We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manso Boutique Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Great place to stay, found the bathroom to be not so well cleaned, but it was nice anyway.
Awesome location, great service!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClauCuritiba_PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
There are newer reviews for Manso Boutique Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 369 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

After a chilly couple of weeks wandering Peru, and staying in dark, cold, rather dingy hostels, this place felt the The Hilton. Tall airy building directly across the street from Malecon 2000 (a lovely strech of river boardwalk). I spent one night in a very nice, clean dorm room for 4 people with a very nice, clean bathroom and shower. A bargain at $11. Fluffy towels and a shampoo/soap dispenser are the cherry on top.

Hammocks, nice lounge areas, lovely galapagos themed art and a delicious (though tad expensive) Organic restaurant on site. The whole place seems to smell like fresh flowers or organic shampoo.

Stayed a second night in a private room (a friend was joining me and there was no room in the dorms). Room was spacious, comfy bed with nice pillows. Full water pitcher & glasses, extra fluffy towels, nice cabinet, and a futon/couch were nice touches. Shared bathroom with one other private room. Cost $35

This place definitely helped make my time in Guayaquil pleasant and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lwjubeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Sometimes to get a premium location without paying top dollar you need to make a few compromises.

The Manso hotel is right on the Malecon 2000 overlooking the river. A room at the front looks right over everything. A $5 taxi will get you to the airport and you can walk easily to las Penas (very nice) and there are plenty of eateries within a few minutes stroll.

The ceilings are high and the rooms are well decorated in a kind of boho style. We had air con, cable tv and the bed is as comfortable as any I've slept in.

The trade off for the location is that the main road on which the hotel sits is quite noisy until the early hours. A pair of ear plugs solves the problem and its probably no issue at all if your room isn't at the front.

The shower is a bit disappointing (see my picture if I can get it to upload). No hot water and a flow suggestive of a major prostate problem.

All in though, I'd recommend the Manso. It's a great base to see the city, handy for the airport and decent value for money.

I'd just like to add also that I really liked Guayaquil. Coming from Quito, I was told to expect an urban war zone but what I found was a clean, modern city by the river with plenty to see and do, that was safe to walk around (common sense applies as always) and with some of the friendliest folk in Ecuador.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr0ct0pus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Loved our stay at the Manso and would definitely stay there again. The decor is very eclectic and adorable. The rooms are spacious and clean. The location right across the street from the waterfront could not have been better. The front desk staff were great and spoke English. The breakfast was pretty good. Lots to see and do right around the area. There are lots of stairs to navigate but worth it to stay at such a cute place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I stayed here with my sisters on two occasions before and after visiting the Galapagos Islands. It was very clean and cosy. The rooms are good quality for your money and is in a really great location right on the river front. It is within walking distance to shops, the boardwalk, restaurants and tourist sites. The staff were nice and spoke enough English to help us through. The only downpoints were the lack of common area, the fact that the WI-FI network kept cutting in and out and the breakfast service was a little slow. Overall however a nice place to stay and if you do, check out the fruit juice store on the corner, well worth it!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikicevallos, Propietario at Manso Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear Guest: Many thanks for your kind words. Regarding internet, we recently change the provider and left behind weeks of every-time-worse signal. Sorry about this!!

Regarding a common area, it is located right next to Reception. There are 4 common areas in the first floor, plus the gallery space and the hammock area upstairs. It is 6 common areas!! =)

Thanks again for commenting about us!

RICARDO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in the Flor de Loto room. The hotel is in a great location along the Malecon amongst a wide variety of shops and cafes. The hotel restaurant has extremely slow service and the wifi network does not work in all rooms/areas of the hotel. Overall, a good spot to stay and most definitely one of the best budget options in town.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarita1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikicevallos, Propietario at Manso Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear Sarita, thanks for commenting about us.

Regarding the slow cafeteria service, we make it a point to have a non-standarized service, so everything is made fresh, right in the moment, Slow Food. Our staff is supposed to warn about that so you have time to wander around and see the exhibits or maybe go to your room. Sorry if they didn't do it....

We recently changed our internet provider and brought a stronger antenna, so now we have a much better signal and a wider range into the rooms.

It was a pleasure to host you,

RICARDO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

If your are planning on visiting Guayaquil on a low budget, I completeley recommend this hostal.
The location is excellent, pretty close to most touristic destintations.
The staff is very nice and will gladly help you with information, security tips and local tours.
On my next visit to Guayaquil, I will definitively will come back to this hostal.
The only downside is that it doesnt have a parking lot.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikicevallos, Propietario at Manso Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear Rafael,

Thanks for your comment. Two clarifications, though:

- Almost none of the hotels in Guayaquil's centro has it own parking lot. Our advantage is that 10 meters from our door is Malecon 2000's parking, the only one in downtown you can get in and out 24 hours.

- We have good options for budget travelers but also have 3-Star and 4-Star rooms. Our 4-Stars rooms are still very economic for the service and are the only hotel rooms in town facing the beautiful Guayas River. If you decide to honor us again with your stay, ask for me to grant you a complimentary upgrade so you can experience these hidden gems.

My best wishes,

RICARDO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#4 of 61 in Guayaquil
681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Continental Hotel
Continental Hotel
#10 of 61 in Guayaquil
762 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Suites Madrid
Hostal Suites Madrid
#23 of 61 in Guayaquil
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
#5 of 61 in Guayaquil
494 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#1 of 61 in Guayaquil
921 reviews
0.2 mi away
Unipark Hotel
Unipark Hotel
#8 of 61 in Guayaquil
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manso Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manso Boutique Guesthouse

Address: Malecon 1406 y Aguirre, Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Guayaquil
Price Range: $28 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manso Boutique Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Guayaquil city centre on the west bank of the River Guayas, this hostel offers free Wi-Fi access throughout the property and a restaurant, serving freshly-prepared local and international dishes. Guests can relax on the balcony, offered with some rooms, and take in the view of the city. Private bathrooms are offered in some rooms of Manso Boutique Hostal while others have access to shared facilities. Simon Bolivar Airport is just 5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manso Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manso Boutique Guesthouse Hotel Guayaquil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing