot. They even had a refrigerator with complimentary cokes in the room.

They arranged for a taxi to take us to Cerro Santa Ana and then take us back.
The next day the same porter walked us to the mall so we wouldn't get lost.

We payed $61 (USD) which includes taxes and airport pickup. If I was to stay in Guayaquil for a month, I would stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAJAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

This newly opened hostal is the perfect spot for a short stopover in Guayaquil. The owner family and the staff are cordial and warmhearted. Unlike the many hotels nearby it offers the experience of almost living with a Ecuadorian family in a cosy and hospitable atmosphere while offering all needed amenities and services.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank octopus07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank transafrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
0.3 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
#7 of 62 in Guayaquil
960 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
#9 of 62 in Guayaquil
1,218 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guayaquil Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#1 of 62 in Guayaquil
937 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#4 of 62 in Guayaquil
686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Guayaquil Hotel
Sheraton Guayaquil Hotel
#5 of 62 in Guayaquil
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Macaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Macaw

Address: Cdla. Guayaquil, Calle Victor Hugo Sicouret y Emilio Soro Lenti | Manzana 11, Villa 8, Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Guayaquil
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macaw is a first class lcoated in Guayaquil-Ecuador, and offers a customized and cozy service. Is the result of arduous, honest team-work; elaborated with our own hands. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing