We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful cathedral - reach it by climbing up from the old town”

Saint Euphemia Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$184.39*
and up
Highlights of Istria Full-Day Photo Tour from Zagreb
Ranked #4 of 74 things to do in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Narberth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful cathedral - reach it by climbing up from the old town”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We climbed up the hill from the old town and saw the beautiful cathedral. It was smaller than we had expected - the size of a large church. When we visited, a wedding was exactly ending and we enjoyed seeing all the guests in their finery, exiting the cathedral. The view is also highly recommended, from the cathedral entrance steps.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Moolieisenbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    462
    379
    84
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Wee bit of a climb but worth it”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Wee bit of a climb up to the Cathedral but very much worth it.

It is free to enter but costs extra if you wish to climb the bell tower, as I'm not great with heights and the stairs looked a bit rickety I left it.

Despite there being notices saying no photography plenty people were snapping away (using the camera's flash too).

There is a small café by the Cathedral which serves soda's, beers, wine and juice's including lavender juice - perfect to quench your thirst after the walk up!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A rewarding climb.... and descent!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Lots of detailed reviews of this wonderful church so won't add to that. But my memory is of the faces of the people when they re-appeared following their climb up and down the tower. Their faces were covered with wonderful smiles, quite mysterious, had they felt closer to their Maker? So we made the climb up the old, steep, well worn and open steps, more like ladders. The tower is narrow so passing people could be a squeeze and you wondered if the wooden steps were strong enough to take all the weight? Eventually you reach the top and experience the views of Rovinj and the Med which are fantastic. Don't be up there around mid-day because it is a bell tower and that's when they are rung. The descent is a bit hairy, steps are steep. And when you reach the bottom you cannot help but smile ..... with relief that you have made it and your prayers have been answered. But don't be put off, it really is worth the effort and the 15 Kuna.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
154 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Famous Town Landmark”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

If you are spending time in Rovinj then you must walk up the panoramic cobblestone street to the church of St. Euphemia. This imposing structure bears the name of the patron saint of the town and inside the church you can view the antique sarcophagus of St. Euphemia from the sixth century.

The inside of the church is very beautiful in itself but if you have the stamina walk up the wooden stairs all the way up to the bell tower for some gorgeous views of the town and surrounding area. A small fee is charged for the privilege of walking up the 99 steps and I understand it can be a little scary on the way down if you are claustraphobic. I admit I opted out for the trip up to the bell tower as it was 94 degrees fahrenheit and I was afraid I might experience heat exhaustion, but don't let that stop you if you are the hale and hearty type.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carm18426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cathedral Rovinj”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

A magnificent old church/cathedral with a fascinating history. Well worth a visit the architecture is just stunning

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Euphemia Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Saint Euphemia Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing