We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sol De Oriente Internacional
Ranked #32 of 59 Hotels in Guayaquil
Umina Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We stayed at Sol de Oriente Hotel, Guayaquil for one night only. We had booked for 4 but decided to move out.
The staff were very good at reception, the bed linen clean, the hotel itself is very tired and not overly clean and they are renovating some parts.
We arrived very tired around 8.00pm and after unpacking went to the restuarant for our meal. This was a big let down for the hotel, The tablecloths were very dirty, salt and pepper containers sticky to touch, sugar bowl half full with old pieces of sugar in lumps. We only ordered a sandwich and a cup of tea but did not feel happy about consuming them.
Next morning we went down to breakfast and the restuarant looked appaling in real light. We gave it a miss, went to our room and checked out.
I did email the hotel to advise them of the problems we had but I did not receive an answer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianne004500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    11
    8
    9
See reviews for
10
9
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2010

spacious rooms, clean, carpet old, bathroom new, breakfast good, free shuttle one way, budget

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenineRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2009

hotel was good as far as ecuadorian standards go, guayaquil was super hot and they always had air conditioning and friendly staff. I only slept and ate breakfast at the hotel so, i had no need for 5-star service

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank RayD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2009

I recently stayed at the hotel, before coming back home to NY, USA
However it was a very nice experience, I would definitely recommend it to all visitors.
The service was excellent, and they also had very good affordable prices
on the packages.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

We stayed for 1 night in February. The best thing about this hotel is the position , very central. However the hotel was very smelly , possible damp , but it did smell like cat wee. The rooms were dark and also smelled . The sheets were fresh but other bed lined was stained and smelly. For reasons I cannot understand in such a humid climate the hotel was carpetted and the carpets smelled too!... and were very dirty. I did not eat the breakfast ( included) as the smell from the restaurant was too strong. I suspect there may be better hotels for a similiar price.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FalkirkBairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guayaquil hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ramada
Hotel Ramada
#16 of 59 in Guayaquil
255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Galeria Man-Ging
Hotel Galeria Man-Ging
#13 of 59 in Guayaquil
283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Continental Hotel
Continental Hotel
#11 of 59 in Guayaquil
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
#7 of 59 in Guayaquil
482 reviews
2.9 mi away
Air Suites Hotel
Air Suites Hotel
#43 of 59 in Guayaquil
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#4 of 59 in Guayaquil
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol De Oriente Internacional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol De Oriente Internacional

Property: Hotel Sol De Oriente Internacional
Address: Aguirre 603 y Escobedo Esq., Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 59 Hotels in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sol De Oriente Internacional 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sol de Oriente is most recognized for its oriental style. Has 56 rooms, TV Cable, Internet Wirelles, Security Box, Cafeteria, Business Center, Valet Parking,Airport Shutle. All of which make Hotel Sol de Oriente the perfect place for business travelers, tourists and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sol De Oriente Internacional reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing