We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were part of the Pavkovic family and would go back in a heartbeat!”
Review of Villa Lavandula

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Lavandula
Ranked #57 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Trogir
Reviewed July 22, 2009

My partner and I spent the last 5 nights of our 2-week trip to Croatia at Villa Lavandula in Trogir. I have extremely high standards and cannot think of one problem with the Villa. It is in a beautiful location (note that it is about a 15 minute walk from the centre, but this allows it to have beach access - if it was in the centre itself, it would not have its seaside spot), spotless, huge apartments with lots of storage space, all modern amenities. But that is only a very small part of the story. Because the owners - Josip, Anita and their daughter Vinka - are actually the attraction here. From the moment we met them at the harbour in Split, they could not do enough for us. At any moment, we could be shuttled to a beach, to their private beach, to the town centre (to save about a 700m walk in 36 degree heat!), to a ferry, wherever. We also took two day trips with Josip - one to Krka National Park and one to Mostar in Bosnia (on the way to the Dubrovnik airport). Josip introduced us to beautiful and untouched locations in Croatia, took us to fantastic local eateries (some were farms - not restaurants!) and gave us history lessons throughout our stay. We also chose to have dinner at the villa one night - complete with homemade wine, olive oil, everything fresh, organic, healthy and delicious. It was difficult to say goodbye to Josip as he dropped us off at the airport in Dubrovnik and I am already thinking about when we can return in olive-picking season. Croatia is a beautiful country, Trogir is a beautiful town, but the Pavkovic family are the true gems that we found in Croatia.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BLJ21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2009

I was unsure about this accommodation from the description on the website, but it met or exceeded ALL of our expectations. Villa Lavandula was a great place to stay!

It’s just across the bridge and down the road a mile from the old town of Trogir, on the island of Ciovo (which isn’t that scenic). The building is up a short driveway, marked by a sign on a garage and one by the road (have to look carefully for the signs). Our Garmin GPS mapped Trogir, but not this island, so we had to use our eyes! Parking is in front or in the garage (at cost). We had a very nice apartment on the first floor that opened to the patio.

It’s a nice place—interestingly, it’s a Sawdays and a Johansson’s listing. It’s a 3 story villa, nicely built with expensive touches, unlike the rather basic apartment-type villas we stayed in the rest of Croatia. Our balcony/patio in front faces the sea with nice patio furniture, inside we had a studio with a little kitchen; sink, 2 burners and a little fridge. Free internet, but weak signal. I cooked a light dinner for us in the kitchen; it was adequately provisioned with kitchen ware.

The road it is on is very busy, and not amenable for walking along. There are some public beaches on Ciovo just past the Villa, but not exactly the type of beach we’d enjoy. However—we came for history and Trogir, not beaches, so no worry. The apartment was very comfortable, and we felt very relaxed and at home here.

We met another American couple that night and sat on the balcony and chatted for hours. They had come with a dinner plan and had a beautiful dinner served to them. We also talked to the owner, Josep, for a long time, and learned about the recent history of Croatia, and the history of he and his family. The entire family were a very helpful presence at the villa, and helped us in many ways. We enjoyed our stay here, and would definitely stay here again, or recommend it to a friend! It was a genuine find, not expensive at all, and had a great feel. We felt like we were staying in the expensive summer home of a friend!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

I have been in Villa Lavandula last year and of course that I will come this year again. I have traveled with my friends and family and will never forget the time that we spent there. Everything is so nice there, rooms are very clean and comfortable. The most important for us was a peace that we had there. The food and their domestic wine with excellent atmosphere is a great combination for a perfect night. We really enjoyed our staying there and we can't wait to go there very soon :)

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlene01_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2009

I stayed with my friends 7 days in Villa Lavandula and had great time there. To all of You that consider about staying in Villa Lavandula, I can said just one thing: If You book Your stay there, You want regret!

p.s. If You want to taste real Croatia, try the Villa Lavandula's Gastronomic offer...

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ixp3212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mani57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2007
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank bebobebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trogir hotels
0.9 mi away
Aparthotel Bellevue
Aparthotel Bellevue
#1 of 10 in Trogir
495 reviews
0.8 mi away
City Hostel Trogir
City Hostel Trogir
#11 of 131 in Trogir
18 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Trogir Palace
Hotel Trogir Palace
#8 of 10 in Trogir
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Monika
Hotel Monika
#3 of 10 in Trogir
114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pasike
Hotel Pasike
#4 of 10 in Trogir
188 reviews
0.7 mi away
XII Century Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lavandula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lavandula

Address: Put Salduna 3, Trogir 21220, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Trogir
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Trogir
Price Range: $93 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Lavandula 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Lavandula is situated in the Mediterranean oasis of quiet and in the immediate vicinity of the crystal-clear Adriatic. Modernly designed three-floors villa has 3 two-room apartments with balconies and terraces, 2 studio apartments, a tavern, a restaurant, a sauna, a fitness centre, and a whirpool. The villa has its own indoor garage. Thanks to modern system of heating and cooling and the accompanying contents, our villa is open for you throughout the whole year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Lavandula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing