We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and clean apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apartments Villa Goja
Ranked #12 of 56 Trogir B&B and Inns
The Wirral, UK
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
“Basic and clean apartment”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here for a week at the end of June and found the apartment (No. 3) very clean but basic. The outside forecourt was not finished and some of the surrounding area was at best scruffy. The rooms although basic were clean and had a good supply of hot water in the bathroom at all times with a plug for a hairdryer. The main sitting area had a large settee (pull down bed), table with seating and a basic kitchen sink unit, with no other cupboards. Plenty of tableware, pans, glasses, cups and a few coffee mugs and cutlery. Tonci, the owner was a lovely man and was most helpful and picked us up at the airport. Nothing was too much trouble for him. The bedroom was small with a king size bed and wardrobe unit. A full length mirror would have been good near to the electric plug socket, although you would have to sit on the bed as there was no room for a dressing table. The bathroom was functional with a shower unit and curtain, shower was the hand held type that proved OK, wash hand basin and plenty of storage for toiletries. Towels were changed mid week, but no bedding was changed. There was a bottle of water and juice, plus a bottle of home made wine on arrival that was appreciated. The outside pool and area was small but pleasant with sun beds and a parasol. Not sure if there would be more later on in the season.
The apartment did not have a microwave, iron, ironing board, satellite tv,or hairdryer, as stated in the room description from booking.com/alpha rooms. This was not a problem but it could be to others. There was a small balcony that looked over the sea from the side and the countryside from the front with a small table and two chairs (white UPVC type). The hill got very steep towards the end, but was not a problem to us as we are keen walkers. However the supermarket was at the bottom! The walk into Trogir took us 20 - 25 mins depending on the traffic along a road that did not have many pavements. The walk to Okrug was about 10 mins and part of this did not have pavements either and I would not have liked to have taken children if they were not in a pushchair. At the bottom of the hill, on the opposite side to the supermarket there was a restaurant that served lovely omlettes for breakfast and was on the seafront. Parking was available on site. In my view this apartment was only adequate for 2 and even if you had children it would have been a bit of a crush. Tonci arranged for a taxi to pick us up to take us to the bus station for the coach to Split and gave us another bottle of home made wine - this was a lovely gesture.

Okrug was a lovely little place with lots of bars/cafes/restaurants etc and plenty of sunbeds for hire. The beach was shingle or white stones. One day when walking back we found a kiosk that sold the most amazing food, plates of fish similar to whitebait and fresh tuna sandwiches (not tinned), made to order. The service was here was excellent.

Plenty to do and see in the area. Not really fussed on the fish picnic boat trip as the islands visited did not really live up to expectation (the main island (Solta) missed a trick as there were no places open for coffee/drinks as you got off the boat which was a shame as it was a pretty place and the best part of the trip. There was a bar a little walk away that sold coffee and cold drinks/beer etc plus a shop. The barbecue reminded us of visiting Ibiza/Majorca in the 80's - long bench tables with plenty of plonk/juice and water. Split is fantastic and a must do - you can take the boat (best) or bus. We did not manage to fit in Krka Waterfalls as we ran out of time.

Trogir was absolutely fantastic with the most picturesque old town and harbour area with so many places to eat and drink that you could not possibly do them all in a week. It was our first time in Croatia and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit, although the mozzies were viscious, so be warned.

The weather was mixed for the time of year - 22nd June - 29th June. Very hot when we got there and cooled down to jacket weather at night by the end of the week. Hot in the day but windy and cold at night. Apparently this was unusual and May had been the worst for 30 years or so. The atmosphere on a Friday night in Trogir was a treat not to be missed with plenty of groups playing outside as it must have been the end of the holiday for the people on the tall ships. Did not want to go home, but had to because we were leaving the next day for Dubrovnik and a week in Cavtat (fabulous place).

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wilsonjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north-west england
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We felt very welcome and relaxed during our stay at villa goja. The owners were fantastic, they could not have done more to make us feel at home. The apartment had a lovely homely feel to it. The apartment is very well equipped, there is a nice garden area with lots of fresh herbs and plants, my daughter took a particular liking to the strawberry plants! The owners made a big fuss of my daughter and lovely comfortable travel cot and child's pillow and duvet was set up ready for our arrival and a bottle of lovely homemade wine, which made for a happy family!
The apartment has a lovely view of the sea and is 15 -20 mins walk into trogir centre, and about 5 mins walk the other direction to the beach. There is a shop a couple of minutes walk down the hill from the apartment. Trogir has a lot of nice restaurants, bars, and ice-cream shops and is a beautiful town. During our stay we drove to Krka lakes, which was a fantastic day out, it is a very comfortable traveling distance from trogir by car and is beautiful. If you don't have a car, I saw trips advertised there from trogir centre.
The location is good, although is up a steep hill, apartment is lovely and clean and well equipped and owners are just fantastic.
A great stay and good value for money, highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eternal_backpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2012

If you want a light, nice and practical flat, access to swimming pool and located in a peaceful area near by the sea/beach - this is the place. In addition taking into consideration the very helpful and friendly host, Tonci, you have everything you need for a relaxing vacation. I have been there a couple of times and will have a third one in Sep 2012. My kids (aged 12 - 18) was also very clear when we was there in June 2012: Tonci is the man and Villa Goja is the place! They have already clearly stated that next year same time, same place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tore K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

These apartments are clean, spacious and perfect for a relaxing break. There is a shop and restaurant at the bottom of the road. If you want more choice you need to turn left and there is a 10 minute walk to a little resort.
If you turn right at the bottom of the street then it is a 20 minute (not that nice!) walk to Trogir.
There is a fairly big choice of restaurants etc in this little town.
A word of warning - I was five months pregnant when we went. The apartments are up a very steep hill - it is a short one but as I say - steep! For most people I don't think it would be an issue (just a bit puffed out!) but being pregnant I did find it hard work!
The pool area is nice - very quiet and relaxing with lovely views over the sea. The beach is a couple of minutes walk too.
I would suggest getting the owner to pick you up from the airport - he is great, very friendly, helpful and keen to please.
Nice simple place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hl8917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2011

we stayed 4 nights at villa goja but wish we had stayed longer! Tonci met us at trogir bus station as we came from omis, Tonci showed us the little old town of trogir and all the local resturants and supermarkets along with the beaches which are a stone throw away from the villa.Our apartment was spottless and clean,spacious and was air conditioned.the views off the balcony are amazing you are overlooking the adriatic sea and a mountain range in which you get beautiful sunsets.there is a welcomed pool that is very clean and well maintained useable day or evening ,as we had a few late evening swims and looks great when all the under water lights are on.the villa is perfectly located, a short 10 miniute walk to the right takes you into the glorious old town of trogir packed with great resturants and historic buildings and streets. Then to the left of the villa only a 5 miniute walk you come to another town called okrug which has a lovely beach and crystal clear water ideal for snorkling as we did and saw some really nice fish,there is lots of beach bars and resturants also. we would highly recommend villa goja if you are looking for a peaceful and relaxing holiday with pool(not many pools in Trogir)especially as Tonci is the friendliest and kindest man in Croatia who goes out of his way to help with out being intrusive. thank you so much Tonci for making our holiday magical and taking us round your gardens to sample your fruits and little peppers oh and tyring your rocket fuel spirit and potent wine!!!! we shall return.

best wishes to you and your family

Sarah and martin

Room Tip: very quiet and peaceful location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockers182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We are two families of four (kids aged 8 -14) who spent a wondefrul week at Villa Goja in August 2011. Tonci was a great host, warm, welcoming and very hospitable without being invasive. Offering his home made wine and grappa on our arrival and sharing the figs from his trees. Within an hour of arrival he took me on the back of his moped to show us where we could purchase provisions, dine, and to point out walking routes, bus stops etc. He provided all the information we needed, and escorted us all to Split by ferry for a free guided tour of the old town followed by a premier football match in the evening, from which we took a local bus back. Our rooms were spotlessly clean and more than functional for our needs. The walks to and from the apartment took a bit of effort because of the steep inclines but were compensated by the lovely sea views in one direction and the views of Trogir in the other if you walked up and over the hill. Trogir being well worth at least a days visit! There was a local supermarket at the bottom of the steep hill for all our breakfast needs and enough restaurants in the area to vary our dining experiences. Our children spent plenty of time in and around the pool area and gardens, which were well tended, and when down at the various beaches found enough activities and ice cream to keep themselves occupied!
All in all we had a most enjoyable and thoroughly relaxing stay at Villa Goja, believe it was good value, and commend Tonci and Gordana on their hospitality and the cleanliness of their apartments. We have taken away wonderful memories from our first trip to Croatia!
The Baxters and Holloways.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Married couples in their 50's had a wonderful stay at Villa Goja first week in July 2011. The apartment was clean and easily fitted, and 40 square feet is more than enough when we mostly utendørs.ertskapet (Gordanaog Tonci) treated us almost like a part of the family and was nice and helpful in every way.
The center of Trogir was 15 minutes' walk from Villa Goja and had everything we could wish for.
Otherwise, there were beaches and restaurants near the apartment.
The place can be recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trogir hotels
0.6 mi away
Brown Beach House Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Aparthotel Bellevue
Aparthotel Bellevue
#1 of 11 in Trogir
452 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Trogir Palace
Hotel Trogir Palace
#8 of 11 in Trogir
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
XII Century Heritage Hotel
0.7 mi away
Bifora Heritage Hotel
Bifora Heritage Hotel
#6 of 11 in Trogir
42 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vila Sikaa
Hotel Vila Sikaa
#11 of 11 in Trogir
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Villa Goja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Villa Goja

Property: Apartments Villa Goja
Address: Put Salduna I 14, Trogir 21220, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Trogir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Trogir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartments Villa Goja 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments at our disposal are situated around 350m from the beautiful beach. Each apartment has own entrance, a double bedroom, a sitting room with small kitchen, dining room, a sofa with two beds, large bathroom and balcony that overlooks the sea. The building is situated in quite location.In garden you can use swimming pool, sun beds, parasol, BBQ. It is suitable for vacation and gives opportunity for relaxation, long walks, riding bikes through untouched nature. fishing, playing tennis, one day trips around...In the season you can sailing,water-skiing, surfing, paragliding, fishing or go to trips on near islands... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartments Villa Goja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing