We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“quaint/convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Garzotto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Garzotto
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, B.C.
Level Contributor
146 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“quaint/convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Rovinj was one of our favorite "hilltop" towns with the added bonus of being on the water. Casa Garzotto was a winner. The room on the first floor in the main building was extremely comfortable with lots of space to put your bags and spread out. As there is no parking within the walls of the old town the owners provide off site parking. They arrange for the pickup and drop off of your car just outsde the walls of the town. The room was quiet with lots of old quaint furniture and family history. The owners were extremely helpful and provided breakfast in their restaurant around the corner. We also ate an outstanding dinner there as well. We would go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for the main building. It's a little more handy as the reception area is there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doreenandneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    42
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
36
140
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denman Island, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We arrived from Venice in Ravinj in a storm and had difficulty finding the hotel. We asked at a resterant and they pointed us in the right direction. As we aproached the hotel one of the staff was coming to meet us!
It was late and we were put in an annex about two blocks away. This had very steep stairs up to the front door and even more steep stairs inside. Thanks to Alex who carried our bags we managed it. We had to go back to the hotel resterant which was in another building to try to find something to eat. The staff were very obliging in finding us something light in the kitchen.
This is a very old town and the buildings are very old.
Our room was O.K. We had the one that had the wraught iron bed. It was quite small but the bathroom was small but obviously new and well equipped.
We found the resterant very dark and had to return there for breakfat in the morning. When we arrived there was no fruit left and the waitress told us that it was too bad and we should come earlier! There was bread, yogurt, cheese, meats etc but I do enjoy fuit in the morning.
I think our trip to Rovinjmight have been influenced by the weather. We did have a dry day the second day but not sunshine. It seems like a great town but I found the hotel a litle difficult with the stairs, the breakfast being in another building etc. If you are looking for old world charm this is your place, if you are a senior looking for comfort try somewhere else.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building, although I heard from another traveller that she had stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cgdayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, BC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

You would be hard pressed to find finer service than at the Casa Garzotto. Ditka and her staff are terrific. We stayed twice on this trip to Croatia, first one night on the way to Slovenia and we stayed on the third floor of their building a 5 to 10 minute walk away. I had, unfortunately, lost my camera on the ferry from Venice. The staff did all they could to retrieve it from the boat but no camera had been reported founded. Later I sent an email to the ferry company and they had it after all. Casa Garzotto immediately fetched it and held it until our return stay.

When we returned we were on the top floor of the building in another charming room. We had to catch the ferry at 7 AM so the hotel arranged a package breakfast and sent a staff member to assist us and another guest get our bags down the stairs and deliver our breakfast -- first class service.

Rovinj is a wonderful town with cobblestone streets and very few vehicles allowed in the old part of town. It is easy to fall in love with this town.

There were some disappointments with the Casa Garzotto. The WiFi is only available in their main building in the lobby so it was a bit of walk to go on-line. The building were we in was hard to find and we got lost a couple of times wandering about the twisting and narrow alley ways.

The combination of the service and the ambience of the town made this a great stop on our visit to Croatia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burnabytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Beyond the ideal setting and the lovely town of Rovinj, the staff at Casa Garzotto is amongst the best I've seen in all of my travels ! I collect gold cards from major chains of hotels and I am used to be treated very well, but after a long day of travel (Montreal to Munich and drive to Rovinj), I instantaneously felt like I was treated like a friend of the family. They took care of things well outside of the normal hotel help you would expect. I haven't seen or stayed in other hotels in the area, but I don't see a reason to go anywhere else if I travel back in the region. The rooms (had to change since I added a night at the last minute) were both very nice and romantic. Being my first contact with Croatians, I was overwhelmed by how hard they went out of their way to make my stay perfect !

I rarely am overwhelmed by the quality of the service, but they were so nice I will for ever remember them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Rovinj is a lovely, romantic town in a picturesque port setting. Casa Garzotto is the icing on the cake, a large comfortable cozy room, with helpful friendly staff. They suggested a fabulous restaurant, Ulica, for a wonderfully delicious dinner. The breakfast was adequate, nothing special. we loved our stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jsch0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Casa Garzotto was one of our favorite places during our 3-week trip to Croatia. Rovinj is a charming, romantic town and Casa Garzotto fits in perfectly. The staff, Ivan and Martine, were very warm and friendly and helpful in every way. Our room was the top floor a short block away from the main building, and we absolutely loved it. Lots of steps to climb but the room at the top was exactly what we were looking for. Old walls and open beams and lots of charm. Breakfast was included and was served in a beautiful little restaurant close by.
Location is great, right in the middle of Old Town. The room was clean and there was plenty of hot water. Bicycles are available if you want to ride.
We heard about Casa Garzotto from Rick Steve's. We loved it and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankandKelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We couldn't have been more pleased with the Casa Garzotta hotel. It's got such an amazing vibe and you'll feel welcome from the moment you arrive. The hotel is right in the middle of things....wonderful restaurants (don't miss the mussels at Balbi) the harbor and the main square. The rooms are a nice size and have great windows where you can throw the shuttered windows open and peak down on the narrow cobble stone street. This hotel and the town are just a wonderful experience. We just got home last night from a 3 week trip to Europe and Casa Garzotta was our favorite hotel and Rovinj our favorite city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasperkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 stars 575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
4.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#4 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 stars 991 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Angelo d'Oro
Hotel Angelo d'Oro
#8 of 23 in Rovinj
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Garzotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Garzotto

Property: Casa Garzotto
Address: Garzottijeva Ulica - Via Garzotto 8, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
#4 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Garzotto 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Casa Garzotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Garzotto Rovinj
Casa Garzotto Hotel Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing