We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in a charming city”
Review of Casa Garzotto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Garzotto
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in a charming city”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed in Casa Garzotto for four nights in June 2011. It was a wonderful experience all around!

Rooms/Building: The hotel is in an old building that has been nicely renovated. We were in the main building, which only has four rooms, each taking up a floor. The rooms are very spacious, nicely appointed with old furniture that matches the city, and they are very clean. Each room has a refrigerator, stove, dishwasher, silverware, pots, pans, plates, and glasses, a television (no English channels), and airconditioning. The room consists of the bedroom area and a little kitchen area.

Location: absolutely ideal! You are located in the middle of old city Rovinj with all restaurants, the waterfront, shops, etc. within walking distance.

Staff: Christine and Steven were wonderful hosts! Steven met us on his scooter to lead us into the old city in our car, then he unloaded our luggage and took it to our rooms while Christine offered us drinks in the lobby. They were helpful with suggesting routes to bike, places to eat, etc.

Food: there was a decent breakfast spread of boiled eggs, cereals, croissants, breads, jams, yogurts, juices, and coffees.

Other perks: Bikes! The hotel has approximately 10 bikes that they allow guests to use at no cost. (Note, there are no helmets available.)

I would absolutely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone staying in Rovinj.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask to be in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    45
    11
    8
    6
See reviews for
41
149
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We (my husband, myself and our two children ages 7 & 3) were staying with some friends on the island of Krk and decided on a whim to visit Istria for a couple of days. I did some quick research and Rovinj seemed like a good base from which to explore the area. As usual, my trusted tripadvisor came through with flying colors. I called this hotel to check if they had availability that same day and Christina answered. She said they had a room open that night, but not the following night. But she reassured me that they would figure something out for us and gave me detailed directions/information on how to get there. Her last words before we hung up were "Don't worry, when you arrive, you will be in our hands and we will take very good care of you." She wasn't kidding! When we reached, thanks to previous reviewers, I already knew what to expect. The amazing Steve aka "energizer bunny" met us outside the old city on his scooter and escorted our car in. He took care of unloading our luggage and drove off to park the car for us. Inside the quaint old building which is roughly 500 years old, we were greeted by Christina who offered us a wonderfully cold glass of wine and the children juice/milk. She spent the next hour patiently answering every question, including showing us a map of Istria and all the places she thought would be worth a visit. She also recommended restaurants, ferry rides, good beaches, etc. She then walked us over to another hotel, where she had secured a room for us for the next night since she wanted us to be happy with it. We were completely bowled over by her willingness to help. Casa Garzotto was renovated 10 years ago, and as such we were very happy with the accomodations. Rovinj and the neighboring areas are simply divine. We visited Pula (for the Amphitheatre) and the hillside towns of Motovun (to die for with breathtaking views!) and Hum (which was absolutely lovely) and came away with bottles of their famous truffles, wine and olive oil. We also ventured to Venice for a day trip which we later regretted- it was hot, humid and far more touristy and commercial than either I or my husband remembered from our previous trips. Returning to Rovinj and Casa Garzotto was heaven for us. We were treated incredibly well, even by the owner (who didn't speak any English but was amazingly affectionate to our daughter since she has grandchildren of the same age) and her son Dario (who made sure we tasted the homemade grappa- grape liqueur with honey) on the house. One thing I must mention before I sign off- the food at the restaurant owned by this hotel is fabulous!! Breakfast is included there, so we weren't particularly inclined to eat dinner there as well, but did so out of convenience on our last night. The chef made a special vegetarian pasta dish with a spicy tomato base to accommodate my dietary restrictions, and it was quite simply the best meal I had in our 3 weeks in Croatia. One other restaurant I would highly recommend in town is "La Puntalina"- they had the most spectacular views of the sea, great food and the hosts are warm and welcoming. All in all, our stay at this hotel was as memorable as our trip to the blessedly beautiful Istria. (Thank you Steve and Christina- I hope you're reading this! We can't wait to visit your part of the world again.)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bijlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

A small hotel in a truely ideal location in the old town. Our room on the top floor was individual and spacious. A little peeling paintwork, but that would be difficult to avoid in a hotel of this age. What marked our very brief one night stay was the outstanding service. We needed to return to Pula to catch the 7am ferry. They immediately offered to take us, thereby giving us an extra hour in bed. Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Rovinj is a fantastic town and the casa garzotto is a FABULOUS place to stay. We had a small apartment above their (excellent) restaurant and it was perfect. In fact we have already decided to book it again next year for a slightly longer stay. The staff are brilliant, they have bikes and beach towels to loan to guests- a nice touch... Only suggestion I have for future guests is not to take long showers as the hot water runs out quickly.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beaujae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed at the Corte Montalbano family apartment. it is one street away from Casa Garzotto and next door to the restaurant where breakfast is served.
The accomodations were fantastic for a family. Plenty of space with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a kitchen area in the heart of Rovinj's old town.
I can't praise Kristina and Steven enough. When we arrived by car I called Steven and he came and guided us into the old town to the hotel. He took our suitcases to the room and parked the car. When we arrived at the hotel Kristina offered us drinks, gave us maps, told us about Rovinj: what to see and do, where the beaches were located. They have bicycles available for the guests which we used to go to the beach. We had one of our best dinners in Croatia at the hotel restaurant.
Thank you Kristina and Steven for a fantastic visit to Rovinj. You made our stay very memorable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drloosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

I'll echo the many compliments given here about staying at the Casa Garzotto properties. My wife and I stayed there for a few days in May, and have nothing but good to say about Rovinj itself, our apartment at Casa Garzotto and especially about Kristina, Stevan and the rest of the staff. They really could not have been more helpful, and they went to great lengths to assist us in having a relaxing time there. Whether the issue was one of getting our luggage up into are down out of our apartment, or getting advice on the area restaurants, or contacting our next rental agents in Split to confirm our reservations there, or getting directions from the Casa Garzotto to the main road to Split, they never failed us. Add into that effective helpfulness their great courtesy and friendly manner, and you begin to get an idea about why my wife and I are giving them a top rating. Our hosts were, simply, among the best and most professional that we've ever encountered on our many travels.

Rovinj itself is delightful, and the Casa Garzotto properties very conveniently placed for enjoying the town on foot. We had a very spacious and comfortable apartment, simply arranged and with modern conveniences, one level above the ground floor. We would definitely consider a return trip to Rovinj, and a repeat stay at Casa Garzotto.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeVOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, IL USA
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Casa Garzotto was an exceptionally nice place to stay while visiting Rovinj for 2 days in June. We stayed at the main building on the top floor (based on a previous review that I read) and the room was spacious, well-furnished, and warm, and had great breezes coming in through the windows and skylight. The bed was comfortable and the shower had good water pressure. The seagulls and other birds that lived on the rooftops made a racket at times, but when we wanted to sleep, closing the windows and turning on the air conditioning took care of the noise. Casa Garzotto is located right in the heart of the old town peninsula, with easy walks to the harbor, restaurants, shops and St Euphemia Church. The breakfast is served at a restaurant around the corner and there was a good variety (meats, breads, fruit, cereal) of tasty food available. AND on top of all this there are bicycles available for your free use to bike along the shoreline trail, and trek inland on one of the 3 bike routes.

The list above is enough to give Casa Gazotto a 5-rating, but what really sets the hotel apart is the exceptional customer service. We parked at the town’s north lot (on the waterfront) and took a short walk to the hotel. We were met in the lobby area by Kristina who was very helpful in getting us settled in. She called Steve (Stevo) and he immediately went back to the parking lot and drove our car to the hotel. There he unloaded our suitcases and took all of the bags up to the 4th floor room. A little later Kristina showed us where breakfast would be served and gave us a brochure of the bike routes around the area. She mentioned that complimentary bikes were included. I do agree with a previous rater that the internet wi-fi does not work well in the room, but comes in fine in the lobby area. It was hot there when I was on my laptop, but Kristina noticed and immediately put on the air conditioner. At breakfast the next day we met Maria (or Marina) at the nearby restaurant. She had a good breakfast set up and helped in any way she could to ensure breakfast was a good experience. Later that morning when we decided to go bike riding, Maria was in the lobby area. She took us to where the bikes are stored and got us on our way. The next day when it was time to leave, Steve again got the car, helped with luggage, and then directed us out of town.

All in all, the amenities at Casa Garzotto make it a top-rate place to stay, but the staff puts it over the top in quality!

Other Tips:
1) The bike trip was great along the coast, but the inland portion was a little dusty and not quite as scenic. In hindsight continuing down the coast would have been better.
2) Do hike to the top of St Euphemia's tower. The view was great! If heights bother you a lot, the staircase may be an issue.
3) MOST of the time your restaurant bill includes a service fee for the waiter. Do not double tip of that is the case.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnF_1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
256 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
766 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Angelo d'Oro
Hotel Angelo d'Oro
#7 of 23 in Rovinj
151 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#4 of 23 in Rovinj
1,370 reviews
1.6 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Garzotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Garzotto

Property: Casa Garzotto
Address: Garzottijeva Ulica - Via Garzotto 8, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
#4 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#9 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Garzotto 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Garzotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Garzotto Rovinj
Casa Garzotto Hotel Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing