We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Turist Varazdin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Varazdin
Reviewed September 5, 2009

we stayed for 9 nights at Turist while visiting family in Ostrice ,we found the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly the food was highly rated, great espresso coffee,easy walk into town to sites, our rooms were clean and comfortable with plenty of space,renovated bathrooms but the decor is a bit 80s and had airconditoning,Verazdin is a beautiful Austrian style town well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thommoAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 67 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2009

This Hotel was well overpriced at 116 euros per night.
The hotel was clean and up dated. The breakfast was fair.
I asked on reception for any bus transport and there is none,
We got ripped off with a TAXI from the Rail station to the hotel several hundred yards
£10..

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barryswash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

If you're driving on your way to Hungary and plan to stop in Varazdin for a night, I really recommend you do not choose Hotel Turist. You'll be better off in one of the cosy looking motels you'll find in Hungary soon after you've crossed the border and I'm sure they're cheaper too.

We stayed one night here and chose this place because our guide book acutally recommended it. We arrived very late in the evening with children, so there was no choice but to stay here, even thought I was ready to leave the minute I saw the uninviting lobby.

We went up to our room and to our dismay saw the state our room was in. It was a very old room which was most probably just the same as when this hotel was built. You could say that it really was Soviet style. The main color was dark brown and everything was old. The beds were practically caving in, the bathroom door handle came off when touched, the toilet did not flush properly (it was one of those ancient toilets where you pull on a rope to flush) and it was a SMOKING room!! So the room had the stench of cigarettes all over.

The car park was absolutely empty with only 2 other cars there. It did fill up in the morning but I did not feel comfortable leaving our car there for the night - even the car park lights were broken. When we walked from the car park to the hotel a car full of rowdy youngsters shouted at us which did not make the area feel any safer.

Breakfast was ok, nothing to complain about there!

When we left I complained about the room beacuse it cost 112 euros which it was not worth. Also our 11 yr old only recieved 20% discount from the adult's price, everywhere else it was 50%. The reaction to my complaints was an annoyed shrug and then a man went up to the room to see for himself the state but only after I'd paid!!!

Apparently this hotel has a newer side as well, which most probably was what our guide book was referring to. Also there were renovations in the restaurant at the time we stayed there. Even so, I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

There is a big supermarket near the hotel, so if you're on a car trip, you can get supplies for snacks nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pinkilili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2006

Hotel Turist in Varazdin is located near the town’s centre. I was there in October 2006 and a big part of the hotel was under renovation.
My room was a small standard 3-star hotel room, but newly furnished and OK equipped. The bathroom was a miniature. I was there for business and have heard complains from other colleagues about their rooms. As my room was OK so I wanted to check what is they are talking about, and to my surprise some of other rooms were really terrible. Old worn out furniture and bathrooms in desperate need for renovation. So make sure you ask for newly furnished rooms.
We had a full board in the hotel. The food was OK, but nothing more than that and the service in the restaurant was kind of slow. The restaurant itself was dark and reminded me of old socialist days.
Service was OK, but the staff could use some training on how to smile. This goes especially for people working on the front desk.
As I said hotel was under some major renovation works, so hopefully it will become a good place to stay.
Varazdin is a pretty little baroque town with a nice castle which is a town’s museum, many picturesque churches, cozy little streets and cafes, and a beautiful cemetery which is worth visiting. I would recommend visiting Varazdin for a day or two. It is also just one hour driving from Zagreb so it can be a good day trip from there.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank V_ZG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2006

Hotel Turist is a standard 3-star hotel located close to the bus station in Varazdin, and only 10-minutes walk from the main square and Varazdin Castle. When I stayed there in Oct 2006 a whole wing of the hotel was being renewed. The rooms are pretty basic, with own bathroom (very bad water pressure in the shower), TV with satellite programmes and a minibar. Breakfast was OK, the usual continental selection of bread rolls, jams, salamis, yogurts and juices. The staff were helpful, but with the notorious lack of any smile (this especially applies to ladies working at the reception!).
The hotel's chef has apparently won few national awards so it might be worth trying the dinner here as well. I was even considering to try it, but the restaurant was already booked by noisy wedding party. Although I must say I was suspicious when I saw this going on at the ground floor, I must say I didn't hear anything in my room behind the sound-proof windows.

All in all - average 3-star hotel at a nice location in a beautiful north-Croatian town.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prof.Baltazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Keine attraktive Aussicht ! (Parkplatz)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank schogitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Turist Varazdin, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank _jomajcher9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Turist Varazdin, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varazdin hotels
0.1 mi away
Pansion Maltar
Pansion Maltar
#1 of 8 in Varazdin
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Boutique Hotel
Park Boutique Hotel
#2 of 8 in Varazdin
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pansion-Restoran Garestin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Istra
Hotel Istra
#3 of 8 in Varazdin
24 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Varazdin
Hotel Varazdin
#5 of 8 in Varazdin
35 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel La'Gus
Hotel La'Gus
#6 of 8 in Varazdin
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Turist Varazdin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Turist Varazdin

Address: Aleja Kralja Zvonimira 1, Varazdin 42000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Varazdin County > Varazdin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Varazdin
Price Range: $66 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Turist Varazdin 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Turist was established in 1964 and modeled on old "Grand Hotels" of Varazdin. The tradition of successful hotel trade, constant high-quality services, capacity of accommodation and conference halls and its location made this hotel the centre of north-western Croatia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Turist Varazdin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing