We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central place to stay”
Review of Vanjaka B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vanjaka B&B
Ranked #5 of 56 Trogir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Lovely B&B in the heart of the old town, minutes from the cathedral, above the restaurant of the same name. Our room was small but very comfortable and staff were friendly & welcoming. Perfect place to stay in this charming town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Vanjaka B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 187 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

Vanjaka B&B is centrally located in the historic tiny island town of Trogir which is a worthy UNESCO listed world heritage site. It is one of the gems of the Adriatic; narrow alleys, small entrances to courtyard restaurants and opening out to different sized squares.

We stayed in the top room which has been beautifully and tastefully renovated - it comes complete with a full sized terrace, table and four chairs. On our 'penthouse terrace' we enjoyed pre-dinner aperitifs and hors d'oeuvres with friends. Typical of any inner city accommodation, there is noise from the restaurants and bars. However the room has good shutters, double glazing and even ear plugs provided if you need them. It is also air-conditioned but we didn't need that in late September.

Friendly and delightful owner who provided us with a lovely fresh breakfast. Sadly we only had one night here. We will definitely return to Trogir and would arrange our dates to ensure we were able to have the penthouse at Vanjaka and for more than just one night.

Room Tip: Top room with the terrace. Just spend the money - you're worth it!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VickiAndAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a fantastic B&B in the heart of Trogir, which we really couldn't fault in any way during our two night stay.

There's very little, if any, parking on Trogir so we parked over the bridge (10 kuna per hour with no day rate) which is a short walk away from Vanjaka. On arrival we were quickly checked in and offered parking in a different location just across the bridge for 20 kuna per day, which we took.
The room itself was smallish which isn't really surprising given the location but it was clean and with a comfy bed and the bathroom was modern. The room had aircon.

The hotel's proprietor is a lovely lady who made us feel very welcome during our stay. We had breakfast on the harbour the first morning which was a big mistake (a place called Porat charging 49 kuna per person for a very basic breakfast) while the second morning we had breakfast at Vanjaka which was fantastic with fresh fruit, yoghurt, Croation pastries, eggs, bread, juice and coffee all for 50 kuna per person.

On our second night we ate at the hotel's restaurant and it was one of the best meals we had in Croatia, even the wine was very nice.

If you've read other Tripadvisor reports you'll know that it can be noisy due to the live music outside which goes on until 2ish, but by closing the shutters and the windows it significantly reduced the volume for us. They also provide ear plugs!

Wifi is free.

We'd definitely return here if we came back to Trogir and it definitely deserves its number one spot for B&B's in Trogir.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HA_SWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We only had two nights at the end of our trip before flying home. I booked Vanjaka based on the other reviews and was not disappointed. We took the room at the top which was more like a suite with private terrace. It has been so well finished and the bathroom was very luxurious. It is right in the heart of the old town so yes it can get a bit noisy but its really not that bad plus your can close the windows and shutters and/or use the earplugs that were so thoughtfully provided! I'm a light sleeper and we were there during busy season and it was not an issue. Breakfast was wonderful.....so many things all freshly produced. We ate so much we didn't need lunch. We ended up eating at their restaurant both nights as the food was so good - see my separate restaurant review. I work in travel and will be recommending both the b&b and restaurant to all my clients. If you want any advise on Croatia please feel free to contact me though TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Uplyme12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Lovely welcome and ongoing friendliness from the charming lady who runs the place, and all of her staff, a good bed with excellent sheets, good shower and the best breakfasts I have ever had anywhere. The bar below books bands on the weekend. The good ones are free entertainment. For the bad ones - close the double glazing and shutters and as a last resort use earplugs if you are an old lady like me and go to bed early. Damn young people having fun! At least the sound is outside and does not shake the building as you get in some cities. In fact i don't think it is a problem once you know to shut the windows - for the bad bands! The architecture is glorious and the building has lovely touches - old stone column heads, stone walls and marble stairs. I was very, very happy and comfortable here.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank ChrisM51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The place itself was very nice, the owner was great lady, very helpful and friendly. However, there are few things that really bugged me during our stay. The first one was that the place is just in the middle of a square with lots of bars and during our stay there was a singer (with a mike) until 2am just under our window, which was really annoying if you actually want to sleep. The second thing, which would not apply to all visitors is that our bathroom was separate from the room and we had to cross little corridor to get there,which is quite inconvenient especially if you want to visit the toilet in the middle of the night. And lastly, be careful how you book it as there is no breakfast included on every booking site, which was a bit of a surprise for us but at least breakfast is EURO 5 so its not expensive to buy it from there. I actually recommend the breakfast as they make it right at the time you go downstairs and it offers good variety of things.

Room Tip: as I mentioned, make sure you request a room with toilet included
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dirimiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were so excited to get here and immediately greeted by so many Croatian locals that it was no problem finding the beautiful spot. Our room was undeniably one of the best, most clean, cool with air conditioning and fresh with a beautiful balcony to sit and people watch or hear the bells toll. The bed was most comfortable and plenty of amenities like coffee, soaps, etc were provided. After a long flight, this was a wonderful place to stay. The proprietor was AMAZING and so nice. She cooke the best meal of Croatia Pastika and I highly recommend this (although they suggest seafood - I liked meat!). The breakfast was amazing so plan to spend at least 1 hour enjoying it. The twon and outside food market - wonderful. I would go back again and again - wish I could have spent more time here in Trogir. Nicest people! Love and thank you Vanjanka - we will come back for sure!

Room Tip: Pay whatever it takes to get the room on top with the balcony - it will be a Dobre memory forever!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monicaleigh32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trogir hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monika
Hotel Monika
#3 of 11 in Trogir
112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brown Beach House Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Bellevue
Aparthotel Bellevue
#1 of 11 in Trogir
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
XII Century Heritage Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pasike
Hotel Pasike
#4 of 11 in Trogir
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Trogir Palace
Hotel Trogir Palace
#8 of 11 in Trogir
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanjaka B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanjaka B&B

Address: Radovanov Trg 9, Trogir 21220, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Trogir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Trogir
Price Range: $66 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vanjaka B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vanjaka B&B is situated next to the Trogir Cathedral and is s part of a well-known ancient core of the city of Trogir. We offer accommodation in double rooms with spectacular views of the cathedral. Breakfast is served in a small restaurant run by the Vanjaka family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Vanjaka B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing