We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Fish and Vegetable...”

Restaurant Don Dino
Ranked #2 of 99 Restaurants in Trogir
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $81 - $473
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: First and only FINE DINE restaurant in Trogir. Discreet, homely and quite original - these adjectives can be used to describe both the family restaurant „Don Dino“ in general as well as their food. This restaurant, located on the corner next to the church of Our Lady of Carmel near popular street Obrova full of restaurants, still remains loyal to local tastes by abiding the traditions of mediterranean culinary customs.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

There were three of us in the party and the waiter encouraged us to try the baked fish special and we were very glad he did. The fish was filleted at the table and then we were left to serve ourselves (which is fine in my book).

One point if you do order the baked fish is to make sure you have an appetiser as the dish does take a while. We have the garlic bread (ok) and the smoked tune (excellent).

The place was quite busy when we went therefore the atmosphere was ok and seemed to get better with each glass of the excellent house table red. Although the meal was the most expensive we ate in Croatia we all agreed that it was pretty memorable and therefore, on the balance of things, worth it.

I would certainly go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jaws81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis O, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant Don Dino, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2017

Dear, thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (934)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 487 of 935 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

Amazing restaurant! Got off the ferry from Split to visit Trogir and decided to sit for a lunch....What stands out the most is very polite and curteous service; this tend to be quite unusal in Croatia ....so five stars for customer service alone!!! food was excellent and very fresh. Location is great too, in the heart of the lil city.
Highly recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis O, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant Don Dino, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2017

Dear, thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I walked by while looking for a place for dinner in the Old Town. They had fish caught the same day displayed on the ice. That and the atmosphere convinced us to give it a try.

We picked the fish we wanted and they prepared it for us. The waitress was very courteous. She suggested we take an appetizer as the fish would take about 1 1/2 hour to prepare. We decided to take the octopus salad since it is a local speciality. It was deliciously tasty! The fish was grilled and served with local vegetables. Possibly the best fish meal we ever had and definitely the best meal we had during our entire trip!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis O, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant Don Dino, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2017

Dear, thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Food is OK, price is OK. So I can say its good value. The waiter was excellent. House wine is OK. The restaurant is in the middle of the old town where all the restaurants are the same.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Galaxy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis O, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant Don Dino, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2017

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

visited this restaurant 2 weeks ago , Trogir has lot"s of restaurant , but this was special . I tried some local dishes ( cuttlefish and broad beans ) and was not disapointed . the seafood was top notch . Very relaxed and enjoyable visit . Liked it so much we went the next night and there was queues to get tables , the waitress recognised us and said there was a 15 min wait , but to sit at some tables nearby and have a complimentary drink each . when we did get a table we ordered the seafood main course for 2 and was well worth the wait . Loveley people and lovely restaurant .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sezle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis O, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant Don Dino, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2017

Dear, thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Don Dino also viewed

Trogir, Split-Dalmatia County
Trogir, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Trogir, Split-Dalmatia County
Trogir, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Trogir, Split-Dalmatia County
Trogir, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Restaurant Don Dino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing