We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great welcome to Guayaquil”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manso Boutique Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great welcome to Guayaquil”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We we're 4 girls checking into a backpacker room that we had reserved via their website and by calling. When we arrived we found out that they actually filled the backpacker room so they upgraded us to their best room in the house (A family type room with huge king bed and 2 doubles upstairs) for the same price as the backpacker room!

The guesthouse offers a delicious set lunch special (I think for about $2.99), and a great vegetarian/vegan dinner menu. I am now living in Guayaquil and the Manso is one of my favourite places to go for dinner!

Service is friendly. the hostel is beautiful and has a lot of artwork and is involved in local projects which is really neat.

It is also right across from the Malecon (a nice/safe walkway along the river) and a 10 minute walk from Las Penas, possibly Guayaquil's biggest/nicest attraction.

I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monica_buczynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    123
    43
    19
    12
See reviews for
42
126
89
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, Ca.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Wow! We had a huge room, queen bed and twin as well. Huge bathroom too. Way bigger than either of mine at home. The friendly, helpful staff though is what really makes this place special. They were wonderful helping with the bags, getting taxis, suggestions of places to go etc. On a return trip, not having booked there, (big mistake), they still held our bags while we roamed the city. Couldn't have been nicer. One tip, front room, Amber, can be quite noisy during the day as it is right over the busiest street in town. On the other hand, you get a birdseye view of any excitement going on, like bands on a bus and parades.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calalak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We booked two rooms here for our arrival in Ecuador, having heard the reputation for good veggie food. Our rooms were lovely, each with a very individual decor and matching aroma - ours was tangerine. Comfortable beds, air con, helpful and friendly reception, lovely hot water in the showers, clean, cool, everything we needed in our rooms. We did hear a loud conversation in the early hours which may have been staff or guests arriving - it was not a problem but did make an impact on sleep.
There were pleasant places to sit, including a balcony overlooking the river, which is just across the busy road. (we heard no noise from inside the hostel). There is an excellent and good value shop very close to the hostel selling fresh fruit drinks, fruit salads, milk shakes etc - this is where we found coffee and breakfast for us all. We ate it sitting by the river in the sunshine.
We will visit Manso again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hollybush2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Great place to stay, found the bathroom to be not so well cleaned, but it was nice anyway.
Awesome location, great service!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClauCuritiba_PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

After a chilly couple of weeks wandering Peru, and staying in dark, cold, rather dingy hostels, this place felt the The Hilton. Tall airy building directly across the street from Malecon 2000 (a lovely strech of river boardwalk). I spent one night in a very nice, clean dorm room for 4 people with a very nice, clean bathroom and shower. A bargain at $11. Fluffy towels and a shampoo/soap dispenser are the cherry on top.

Hammocks, nice lounge areas, lovely galapagos themed art and a delicious (though tad expensive) Organic restaurant on site. The whole place seems to smell like fresh flowers or organic shampoo.

Stayed a second night in a private room (a friend was joining me and there was no room in the dorms). Room was spacious, comfy bed with nice pillows. Full water pitcher & glasses, extra fluffy towels, nice cabinet, and a futon/couch were nice touches. Shared bathroom with one other private room. Cost $35

This place definitely helped make my time in Guayaquil pleasant and enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lwjubeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Sometimes to get a premium location without paying top dollar you need to make a few compromises.

The Manso hotel is right on the Malecon 2000 overlooking the river. A room at the front looks right over everything. A $5 taxi will get you to the airport and you can walk easily to las Penas (very nice) and there are plenty of eateries within a few minutes stroll.

The ceilings are high and the rooms are well decorated in a kind of boho style. We had air con, cable tv and the bed is as comfortable as any I've slept in.

The trade off for the location is that the main road on which the hotel sits is quite noisy until the early hours. A pair of ear plugs solves the problem and its probably no issue at all if your room isn't at the front.

The shower is a bit disappointing (see my picture if I can get it to upload). No hot water and a flow suggestive of a major prostate problem.

All in though, I'd recommend the Manso. It's a great base to see the city, handy for the airport and decent value for money.

I'd just like to add also that I really liked Guayaquil. Coming from Quito, I was told to expect an urban war zone but what I found was a clean, modern city by the river with plenty to see and do, that was safe to walk around (common sense applies as always) and with some of the friendliest folk in Ecuador.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr0ct0pus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Loved our stay at the Manso and would definitely stay there again. The decor is very eclectic and adorable. The rooms are spacious and clean. The location right across the street from the waterfront could not have been better. The front desk staff were great and spoke English. The breakfast was pretty good. Lots to see and do right around the area. There are lots of stairs to navigate but worth it to stay at such a cute place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#4 of 59 in Guayaquil
660 reviews
0.2 mi away
Continental Hotel
Continental Hotel
#11 of 59 in Guayaquil
699 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
#6 of 59 in Guayaquil
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Villa64
Villa64
#9 of 59 in Guayaquil
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Unipark Hotel
Unipark Hotel
#8 of 59 in Guayaquil
978 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#1 of 59 in Guayaquil
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manso Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manso Boutique Guesthouse

Property: Manso Boutique Guesthouse
Address: Malecon 1406 y Aguirre, Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manso Boutique Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Guayaquil city centre on the west bank of the River Guayas, this hostel offers free Wi-Fi access throughout the property and a restaurant, serving freshly-prepared local and international dishes. Guests can relax on the balcony, offered with some rooms, and take in the view of the city. Private bathrooms are offered in some rooms of Manso Boutique Hostal while others have access to shared facilities. Simon Bolivar Airport is just 5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Manso Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manso Boutique Guesthouse Hotel Guayaquil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing