We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really enjoyed it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Resort Villas Rubin
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Reviewed August 11, 2009

I stayed at Villas Rubin with my wife and 12 year old boys for six nights and I have happy memories of my time there and Rovinj. We were traveling around coming from Italy and Slovenia so this was one of our stops. Villas Rubin consists of little challets and ours were two rooms (very clean) with plenty of wardrobe space, a clean bathroom and private garden, the enclosed walls were perhaps too high.

Villas Rubin is a tourist settlement and is pretty laid back, the location right next to the sea with some great scenery, it also joins on to a neighbouring campsite, also on both sides there are nudist camps. There are plenty of sport activities to choose from and you can hire all types of small boats. There are places to hire bikes from on the camp and at various places in the woods.

There is a big pool area and one for children and a pretty good water slide, well two actually (you have to pay to go on them). Here I must add that the pool is salt water and has under water plants or moss growing out of it and doesn't look nice (there is another pool at the campsite next door which is not salt water and is spotless) in fact the whole place is slightly run down and needs a face lift as one of the advertised restaurants was closed down and the other one run down and there were a few units that were probably once shops, now stood empty. There was entertainment every night may I add.

The town Rovinj itself lies about 30 minutes walk, (beware of the price of taxis) which is very picturesque with it winding cobbled streets, little courtyards and a harbour, we spent every evening wandering around the town, this is the reason why we stayed at Villas Rubin, it has got to be one of my favourite places and I really didn't want to move on.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TooWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 212 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2008

Okay so we arrived expecting a great time as the website portrayed this holiday resort as a great place to be. We had travelled around Slovenia and stayed in some fab but economical places and as we were paying twice as much at Villas Rubin we were excited to begin our time in a bit of luxury. We spent our first night in the worst place I have ever spent a night, the kitchen was flood damaged and full of silver fish with really poor facilities, the bath room was just vile and it was like an oven with no windows we could leave open at night. Our view was a caravan park with blaring music. We were disappointed beyond compare, so much so I sent my husband to complain. He went to the desk where almost without having to argue we were told we must be in the wrong accomodation and were promised a new place the next day. We were rehoused the next day in a fab little bungalow by the sea with our own little terrace. Really lovely! The resort itself isn't up to much the swimming pool is salt water which the kids hated and you had to pay per go on the waterslide!!! Some of the sports pitches looked top notch but everything was expensive. The entertainment and restaurants was really dire!
Despite there obvoius misatke we were offered no refund and to be honest we were happy to leave and return to wonderful Slovenia!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RachelHeswall_Wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2008

Not sure where to start on the criticisms actually - a bit disappointed in myself that I did not take pictures. After spending some time in Ljubljana, Zagreb, and Baska (great place by the way), my wife and I and our 3 kids headed to Rovinj looking forward to our "beach resort" part of the vacation. When we arrived it was packed and things at reception went slow but nothing I didn't expect so no big surprise. When we headed to the rooms we noticed one of the two restaurants on the premises was shut down (windows broken and graffiti covered the building). Trash cans near the apartment we booked were overturned and trash lined the parking areas. Our apartment was dirty and most everything seemed to be falling apart. We went to check out the pool and the restaurant area to find an old, dirty pool that has obviously not been maintained for quite a while and a restaurant with poor quality food. The beautiful water slides that are depicted on the website are in horrible condition and were not available for use (and I am guessing they never will be given the condition). We stayed one night because we had arrived late and even that was tough to handle. We are pretty resilient folks (stayed in a hostel in Tartu, Estonia that had more comfort than this place) but we just couldn't stay. We decided to head out early to our next stop - the Hotel Vile Park Apartments in Portoroz, Slovenia and we were extremely happy with it - the place looked like what was advertised on the website and our family had a blast. Villas Rubin may have had the website look 10 years ago but definitely not now.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank yankdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2008

We have just returned from two weeks of HEAVEN............................with my husband, daughter 7 and baby 9months.

We stayed at Villas Rubin in a self catering white bungalow, consisting of one bedroom with wardrobes and vanity desk, with open french windows looking onto our private patio/garden which was not overlooked at all. Very clean bathroom with plenty of white towels and soap/shampoo. Front room with pulldown double bed and travel cot for baby with lots more wardrobes. Kitchen facilities will lots of plates glasses everything you would ever need (if cooking in) 2 lounge chairs and table also with open french doors.

This villa was very clean and fresh 5 mins walk to a pebble beach, which was too much for Lola as all she wanted to do was eat the pebbles, but we used to sit under a pinetree with the children. Sunbeds were also available at about 30kn per day for two.

There is a very large pool with kids pool and 2 water slide (payable too about 10kn for 5 goes) the pool is quite cool and is also seawater, but this is cleaned and emptied once a week. I will say this is a bit shabby and could do with a lick of paint or retiled. We didnt spend much time at pool as was very busy for us.

There are various activities available too like aerobics water and normal, kids club dancing walks lots for everyone is wanted.

There are several restaurants serving pizza/pasta and alcarte all very well priced.

There is a bus to take you to the main town of Rovinj which all I can say is one of the most wonderful places I have been................cobbled streets with tiny little streets leading upto old town with fairy lights and candles in most of shops and bars/restaurants. Serving anything from fresh fish platters to perfect pasta to the wonderful truffle dishes (which my husband could not get enough of) all very well priced. Totally chic and breathtaking town from wonderful views - amazing food - fab wine, just perfect!!! The only thing is the bus from Villas Rubins leaves site at 18:30 and last bus back is 21:45 and thats it. The bus is 12kn per person (kids free) and taxi is about 100kn one way.

I would go back to Rovinj without a shadow of doubt a fab holiday enjoyed by all the family.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank forion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2008

we booked our apartment on booking.com without knowing what we have booked so were a little bit frightened about what to expect. we came with the car and soon as we got there we knew that this was going to be the best vacation ever. we came on Saturday and it was a little bit crowded so we waited for 10 minutes on the reception. the apartment we got was a really nice one, very clean, comfortable, affordable and close to the beaches and fine eating restaurants. the owner is also very nice and helpful, making us feel as thought you were a returning guest and not a "first timer".
we had a really good time there and we will certainly come back again!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank keti29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Beata212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarcinMarcin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
3.9 mi away
Resort Amarin
Resort Amarin
#16 of 23 in Rovinj
300 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
834 reviews
3.4 mi away
Family Hotel Amarin
Family Hotel Amarin
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
1,029 reviews
3.8 mi away
Amarin Studio and Apartments
2 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#8 of 23 in Rovinj
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Villas Rubin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Villas Rubin

Address: Vilas Rubin 1, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range: $86 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Resort Villas Rubin 3*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a few kilometers south of Rovinj, you will find Villas Rubin, a serene retreat blended harmoniously with the coastline in the shade of pines and olive groves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Resort Villas Rubin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Rubin Hotel Rovinj
Rubin Hotel Rovinj
Rubin Resort Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing