We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful atmosphere, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant VANJAKA

Restaurant VANJAKA
Ranked #4 of 89 Restaurants in Trogir
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Restaurant Vanjaka is a respectable member of the Trogir gastronomic family. It is situated on the Radovan Square, in the east part of the town, right by the Saint Lawrence cathedral. Classy, sacral and aristocratic architectural surroundings have set the standards of this place high and it was a real challenge to meet them. Vanjaka is a contemporary home to a traditional dalmatian cousine and wine. Freshness, local origin and optimal nutritional value are the strict criteria by which we choose groceries to make the meals from our menu. Seasonal fruits ripped in nearby gardens, fish caught from small fishing boats of Trogir and meat from locally raised animals are combined professionally and with love. Meals made by recipes with a hundred year tradition in the Vanjaka restaurant can please the gourmand taste of a modern guest, and the wine card offers a variety of Croatian wines.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere, great food”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We sat outside in the little square where the restaurant is set. Good choice on the menu and staff were friendly and happy to explain everything. Lovely fresh food, perfectly cooked. It was a lovely setting, very romantic and thoroughly enjoyable. Reasonably priced too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank evie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    162
    45
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
494 reviews
481 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Mixed”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch and dinner there, with mixed impressions.
Concerning the setting: the terrace is beautiful and laid-back. When you need to sit inside, however (it was too cold to for dinner), avoid the tables upstairs next to the open kitchen, as you are right in the stream of frying oil.
Concering the food: the cold starters we had for lunch were nice, but salt was missing. Same for the fish soup, which needed a lot of salt.
The salad with crispy fish and the mixed grill were fine, as well as the cheese with olive tapenade.
Service was very attentive and friendly, both times.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank dkbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, great setting and friendly service”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent six nights in Trogir and only found this place on the fifth night. We liked it so much we booked to come back the following evening. The setting is nice - in a courtyard immediately behind the cathedral. We chose to eat here as the menu was a little different to the standard fare found on many of the other restaurants in the centre of Trogir and we weren't disappointed. Among the dishes we had were the assorted meat platter - a huge amount of very tasty meat which beat an ardent carnivore! and the lamb cutlets which my friend rated as some of the best lamb she had ever eaten. The shrimp risotto was the best of three tried at various restaurants in Croatia. The desserts did not dissapoint either - the walnut cake (we would desribe it as Baklava) was superb.

Service was frendly and prompt on both nights and in our opinion the food was some of the best we tasted in our ten days in the region and no more expensive than some of the other restaurants we tried which could not compete in quality.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Like a dream”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Ate here early on our one night in Trogir with my husband and toddler. We made a reservation but it wasn't required as we were the large rear courtyard had plenty of space early in the evening. Lovely courtyard atmosphere and music from bar next door. Waiter was amazingly attentive making us feel very welcome, talking to our son and advising us on the menu. We had the gnocchi in sage butter sauce and Dalmatian ham to start - honestly one of the best things I've ever eaten! Every mouthful was a treat. Our son had spaghetti which was brought out promptly to coincide with our starter and keep him occupied. Even this was one of the best meals we had ever tried! For the mains we had the tuna steak and the beef fillet in truffle sauce which were also to die for. Our son had "chocolate squares" for dessert - like a brownie with fruit sauce - and we all enjoyed eating this too. Red wine and beer were spot on. Very reasonably priced considering the quality and overall experience. Only downer was that when we made the reservation we asked if they had a high chair and they said yes. When we arrived we were told someone else was already using the high chair and they only had one so we had to make do with our toddler sitting on a regular chair. This wasn't ideal and it would've been nice if the high chair had been reserved for us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Piixxii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Good Dinner”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had a good dinner incl meat platter, gnocchi and fishermans salads . Service was attentive , house red wine good , and the price at 300 kuna was good value . Would recommend to others from these happy Kiwi's.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant VANJAKA also viewed

Trogir, Split-Dalmatia County
Trogir, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Trogir, Split-Dalmatia County
Trogir, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Restaurant VANJAKA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing