We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Apart from the weather we had an excellent...”

Review of Villa Darko

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Svetvincenat, Istria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sandra R
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Apart from the weather we had an excellent vacation!”
Reviewed September 10, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We booked Villa Darko from 26-07-14 to 09-08-2014 for two adults, one teenager and two chihuahuas.
The booking went smoothly; all our questions up front were patiently and clearly answered by Dino. Our prepayment was confirmed upon receipt.

We arrived a few days later, due to some unfortunate private circumstances, which was no problem at all. In Svetvincenat we got lost, we missed the sign 'Brhanici' along the way, but Darko was so kind to pick us up in the village.

The villa was all we imagined it would be (all the pictures and the Facebook Page of Villa Darko give a clear view of what you may expect). Well maintained, with all modern conveniences like home, large garden, place to park the car in the shadow (or in our case, next to the house, due to all the rain that had fallen), a great private pool (very clean and well maintained) and a newly built second villa (previously poolhouse), ideal for a few extra guests.
Very important for us was a strong wifi signal and that was the case within the villa. Outside it became weaker, but we didn't mind since otherwise we would have kept working ;-)

Our dogs enjoyed the garden and it's small insects and animals (like crickets and lizards) and just being outdoors almost all day very much.

We enjoyed the quietness, away from the busy city life, a lot. Small grocery shopping we did in Svetvincenat, large grocery shopping and shopping for pet supplies we did in Pula.
Darko came by, once to bring us clean sheets and once to do maintenance to the pool and we enjoyed his hospitality (he brought us wine every time he came!) and the conversations we had together. He's absolutely a perfect host: honest, friendly and amiable!

When you want to go out for diner you can grab a simple yet perfect pizza in Svetvincenat (go to Pizzeria Grimani and don't go to Pizzeria Palace; the last one has a terrible service and no ambiance whatsoever) or you can enjoy the Croatian cuisine at Kod Kastela.

Dino and Darko: thank you very much for a wonderful summer holiday and our stay at your villa. We enjoyed it very much and we hope we'll meet again sometime!

Kind regards,
Oscar & Sandra

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the comfort, the quietness and the hospitality of the house owner
Liked least: the amounts of rain...;-)
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M
New York City, New York
1 review
“We had a wonderful stay in this Villa”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

Villa Darko was the base for our touring of the Istria region in Croatia.

The Villa is located in quiet area. Rooms are amazing, as is the pool area and the overall service.

Highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia H
Lille, Belgium
2 reviews
“Like home!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2013

- Villas are luxury. Beautiful, spacious, clean, air conditioning keeps the room super cold. Beds are super comfy.
- Internet is fast. I work online so this is a must.
- Pool is awesome and is and super relaxing.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2014
Thank you for your great review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing