We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could have six stars if it existed in trip advisor”
Review of Hotel Monte Mulini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monte Mulini
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
305 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“could have six stars if it existed in trip advisor”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

imagine an hotel in a park and this park in another park,imagine small beaches in the shade of umbrella pines, crystal clear turquoise water.. and all this, you see from a very spacious comfortalbe room with large windows and a balcony. you do not see another house. it is like the south of france before it was built up. it is soooo gorgeous. and not stuffy either.

ALL THE ROOMS HAVE A VIEW ON THE SEA. so do not worry about a bad view.

You also have the amenities of a 5 star hotel: three swimming pools overlooking the sea, spas etc.. but for me ,the best part was the nature around it. nature you can see from your room, from the terrasse where breakfast is served, from the restaurant, should you decide to eat there, from the pool area. .

should you want to discover the bigger park, bikes are at your disposal at the hotel to use on the very comfortable and very pretty bicycle road.

should you want to go to town by foot, i would recommend not to take the bike road but to use the grassy trail under the umbrellas pines just below the hotel. it is cool, delighful and absolutley beautiful.

if want to enjoy swimming in the sea, i would recommend to either bring some shoes to protect your feet from the pebbles. or walk on the cycle road a little bit toward the town and you will see a white concrete beach (it is actually very nice) with staircases bringing you down to the see in deep enough water you can swim without having to put your feet down. last option, walk along the path to the left as you face the sea, you will come across one or two beaches with very small pebbles that is quite manageable

the town of Rovigno is quite pretty. the setting of the harbour is very attractive. have fun. i absolutely loved this hotel .

ah! price.: for Croatia, it is very expensive.. For an hotel of this quaity and beauty, in France or italy, it is almost a bargain. (but yes, it is not cheap. In high season, the price is E396.00 per night per room for 2 people everything included (wifi/breakfast/parking/taxes ). i thought it was worth every penny of it.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good. it depends what you prefer.. to be able to get out of your room and go to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauremm m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your appreciation not only of the unique location of the hotel in front of the century forest park, but also for giving us six stars. We are so proud to have panoramic sea views of the picturesque Lone bay surrounded by protected “Zlatni rt” park forest. Thank you for highlighting our location as well, isn't Rovinj the most romantic place in the Mediterranean? The town of Rovinj is the right destination for all of you seeking a sentimental atmosphere of the times that have forever gone by. The Old town has begun its life as an island; it’s full with crowded houses, narrow streets and small squares, still untouched by modern urbanism. From the very first glance, Rovinj’s charm is apparent. Come once, you will always return!

We hope your future travel plans to the Istrian peninsula with your friends will include a return stay at Monte Mulini hotel.


Wish you all the best
Lovorka Androšić, EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    83
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
148
427
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

That was our reps view when we arrived and we concur. It was our fourth visit and facilities have improved and the staff are as efficient and friendly as ever. The joy of this hotel is that is has none of the pretentiousness of some 5 star hotels, just wonderful views and facilities and situated on the edge of Rovinj which is a beautiful unspoilt town.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonste_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your recognition and for returning back to our precious Monte Mulini.We compeletely agree with you that our little oasis of peace shouldn't become crowdy and noisy destination so we're try day by day to keep it that way but constantly improving little details and service. Hope you liked our new Mulini Beach as well.

Wish you all the best
Lovorka Androšić, EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Although we landed at the hotel mid morning on a Saturday .....our room was ready which was fabulous ....beach gear on .....down to the beach....but the whole Beach was full ....this was my only gripe .....100 room hotel ....don't sell beds on a first come first served basis keep some for the guests ....this only happened on the Saturday ...our first day......and was ok after this time.

The Hotel & the service was second to none ....I cant think of anything at all .....especially the guys in the hotel bar ....even though they laughed at my sunburn ;-) they were great....room service, pool bar service, breakfast service .....all fantastic

we did use the hotel spa .....we had it all to ourselves ......there is a small hydro plunge pool that has an anti swim against wave that is great .....a sauna and steam .....everything there is 5 star
and we did get the hotel bikes out for a ride around the bay .....brilliant

Breakfast is expansive .....but the hotel changed the toasting machine for a sandwich maker to toast your bread ....I asked why ....and was informed that children had been putting croissants in it and burning them ......easy fix ....adults only to use the toaster !!!
anyway ...fresh eggs - the omelettes and scrambled eggs seem to be the same ....poached eggs are great

evening meal .....much better in the town ....Kinanton ....also owned by the hotel chain ....is the best we had for fresh food and atmosphere......

we will definitely return ......oh and the sleep quality is amazing .....where did you get those pillows

Room Tip: we had a garden room / view ....totally happy with it but would have liked a key to lock the doors f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petemcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are truly honored by your comments and by your recognition. We are delighted to hear that you found true comfort and excellent service in our boutique hotel. We are also grateful that you highlighted the new beach. Thank you for your appreciation not only the breakfast, but for the service and the bar staff as well. You’re right about no having toster for a while but we put a brand new one these days. We hope your future travel plans to the Istrian peninsula will include a return stay at Monte Mulini hotel.

Kind Regards, Lovorka Androšić, EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Not having visited Croatia before we had little preconception but loved the country and the hotel. The hotel is located in a bay surrounded by an area of outstanding natural beauty.
If you like red wine you'll love Roxanich Teran 2007 also available at Pula duty free shop for €29!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phwoarrtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your honest and rewarding comment. We’ll be pleased if we will have opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind Regards, Lovorka Androšić, EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Lovely rooms, spacious with a very large bathroom. Very large bed

Staff are attentive, never had a bad experience.

The breakfast room is wonderful with a balcony that overlooks the sea and faces the woods on the headland.

Very small cons: not enough storage space. The furniture is lovely with those drawers that close seamlessly but they only had a drop of around one inch so there wasn't much space to put your clothes if you are staying for two weeks.
Wifi is patchy. I had more success with my iPhone 4s than my wife did with her iPhone 5.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms all have outside balconies with a wonderful view of the grounds but if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanScott1866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recognizing our commitment to have ecellent and dedicated service. We continuously monitor your suggestions in order too meet your expectations in terms of ambience, service and the best food quality. However we noticed that you haven't been compeletely satisfied with wifi and the size of cons, you have a point there.

We hope you keep all your positive memories alive until your next visit
Thank you for your time and support.

Sincerely,

Lovorka Androšić, EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

My family and I (six in total) stayed two nights on short notice. The first night was so good we stayed a second one. Food was amazing in the Wine Vault, and the service overall was amazingly accommodating and naturally friendly. We went kayaking and cycling in the national park around the corner, all organised by the concierge.

Kids loved it, four pools, great access to the beach, lovely rooms, nothing to fault.

We are coming back!

Room Tip: Not the cheapest but very good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorcan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your rewarding comment regarding your stay in Hotel Monte Mulini with your family. It gives me a great pleasure that you have found our hotel to be up to your standards and that you even prolonged your stay.

I will pass your comments to our Concierge whomade your stay so pleasant.

Looking forward seeing you in the future

Best wishes

Lovorka Androšić, EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My husband and I have just got back today from the hotel monte mulini in rovinj croatia.
It was our first time here and we were expecting a lovely hotel but we were so impressed!
The clever and thoughtful design of the place is amazing,every comfort and luxury.
The room was a standard if you can call it that!it was beautiful with a balcony and a path straight down onto the beach.
The location was stunning!no sand just clear clean sea,we saw some lovely fish just a few feet into the water,thru snorkling.
Then the town which is a fab 6/7 min walk was really buzzing.lots of family's ,younger people and older,no yobbishness just good safe fun with great restaurants,many if which were very reasonable.
The people are genuine and helpful,not too formal not too intrusive.
We have stayed in many nice hotels and countries but this is the best!for the money it is rightly Croatias number 1 hotel,europes number 3 and mybe in time ax the hotel is only 6 yrs old one of the best in the world!
The food was second to none,the hotel spotless and over all a surprise second honeymoon for my husband and I ?very romantic place and town.
We will find it hard to get another hotel to match this one along with beautiful location and lovely nice stroll into the town.
Well done hotel monte mulini,you deserve your position as top hotel in yr country.
We will be back,we loved it.

Room Tip: The more reasonable rooms seem to be on the ground floor but you still get a lovely view with a balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Della D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your visit to Monte Mulini; we are so grateful for your great feedback. On one hand, we are delighted that you appreciated our mission to stay one of the best hotels in Croatia and maybe enter in priviledged group of european top 10 best hotels.

On the other, thank you for mentioning the design and location of the hotel and a lovely old town of Rovinj with many little atractions. I will share your rewarding comments with all team.
Counting on your continued support, we look forward to welcome you back, making the Monte Mulini your unique address in Croatia.


Lovorka Androšić, EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
1,305 reviews
1.1 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
917 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
230 reviews
2.6 mi away
Resort Amarin
Resort Amarin
#15 of 23 in Rovinj
259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#10 of 23 in Rovinj
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Mulini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Mulini

Property: Hotel Monte Mulini
Address: A. Smareglia 3, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
#1 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Monte Mulini 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a serene view of the quiet cove from your own balcony, only 10 minutes away from Rovinj`s Old Town or put your feet up in the lush garden around the pool before exploring the refined cooking in the Wine Vault restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monte Mulini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Mulini Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing