We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful staff, beautiful location”
Review of Siona Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Siona Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
suffolk, va
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff, beautiful location”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Just to add to the excellent reviews below: The guides and lodge staff make Siona special. They were all warm and friendly, efficient and helpful....and the food was great! In addition to the walks and boat tours, I really enjoyed lying in my hammock at night listening to the night sounds, and getting up early and watching the Macaws flying across the lagoon, and the swims in the lagoon at twilight. The impromptu concert one night by all the staff was a highlight too. I did the 5 day program which allowed for an extra walk where we saw red howler monkeys and a beautiful canoe trip. Special thanks to Luis for his eagle eye and enthusiasm.

Room Tip: bring a good flashlight or headlamp, good socks to wear with the rubber boots, and DO bring binocula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kadala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    28
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
37
88
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

From the moment we were picked up at Hotel D'Mario in Lago Agrio until we were dropped off at the airport 3 days later, the staff at Siona Lodge taught us a ton about the Amazonian rainforest and made sure we were well cared for at the same time. Our guides, Luis and Vinicio were quite knowledgeable and jumped at every opportunity to point out an interesting plant or animal. Rubber boots and rain ponchos were provided and our safety was always a priority. Much of our time was spent in motor boats, whether it was trolling around looking for pink dolphins at dusk, caimans at night, or birds, monkeys and anacondas during the day. We also took two hikes, the nighttime hike focusing on spiders and the daytime hike learning about medicinal qualities of plants. We had a fabulous time getting to know Vinicio, our primary guide, who is passionate about preserving the jungle and the communities who still live there. I learned more from him about the rainforest than I thought possible.

The lodge was clean and relaxing, with hammocks hung on the porch of each cabin. Every meal was delicious and filling, with buffet-style breakfasts of eggs, sausage, fresh fruit, cereals, tea, and juice, while lunches and dinners were served sit-down style, with potato soup, fish, yucca, vegetables, beef, pasta, and deserts.

The most memorable part of the trip was visiting the indigenous community, where we assisted the shaman's daughter with making yucca bread, played with the children, and were chanted over by the shaman. I cannot think of a better way to learn about the rainforest and what its sustainability means to the rest of the world than to go there, smell it, listen to it, and see with your own eyes. It was life-changing and I highly recommend it to anyone.

Tips: 1) A headlamp or good flashlight is a must, as the electricity goes on from 1800-2200 each night and the jungle gets pretty dark without electricity. Also, you'll want them for night hikes and looking for caimans. 2) We had requested a matrimonial bed and ended up with two singles, so I'd recommend verifying bed status if this is important to you. 3) The lodge sits on the edge of the lagoon, which dries up in the dry season. As most places are reached by motor boat, this becomes a problem during the dry season, requiring pushing the boat sometimes a good ways. We arrived shortly after a few good rains, so it wasn't a problem for us, but it is something worth planning for. 4) Quick-drying clothes, long-sleeved shirt or light jacket to protect against mosquitoes and sun are must-haves. 5) FYI: Each cabin houses two units, each with a private bathroom. There is a wall that divides the units but it doesn't reach all the way to the ceiling. So, the walls are "thin," so to speak.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

This Lodge is the best positioned lodge in Cuyabeno. Miguel the chef is an awesome character that cooks absolutely amazing, and cater well for special diets as well. The guides in Cuyabeno is working freelance, so you never know who you get, unless it is people who has a relation to the lodge. Our guide was Venicio (Vinnie), and he was absolutely amazing. The knowledge this guy has about the jungle and the animals, plants and trees is amazing. You can tell he has a close relationship with the indeginous people and that is where he has his knowledge from.
This Lodge only fits 20 people, which makes it more quiet and you get more in to the feel of being in the middle of freakin nowhere..! It is a little bit more expensive to stay here than other places, but it is the best value for money you can get here..! I work as a tour guide in Europe, and this topped the Inka Trail to Machu Piccu, which i didnt think was going to be possible. Different food every day, snacks all the time if u get hungry and the rooms are spacious and nice. Not much hot water but that is the same everywhere, at least here u are only 20 to share the hot water and not 70..! Enjoy your stay here, its fantastic..!

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lasse-Damstoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

My fiance and me had just visit Cuyabeno and we chose Siona lodge. We had an amazing time there, they have a perfect organization for every tour, picking us up and even for the foods.. The staff was so kind and nice with us that we felt like home! The food was amazing: buffet breakfast in the middle of the jungle!!! And the lunch and dinner as we'll good, healthy and tasty! They waited for us with cold fresh juice after 3 hours walking in the jungle! Snacks on the table after watching the amazing sunset in the Laguna!
Luis was our guide, he was extremely good at explaining everything and showing us around.. He knows it all about the jungle in a way that we felt save walking behind him in the jungle.. We saw the pink dolphins, the night tour to watch caimans was extremely good.. We recommend to invest in good flashlights and binoculars for this trip.. We saw many other animals in their natural habitat that is the best! Thanks to Luis for this and Mr. Edwin for this amazing lodge and staff!!
We have already decide to come back!
Kenia & Kjell Hugo

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KeniaBorrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

great lodge, the food was great, the rooms and beds are fine and the people that work there are very kind!!! i really recomend this place. cuyabeno is a great place to visityou can do lots of stuff and the people that show the place around are great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luisfer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I came to Siona Lodge travelling with my family and all of us were impressed. Our stay in Amazonia exceeded our expectations in all points of view. Compared to other lodges, Siona is a small place just for 22 tourist so the impression of being in the heart of the jungle is not disturbed by masses of people. The entire lodge is built in an ecologic way and you really see that the people working there love the surroundings and do the maximum for perserving the amazonian nature. The guide´s knowledge of the amazonian forrest is incredible as well as his language skills (spanish like native, perfect english, german and a couple of indian languages just by the way).
Although you stay pretty far away from "the civilization" the accommodation is comfortable and food delicious. We deffinitelly didnt expect comfort like this in the jungle. But everything seems natural, the stuff is nice and caring and no question remains without response.
Also the quite little time we had (4 days) was well used. We arrived in the late afternoon and instead of letting us just look around, there was a night activity on the first day as well as an early morning bird-watching on the last day. You felt that the guides are trying to do the best and make you enjoy every minute staying in Amazonia.
I just highly recommend to carry your own high quality light to be able to look for the animals during night activities by yourself. A binocular is also not bad to have with you! They provide rubber boots rain coat to go to the forrest. You cant have better clothes for that.
Maybe we were just lucky to come right to this lodge and meet those people we met, but Im sure that we will never forget this holidays. In case that there will be the opportunity to come back to ecuatorian jungle, only with the guides Luis and Jacob :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucinecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed at the lodge for 5 days and I can't recommend the place. The rooms are open and you hear everything from the next room. You can't sleep longer than until 7 because the workers are speaking very loud.

The guide was unable to be on time but it was only his second group. He was motivated but it was a real pity he knew many animal names only in his language.

Most of the trips were in boat and I've expected more activities by foot. His vocabulary is very limited but it was nice to see how he likes the jungle.

The food was always one of two meals and sometimes there was no milk at the breakfast. Also there were mice in the room at night. The visit at the indio village didn't seem to be real because the man said he doesn't have a telephone but at the last day we saw him an the bus station playing with his iphone...

Room Tip: A room where there is no room nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelinaManser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
0.0 mi away
Tapir Lodge
Tapir Lodge
#3 of 3 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
353.4 mi away
Royal Decameron Punta Centinela
51.5 mi away
Yarina Eco Lodge
Yarina Eco Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
297.5 mi away
Courtyard Guayaquil
Courtyard Guayaquil
#12 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guacamayo Ecolodge
Guacamayo Ecolodge
#4 of 9 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
2.2 mi away
Jamu Lodge
Jamu Lodge
#3 of 9 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siona Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siona Lodge

Property: Siona Lodge
Address: Laguna Grande | Reserva Cuyabeno, Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Sucumbios Province > Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siona Lodge is an eco hotel located in Cuyabeno reserve. We have 11 double rooms with private bathroom, hot water, and balcony with lake view. 110v electrical outlets with solar energy, dining area, lounge and bar, freshly cooked meals using local ingredients. Our activities are jungle trekking, bird, caiman and pink dolphins watching, visits to siona community all guided with an English naturalist guide. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Siona Hotel Cuyabeno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing