We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal Suites Madrid
Nearby Hotels
$99
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$140
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$90
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$80
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Palace Guayaquil(Guayaquil)
$78
$75
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$85
$67
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oro Verde Guayaquil(Guayaquil)
$119
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$84
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveler rating
46
80
47
15
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
80
47
15
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocated in the city centreexcellent locationchristopherhostelgalapagosdiscothequewifimalecon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 203 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and booked our Galapago cruise with them, which will be reviewed separately. The rooms were good, clean and had good bathrooms. The hotel itself was very quiet but really suffered from street noise throughout the night and also music from a bar / club opposite. A 24 hour cafeteria was advertised but this was not the case. There is a cafe underneath the hotel but it is not open 24 hours, but there are bars & restaurants nearby. We booked a tour to the Galapagos through the hotel and have no complaints about this, although we were only offered the choice of 2 boats. I wouldn't stay here again but only because of the noise.

Room Tip: interior rooms are probably quieter but do not have windows
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpbmpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This place is two blocks away from the Mainstrip, and you can walk to the Riverfront (Malecon).

I did not book any tours with them, so I can not comment on that. The rooms are nice, the hotel itself is a labyrinth. I personally had a hard time sleeping, as you hear all night the crazy honking taxis (But that is all over central Guayaquil the case).

Its an okay choice, but I found better options for the same price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sascha411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

The rooms are very good. Clean and comfortable. Don't expect a lot a facilities at the Hostal. The staff was very helpfull to me and the bed and wifi were very good.
I also booked a cruise on the Galapagos through the hostal. The manager took time to explain everything to me. I got a really good deal and the cruise was lovely. I stayed on a very old pirateship, absolutly nog luxurious, but very authentic and the food was amazing! The staff on the boat was so nice and helpfull. Really enjoyed my time in the Galapagos.
I voted "terrible" in te ratings for 'spa' and 'breakfast' because there wasn't any, not that it was terrible.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

The rooms are nice - very clean and comfortable - but very noisy. There is no breakfast included within the price of the room, which is normally not a problem assuming there is a kitchen. But no, there was no kitchen either. And considering that the website says that (and I quote) "Hostal Suites Madrid offers a recently renovated cafeteria for your immediate attention, with a typical food menu that will makes you taste Ecuador in your mouth" we felt very disappointed.

The lying didn't end there though. Christopher, the manager of the Hostal, explained that they specialise in last minute tours to the Galapagos Islands. He highlighted that compared to the rest of the continent, here in Ecuador, agencies have a different mindset when selling tours because they appreciate that people spend a vast amount of money going to the Galapagos. In particular, he stressed that he himself was a very honest man and felt it was more important to make a good business in the long term rather than making lots of money in the short term.

However, he immediately put pressure on us by saying that there were 2 spaces available for a tour leaving later that week due to a cancellation - we later met another couple on the tour that he told the same thing! He also veered from the truth when he told us that we would be able to take a speed boat from San Cristobal island to Santa Cruz island at any time of the day. Not true - only one leaves per day, between 7am-8am. He promised me that we would see (amongst many other animal species) penguins. Another lie. Our tour was to be around the south circuit; penguins are only found on the islands to the north and west.

Thankfully, a trip to the Galapagos is out of this world and Floreana (the boat we took) was wonderful, as were its crew members, especially Victor - the guide.

The sole reason for writing this review is that Christopher (the self-professed Mr Honesty) was nothing he described himself to be; instead he was no better than most other sales people we have met on our travels - he did whatever was necessary to make the sale.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsm22, Gerente at Hostal Suites Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Dear Mr(s)

Beforehand it pleased us, and makes us happy to know that in the end your
experience with the islands was wonderful. Remembering the boat was chosen
and introduced by us, for you to make the final decision.
We will answer each of the points to which you refer:

Cafeteria restaurant

1. Guayaquil Hostel Suites Madrid has a cafeteria restaurant called D´
Cibeles open 4 years ago. For all of our guests with very convenient rates
to enjoy the Ecuadorian typical food.

Defining Last Minute deal.

2. Every space in any Yacht is offer worldwide, having its own logistics
and space availability being Tour Operators and Agencies subject to them.
Due to a contract between partners * we can hold spaces with a time limit,
having the first option to buy (reducing the space availability). So the
Yacht is also subject to Tour Agencies and Operators confirmations.
Availability in the last moment may change or not, for different reasons
that are internal aspects (cancellations, flights delays, etc.), and due
to this occurs the Last Minute Deal for an equal quality of experience,
with a monetary saving. This was luckily your case, because last minutes
are not guarantee and booking ahead is always recommended according your
necessities.

Speed Boats Departures

3. Speed boats have their departures from San Cristobal to Santa Cruz once
a day from 6:30 am to 8:30 am subject to change without previous notice,
we manage that information, but we did not guide you in this aspect.

Wildlife Penguins

4. A factual proof of what we agree before starting and paying your trip
is a Voucher Service where in detail says what islands will you
accomplish, penguins where not in your itinerary.

Floreana´s Yacht Experience

5. As a Tour Agency and Operator we work with the best yachts in
Galapagos, (among 83yachts approximate that exists in Galapagos), based on
our expertise the boat picked, was chosen and introduced by us
accomplishing all what we have agree without an exception, that makes a significant part of your experience of the hand of the enchanted islands tuning it into and Quoting you ¨a
trip to the Galapagos is out of this world¨.


We would like to say Thank you to all the passengers that have being
assisted by us to Galapagos (that are thousands)to guide them in some
cases on the way to fulfill a dream, with high levels of responsibility
and commitment; as it is shown with excellent rating in tripadvisor.





Sincerely

Christoper Jimenez
Administrtaive Manager
Counter Services & Galapagos Sales
Guayaquil - Ecuador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We just came from Galapagos, and we are very happy to recommend Suites Madrid to other travellers to book with them, everything went accord to What Cristopher told us (manager of the hostel). The experience of our life. Galapagos is amazing and the tour we picked surprise us.

The hostel is also very nice, extremly helpful people.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gianky27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews