We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We needed a haven and this was it!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manso Boutique Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“We needed a haven and this was it!!!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had just had 5 hours in the Guayaquil airport after having a Visa problem and a major hiccup in our plans!! We were tired, upset and hungry so were pleased to find a clean comfortable bed and an alcoholic drink and dinner. The place is pretty darn nice. The staff were great and very helpful - the food was delicious - served even at a late hour. I felt very pleased we had booked this place - it was atmospheric and very very comfortable - I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentMercedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    121
    43
    19
    10
See reviews for
42
122
88
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Manso is located right across the street from the Malecon, which is a fenced-in and heavily policed (and therefore safe) area along the river where locals and tourists stroll at night. The Malecon includes restaurants, bars, a good museum, an IMAX theater, shopping, and a botanical garden. The restaurants in the Malecon seemed to be either fast food or overpriced; outside the Malecon try La Parrilla del Nato for a good meal at a reasonable price within walking distance of the Manso. The employees of the Manso were very friendly. The food at the vegetarian restaurant within the Manso was OK. The private bathroom had an interesting, funky design (see photo).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I liked this hotel because it has a boutique feel and a youthful vibe. It is a beautifully restored building and I love the look of it. It seemed like a good value for money because it was so close to the Malecon. I liked the interesting menu at the eating area. Meals are pricey for Ecuador but cheap for that kind of menu compared with places like New York and Paris. Have to call it an eating area because it is actually an open area where there is sometimes musical entertainment and passersby as you eat. It is informal but that gave me the opportunity to meet people who I may not have interacted with otherwise. I travel alone most of the time and sometimes you want a little conversation. This is not a traditional hotel but way above the normal hostel. The staff can be a little haughty, Just firmly hold your ground and politely insist on what you want and you will get it. No place to secure valuables. I was a little concerned about security because there is a glass transom above the room and an old fashioned key system. I am more used to hotels, maybe this is normal for hostels. Nothing untoward occurred and I never felt anything but secure about myself, only my possessions. I did not have a problem.

Room Tip: Depends on if you want a view or totally silence sleeping, but the location near or far from the bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Packabag123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The staff is very helpful and the the location's perfect for exploring the city.
You find yourself straight at the Malecon, there's always something going on there.
The room was clean. I liked the interior of the bathroom, fancy sink and there' a tub and a shower.

You can relax on the balcony or in the airy hallway, there are hammocks, or you can enjoy the wonderful food and chat with your friends.
There's also WIFI.

Didn't try the breakfast, but the meals were tasty.
I would stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spatzenegger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honduras
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I'd say it would be hard to beat this place for its location and value. The rooms were exactly what you look for in a hostel-style private room accommodation. Breakfast could have been a little better, but wasn't that big of a deal. Very nice staff!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitHonduras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Manso is located across from the Malecon which is a safe place to walk, eat and drink. The hotel itself has a chill, almost hippie, vibe with a vegetarian restaurant, airy hallways and hammocks. The restaurant was fine for one night and the hammock had a nice view of the Malecon. However, don't expect much from the dorm rooms, while very clean, have very lumpy and squeaky bunk beds. I can't speak much to the suites but in any case, stay at the Manso if only for the top notch location which is important in a city with a reputation like Guayaquil's.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricaro, Propietario at Manso Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Hey, thanks for reviewing us. We recently finished changing the mattresses in all the dorms; I am sorry about your bad experience in a bumpy one --they have all been changed now.

Regarding the "squeaky-ness" I wasnt aware about that, will have the bunk beds' screws tightened.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Manso boutique is a beautiful hostel, it is more of a hotel than a hostel. Fantastic location in a very safe part of the city. No access to a kitchen which was a bit frustrating. The rooms are very nice and very clean, you have to pay extra for breakfast, the breakfast is worth it though and good value.

We ate from the vegetarian restaurant there, very disappointed, we had the ecuadorian trio... It was dry and burnt.

The issue came at check out, we booked through hostelworld and got a specific rate. The bill for the room rate was much higher than expected, I questioned it and was told it was correct. I had to be pretty adamant it was wrong, he checked my booking on his system and realised he had charged me their standard rate rather than the lower one. He was very apologetic and refunded the difference; the difference was $26 though which is quite a big mistake. If you stay there just double check your bill.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikicevallos, Propietario at Manso Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest: I apologize about the confusion in your bill. But please be assured that this was an involuntary error. I thiink you have it clear but I want to emphazise this because the title of your comment and your final phrase "If you stay there just double check your bill" can be a little confusing.

Everywhere you should check your bill before paying, and any person can commit an error, but in Manso we give our customers a very valued position and we dont want our guests to feel that they have to be "extra careful" with us.

Regarding the bad experience in the cafeteria, that s a shame! Did you ask the guys to change your order? Anyways, that shouldnt happen. Thanks for letting us know!

RICARDO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#4 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Continental Hotel
Continental Hotel
#11 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
#6 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#1 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
0.2 mi away
Unipark Hotel
Unipark Hotel
#8 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manso Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manso Boutique Guesthouse

Property: Manso Boutique Guesthouse
Address: Malecon 1406 y Aguirre, Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manso Boutique Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Guayaquil city centre on the west bank of the River Guayas, this hostel offers free Wi-Fi access throughout the property and a restaurant, serving freshly-prepared local and international dishes. Guests can relax on the balcony, offered with some rooms, and take in the view of the city. Private bathrooms are offered in some rooms of Manso Boutique Hostal while others have access to shared facilities. Simon Bolivar Airport is just 5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Manso Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manso Boutique Guesthouse Hotel Guayaquil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing