We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true home from home”
Review of Casa Garzotto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Garzotto
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Bebington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A true home from home”
Reviewed July 4, 2009

I booked my stay at Casa Garzotto after having read the excellent reviews about the hotel on Trip Advisor, and can only agree with the comments made previously. This is an excellent place to stay if you want to be in the centre of Rovinj old town - large comfortable apartments with modcons, close to the cafés and restaurants of the old town, a good breakfast every morning, but what makes this place so special are the people. Many thanks to Dario, the owner, and his excellent team - Alexandra, Zlatka and Vladan; staying here is like staying with close friends or family and it was sad to leave after a week's stay. Nothing was too much trouble. The complimentary coffees and wine were a lovely touch , as were the recommendations for restaurants in the old town, including Santa Croce. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTraveller_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    44
    11
    8
    6
See reviews for
40
146
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2009

We stayed here for two nights in mid-May. It was one of our highlights in Istria. The staff, Dario, Zlatka and Maria, went well out of their way to ensure a warm and memorable experience in their hotel and Rovinj. Very nice and friendly staff complement this small, well situated hotel within city center and walking distance to everything. Spacious, comfortable rooms provide a 'home-away-from-home' feeling, complete with mini-kitchen. No elevator.

Driving to Rovinj? No worries. Follow signs to city center and call Dario upon arriving at second round-about, pull over and someone is dispatched to escort you to hotel and handle luggage, car, parking and everything. Extremely service-oriented establishment. In Rovinj, this is the place!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncc1701a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2009

Stayed with my daughter over three glorious May days in Baladur Pavan, where the owner offers more simple guest rooms as an alternative to the beautiful apartments in the main building. While the charming rooms, the excellent breakfast, the guest amenities such as free bicycles, car parking, and local wine are all delightful, Casa Garzotto stands out particularly for the efforts of its owner, Dario, and his staff including Zlatka, his mother Maria, and "the boys" to make every guest's stay as perfect as possible. While we had no problems with our stay, I also watched them skillfully assist customers who had fallen on the rocky streets or accidentally disabled their hot water... for Rovinj is not Disney World, and tourists need to be aware of real life issues such as steep stairways and unfamiliar technology. Casa Garzotto reflects Rovinj in such ways, so if you are ready to leave the beaten path, then I predict you will fall in love, like we did, with Rovinj and Casa Garzotto.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2009

The rooms in the main building of this hotel are full of character (although you do of course pay for this) and the location couldn't be better as it is right in the centre of town. The staff are very friendly and do go out of their way to make your stay comfortable, recommending restaurants to eat (and booking them) and places to go.
However when we asked for our car one morning (they will park your car for you for free - Rovinj car parks would end up very pricey!) the guy came with the wrong keys and we had to wait another half an hour before he appeared with our car. You would have thought they might have had a more efficient method of noting whose car keys were whose!
Also when it came time to leave, their card machine rejected 3 credit cards. We said it was probably a fault with their line but they said their line was working OK. Rather than phone up to try to ascertain the problem we were told to go and draw out cash to pay the bill. Not sure if they wanted cash all along? They didn't even give us a receipt so maybe the Croatian tax man is not aware of our visit!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KandJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2009

We spent two weeks at Casa Garzotto and did not regret a single day. We stayed in a spacious room nicely furnished with antique furniture and framed pictures - a very homely atmosphere. This ambience was present in each hotel service - from the friendly hotel staff, welcoming breakfast to the special services such as bike rental or the transport to the airport. It was an outstanding experience, we will recommend to any of our friends !
Julia & Evzen

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripqueen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pdx_traveler3
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2009

We stayed at Casa Garzotta for 2 nights in April, 2009. The hotel staff is so accommodating and friendly. They arranged to have a crib for us, made restaurant reservations for us (and then walked us there), had great day trip ideas and were always pleasant. I was also surprised that our room had a kitchenette. The included breakfast buffet is very generous - meats, cheeses, eggs, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit, juice and coffee made to order. I would book a room on one of the top two floors to avoid street noise and breakfast prep noise. If you arrive via car, get directions before leaving home for parking - they have to meet you at your car and park it for you since Rovinj is pedestrian only / resident's cars only near the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdx_traveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hungary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2008

This hotel was a great find. It's centrally located and the rooms are done in an olde worlde style, and have everything you need, including a small kitchen area. The staff were so friendly and helpful. They parked our car and brought it to us when we needed it, they lent us bicyles and beach mats, and did more than many 5 star hotels.
It's an old building with steep stairs, so if you have a problem with stairs, this may not be the one for you.

  • Liked — helpful staff and charm of hotel
  • Disliked — stairs
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reuben23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
718 reviews
1.6 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
1,307 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Angelo d'Oro
Hotel Angelo d'Oro
#7 of 23 in Rovinj
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Garzotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Garzotto

Property: Casa Garzotto
Address: Garzottijeva Ulica - Via Garzotto 8, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
#4 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#10 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Garzotto 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa Garzotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Garzotto Rovinj
Casa Garzotto Hotel Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing