We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the North Side unless you have earplugs”
Review of Palace Derossi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palace Derossi
Ranked #9 of 57 Trogir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not the North Side unless you have earplugs”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at Palace Derossi for three nights. This is bed and breakfast establishment right by the northern entrance bridge on to the island. The hotel is a cluster of buildings surrounding a courtyard where you can take breakfast if the weather is good, which it was while we were there. Our room was adequate except for the fact that if faced the northern bridge on to the island which gave some traffic noise. However, the traffic was nothing compared to the music and chatter emanating from the late night bar on the ground floor (music until 2.00 a.m. on Saturday night) and other late night bars along the same road. If you had a room on another side of building you would experience less, or no, noise from these bars. Apart from this issue the hotel was very pleasant and the staff most helpful.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room on the north side of the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NDW_Wimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    43
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
13
60
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Englishwoman Abroad
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I would not describe the Palace Derossi as a hotel,it is definitely a B and B. Although the courtyard has a lot of charm it is the only usable outdoor space available,with hard dining chairs to sit on. This is fine for breakfast, but if you want somewhere to sit outside and read a book it is quite uncomfortable. There is a large roof terrace which is totally empty and unused.
The room was very clean and the bathroom was modern with loads of hot water. The furnishing was fairly basic but OK.
The breakfast was pretty good,although the flasks of hot water are just not hot enough to make a good cup of tea!
The staff were very helpful and pleasant.
The location is very good and we did not have any problem with any noise from the bar outside, and as for the bells-well if you stay in a small city with lots of churches,what do you expect!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hilary14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at Palace Derossi. The staff were very friendly and helpful and luckily spoke very good English.
The room was a little basic, but large and had everything we needed. It was very quiet, we didn't hear any noise from a nightclub, the only noise was the cathedral bells ringing at 5.30am every morning!
At one point we mentioned that our bathroom door had started scraping along the floor, we hadn't expected it to be fixed until the next day, but by the time we got back from dinner it was all sorted.
The staff made us takeaway breakfasts for the days when we were leaving early on excursions- these were very good, and so generous we had enough for snacks until lunchtime.
The breakfast at the hotel was also very good, and we had scrambled eggs every morning we ate there.
We would really recommend Trogir as a great place to stay in Croatia, it has a lovely feel, and we used it as a base to explore from Plitvice Lakes to Dubrovnik.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs to block out the noise of the bells
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AntJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Mario was waiting for us as we exited passport control and we were in the hotel within 15 minutes. I had emailed for a room without too many stairs and a walk in shower. We were given our choice of 3 rooms. We chose a ground floor room (see pictures). The room was a fair size with a very large double bed. The Shower was a a good size and did not leek so the floor was always dry, important for us as we are not as nimble as we once were. Storage was plentiful I never did find a use for all the draws and cupboards. Breakfast was a pleasure we often lingered in the courtyard afterwards for a chat with other guest or just to take in the ambiance, it was so beautiful. Location is excellent for market and bus station. The front entrance is by the north gate. You can park at the door long enough to unload cases. Other than that you will need to find long term parking. The back entrance is inside the city.

Room Tip: take a travelling kettle if you want a drink in your room after 11:00p.m. but you can buy a drink in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chriso231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We just come back from a 10 day stay at the palace Derossi and can only say how lovely it was.
The staff are all lovely and can't do enough to help you and give advise. The location is also very good and it is a very relaxing place to stop after a long day sightseeing, shopping or walking.
It was our first time in Croatia but certainly won't be our last!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marianne_hargreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Palace DeRossi is one of about 100 'palaces' in Trogir. If you don't want to walk far with your bags, this is the place to go, it is only a few steps from the barrier that cars can not pass. We stayed there on a Friday night and we had a basic room facing south, so it was quiet. I think a room facing north would have been loud because it faces the main road to the island and there is a club next door.
We had a problem with the hot water, the small tank did not hold enough for two people to take a shower. The AC worked great and the breakfast was really good. They will custom make your eggs and had a variety of fresh fruit, cheeses and yogurt. The service was friendly and prompt and they held our bags before our check-in and after our check-out.

Room Tip: Choose a south facing room for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kricket56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Old hotel at a excellent location, no parking for cars, we were on the top 3rd floor no lifts so getting laugage to room is not easy. Breakfast was typical europian but if you come for breakfast after 9am it is not stocked so be prepared for leftovers... Staff were friendly and helpful...we had a septic odour coming from the bathroom drains so we had to covered the plug holes, sometimes it reaked though...airconditioning was excellent. Check in and check out went smoothly. You can forgive the negatives due to the fantastic location.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulinaPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trogir hotels
0.1 mi away
XII Century Heritage Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Bellevue
Aparthotel Bellevue
#1 of 10 in Trogir
437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tragos
Hotel Tragos
#5 of 10 in Trogir
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Trogir Palace
Hotel Trogir Palace
#7 of 10 in Trogir
191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brown Beach House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Bifora Heritage Hotel
Bifora Heritage Hotel
#6 of 10 in Trogir
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Derossi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Derossi

Property: Palace Derossi
Address: Hrvatskih Muchenika 1, Trogir 21220, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Trogir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Trogir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palace Derossi 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palace Derossi is a complex of stone houses, situated in the centre of the old town, just a few steps from the northern town gate. The interior design of the complex reveals a tasteful décor of different styles and colours, which create a pleasant atmosphere of a modern hotel in an antique palace. It offers luxurious high quality rooms (19th century furniture). We are waiting for You! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palace Derossi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing