We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed before and after Galapagos trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Guayaquil
Ranked #12 of 62 Hotels in Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2012

I can't say enough good things about our stay here. We decided to fly into Guayaquil a day early before our flight to the Galapagos and are glad to have done so. The taxi ride will cost you $5 to/from the airport, breakfast is delicious (great variety), staff members are very friendly and helpful, rooms are clean, and location is great with a mall a few blocks down where you can eat/drink or buy anything you may need.

The gym on the top floor has a great view of the city, it is worth going up there even if you don't plan on working out. Very small pool on top which we did not go into, more like a big, rectangular tub. Our TV wasn't working properly and they had someone up to our room within 2 minutes to fix the problem!

Whether your trip is for business or pleasure I highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Top floors have great views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 565 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2012

I agree with the previous few reviews. Great staff, large rooms with nice beds (and extra pillows if requested), very quiet (I was on floor 11 on end of building), great location near airport and near mall/McDonalds/etc, secure building- as key required to go up or down in elevator.

I could see the airplanes taking off/landing from my room window but couldn't hear them. Quite a change from my previous 5 nights in Bahia...almost TOO quiet to sleep.

Follow-up calls from front desk are a nice touch. They let you know that they're there if you need them.

Negative is lack of in-room WiFi, but that wouldn't stop me from staying there again. I've stayed elsewhere, and the bed here was worth the price.

Nice gym/pool with great views of city from floor 16 (top).

I didn't eat there, so no comments on that. Went across the street to McD's for breakfast before going to airport.

Take cab from outside hotel with no worries.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeff h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I used both wired in the room and wireless in the lobby during the stay. If you are on iPad or iPhone, you will miss having wireless in the room. Business center is limited to two PC's and a printer, not always online or working. The breakfast room fills up fast when a tour group is in but wait till they leave and there is plenty of seating. Food okay, I ate there daily but stuck to covered food due to fruit flies.

In room refrigerator to keep food bought at the Marketplace but coffee maker is not standard. If not in your room, you need to ask to have it brought in. 6th floor can have noise from meeting rooms below if an event is going on. Request a higher floor if possible. Hotel has free shuttle except during late night/early morning but taxi will run $5 or $6. Hotel taxis are safe to take.

Go out the front lobby, turn right and walk a short way down to the mall. TGIF is outside and during mall hours there is a food court for alternate to hotel dining options.

I found the service of the staff excellent from the front desk, to the dining room, and security people.

Room Tip: Go above 6th floor. I preferred the non-airport view side to being on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Itlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Very nice and new Courtyard. Convenient to shopping and restaurants. Excellent work-out facility - on a high floor with great views of the city and new equipment. The room was large and quiet with big windows.

The biggest downside to the hotel is the lack of wi-fi in the rooms. It is only high speed internet through a cable. The only wi-fi is in the lobby and the top floor.

Room Tip: My room was quiet and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EricL97332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed there one night coming into Guayaquil on our way to Playas and Salinas. Were greeted exceptionally well. The gentleman was very polite. Called us when we got to our room to see if everything was okay and if we needed anything else.
On our return four days later, The same gentlemen remembered us and called us by our names. He was extremely polite as was the other gentlemen.
Our view looked out over the city and airport. Wow is it ever close. Floor to ceiling windows. Food was good. Not much of a selection.
Will definately return.

Room Tip: View from our floor was spectacular. Facing the airport and high up. I don't judge a hotel by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane321321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

If you arrive late at night you will have bo room service available. The next day the same, unless you order it after 4:00 p.m. Hotel staff is very friendly and efficient. Gym is excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the corridor (ending in 14) are larger and offer a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALEX N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Hotel id 10 minutes from the airpot and 15 minutes from downtown. Spacious rooms. Good value. Very courteous staff. Perfect place to stay when connecting to or from the Galapagos.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
1.6 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#1 of 62 in Guayaquil
988 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
#10 of 62 in Guayaquil
1,247 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
#7 of 62 in Guayaquil
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
#6 of 62 in Guayaquil
517 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Guayaquil Airport
1.5 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Guayaquil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Guayaquil

Address: Av. Francisco De Orellana 236, Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Guayaquil
#4 Family Hotel in Guayaquil
#6 Business Hotel in Guayaquil
Price Range: $93 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Guayaquil 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy both comfort and sophistication at the Courtyard Guayaquil. Our modern hotel offers free Wi-Fi and other excellent perks for your Ecuador visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Guayaquil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Guayaquil Hotel Guayaquil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing