We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Trogir Historic Site
from $45.90
More Info
from $67.70
More Info
from $59.60
More Info
from $1,204.20
More Info
Reviews (2,889)
Filter reviews
1,050 results
Traveler rating
675
286
71
16
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
675
286
71
16
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews narrow streets old town split airport small town restaurants and cafes few hours small island day trip ice cream every corner beautiful town couple of hours worth a visit walk around off season lovely place bell tower
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,050 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited by boat from Split for about 6 hours. That is just about enough to take in this beautiful postcard old walled city. It really is beautiful-especially approaching from the water. Walk around inside the walled city. Explore the mazes of alleys. Walk the waterfront and visit the fortress. Again touristy but worth a few hours as it is picture book.

Thank Kauff_210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the nearby Hotel Medena so only a few minutes drive away. Parked nearby and entered the town walls to be greeted by a medieval atmosphere, with narrow cobbled streets and many small shops. Had coffee at the central square and watched the myriad of tourists on day trips. The central church is worth a visit, where you can climb the bell tower (for a fee!) and get an aerial view of the town. As with all of Croatia, the place was impeccably clean and a pleasure to stroll through the town to the quayside and watch the millionaire yachts. Took a ferry boat to a nearby town which gave us superb views of Trogir and it`s neighbouring villages, past the main dockyard. Enjoyed it enough to return for another visit a few days later. Thoroughly recommended.

Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Same atmosphere as a typical Italian sea town, beautiful harbor and castle, inner square and small streets, very romantic and picturesque, def recommend, only 30 minutes drive from Split, worth the detour :-)

Thank Trilingual2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were here during the peak tourist season and on the weekends it was extremely crowded, but in the evenings during the week it became a little more bearable. We would suggest visiting during the spring or fall. This is a very romantic city with narrow cobble stone streets. We enjoyed the Venetian style architecture and the broad pier and parks skirting the old city.

We suggest taking the bus or one of the water taxis, as parking is scarce and a ways from the old city. We stayed on the beach in Donji Seget at Apartments Amor, just outside Trogir, a very pleasant inexpensive boat ride away and saved ourselves the traffic hassle and parking fees.

Thank work-to-travelMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was there 2 weeks in september, and will love to go again. Croatia is a beautiful country, and Trogir must be one og the most beautiful places in Croatia. Not a cheep place compere to other mediterainean countries, but cleaner and nicer then most. Easy to get around, many nice places to eat.No sandy beaches, but actually better with vert small rocks. Boats to the beaches from old town Trogir, or 20-25 minutes walk. Or you can do as we did, rent a car. Was dirt cheap om september, and saved a lot og money by driving to all the places er wanted to see, instead of paying for sightseeing tours.

Thank LeDj69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A must side trip to be made when in split. This is a UNESCO heritage site so expect tons of tourists. Great architecture, history. Easy walk around the fort. Spend about 30-45mins

Thank PURPLEYAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We wanted to see a bit more along the coast so got the bus from Split to Trogir. I think it was 35 kuna, you have to pay each way, no return tickets. It only took about half an hour. We walked around the town for about an hour and then stopped for some well earned cool beers. A nice smaller town, lots of visitors and some really nice views. Not sure I would have liked to stay there as I prefer somewhere busier but certainly a lovely place to include in your travel spots along the way. Bus back was a nightmare, it took over twice as long and stopped at every hole in the hedge, squeezing people in and we had the added happy chanting of young guys who were going to support Croatia in a big match over at the stadium in Split.

Thank travelled-annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here for a few hours before heading south to Dubrovnik. Another pretty little town steeped in history with narrow cobbled streets. Lots of cafe bars and restaurants with quaint little shops. Worth a visit if you are in the area!

Thank 316nicolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We really enjoyed walking around and visiting the various sites in the historic town of Trogir. Trogir is a town on the central Adriatic coast of Croatia.

Its preserved old town is very well maintained and is known for its mix of Renaissance, Baroque and Romanesque buildings. Sites include the 13th-century Cathedral of St. Lawrence that houses the Renaissance Chapel of St. John that offers sweeping views from its bell tower. Parts of the medieval city walls remain intact. Trogir was designated a UNESCO Cultural World Heritage site in 1997.

There is a waterfront promenade, a small chapel where we heard a cappella group sing and lots of outdoor cafés, restaurants and shops.

2  Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

Trogir is a very well-preserved, charming medieval village...the narrow alleyways lead to excellent variety of restaurants and loads of shopping!

Lots of exploring and even though it is a maze you can never get lost - if you are in Croatia - you must visit Trogir - try to spend the night and see the town once all the tour buses and tour boats are gone.

Thank Tahoe1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews