We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wondeful hotel with great service and location.”
Review of Hotel Angelo d'Oro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Angelo d'Oro
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Westlake Village, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wondeful hotel with great service and location.”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We enjoyed Rovinj and very much enjoyed the hotel. It is in a wonderful location, we had a beautiful view of the sea. The breakfast in the hotel garden is lovely and included in the room price. The staff were extremely helpful with dinner suggestions and making reservations for us. In addition we were in need of a driver and Branco took care of all the arrangements. Goran was also very helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel. It was nice to have free internet in the lobby and a laptop that was available to use. The room was a good size and the bathroom adequate, Americans travelling in Europe often complain of small bathrooms, this was fine for us but the shower might be considered small for some people.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jsutman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    46
    10
    9
    7
See reviews for
17
90
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Its old fashioned, interesting, quirky, and uneven in what it delivers, our party of 12 were completely divided on it. We had a superior room on the second floor up the secondary staircase and it felt inferior, what superior meant was a "sea" view. The gap between the decaying chimneys did show us the sea but 50 % of the view was crumbling masonary. The bed was hard and low and the room was dark with heavy dark wood wardrobe and no drawer space. Was it charming as many of the tripadvisors found, well the main staircase was and the garden was and the breakfast, taken outside under the flowering trees, was delightful, the dining room was dark and dreary and we saw no one in it in the two days we stayed. The aggressive sign "towels must be used correctly" or 100 euro fine placed in every bathroom was really off-putting and i struggled to think as I dried myself on them if I was getting it right, or if anyone was checking. The location on one of the main little roads from the harbour guarantees that there is a noisy flow of tourists under your window if you are in the "superior" rooms. Its old its interesting and its well placed in the heart of Rovinj if that matter's more to you than a big comfy bed and a quiet night's sleep then this could be for you.

Room Tip: ask for a courtyard view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordWaxlyrical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

It's in a delightful location. We were on the top floor so we had to stoop a bit in the room due to a sloping ceiling. The bed was two singles pushed together and could have been a bit firmer for my liking, but the bedding was clean and fresh. We were there during spring break so there was a bit of doof doof music wafting in during the early hours. Breakfast is fairly light, but fine unless you expect a hearty meal. There is no lift so this isn't suitable for the infirm or very elderly. Staff were generally helpful, though some characters were more charming than others.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2010

You couldn't find a better location in Rovinj, Croatia than Hotel Angelo d'oro. Central to everything including only 10 minutes to the bus station with the hotel providing the ride. Our room the first night was on the front street and noisy as well as 20 Euros more expensive for seaside view (tiny piece of the sea), so we asked to be moved to a garden terrace room on the back of the hotel. What a great move as our room opened onto the terrace where a great breakfast was served and quiet too. While the overall price was more than we hoped to spend, it clearly is a four star hotel with excellent staff and clean accommodations. Rovinj is wonderful to boot.j No cars allowed, however so parking is on the edge of town in a secured lot with transportation to hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srludy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

I was a bit uncertain about the Angelo d'Oro given the range of comments I'd seen on TripAdvisor, but on a recent stay, my partner and I found it a delightful, perfectly located inn in the heart of Rovinj's old town.

My sense is that some of the negative reviews focused on what the Angelo d'Oro is not: a modern, ocean front hotel with the attendant amenities that one would expect on a beach vacation. If that is what you are looking for, there are many in Rovinj and all over Croatia, but the Angelo d'Oro is not one of them.

Instead, it is a small inn, tastefully appointed, located near the center of Rovinj's attractions, but nicely apart from them, on a quiet side street. The hotel staff was amazingly friendly and helpful: transferring us to and from the car park, recommending a restaurant, providing extra towels and pillows. Our room was located on the top floor: it was up four flights of stairs, and had commically low, sloping ceilings, but the reward was a lovely, unobstructed view out to the sea and Istrian coast. The room was spotless, the linens crisp, and the bathroom well equipped. Breakfast in the garden was modest, but the setting is serene and the cappuccino expertly made.

Yes there are quirks -- it's not a Sheraton, but that's the point. If you are looking for a hotel that feels uniquely of its place, the Angelo d'Oro is for you.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerrySF63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

After reading some of the reviews here I was a little worried whether I made a mistake in booking a room (three nights) at the Angelo d'oro. Fortunately it turned out to be the right decision.
The pick-up by the free shuttle service from the (also free of charge) parking worked flawless (and did so everytime I needed it) and a very friendly driver brought me to the hotel. The location of course is superb - right in the middle of the old town, close to all restaurants, bars and sights. If you do plan a holiday with lots of swimming it might not be so suitable though.
The room I got wasn't too big, but for one person it was more than enough. Old furniture, a clean bathroom and facilities gave a good first impression. Although my room faced the street, I cannot complain about the noise. First of all this is a pedestrian area, so traffic is limited to some very few service vehicles (some of which run by battery). On the other hand a hotel located in the middle of any town won't be as quiet as the country side retreat. If in doubt ask for one of the courtyard facing rooms.
The breakfast choice is not too big but the quality of the offered items is good. Eggs, sausage, cheese, jam, honey, bread, fresh juices, a choice of fruit and of course coffee, tea, water and - a little bonus - sparkling wine. If anything runs out the friendly staff always brought replacements in no time. And the sitting area - the aforementioned courtyard - is really beautifully done with some water, lots of plants and nice seating - a perfect place to start relaxed into your day.
As mentioned before the staff has always been friendly and tried to help out with any question there was and was really helpful in getting reservations in the eateries of my choice (as I planned this as a culinary tour through Istria).
In a nutshell - if you love small hotels with a individual look, the setting in the middle of the medival town, then this is the right place. With 100 Euro per night in the high season the room rate was absolutely okay. If you do look for the modern (yet anonymous) holiday hotel with pool and beach this won't work for you.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Indichur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

Have you ever been thrown own from your own hotel room without a single warning? If not, go to Angelo d'Oro. We booked a suite together with 2 friends for two nights on the phone. After the first night and a poor and ridiculously unprofessional breakfast we left the hotel at noon. When we got back at 8 PM to the hotel, our shuttle driver told us, that our room is already given two soem other guests. He was a nice guy so we thought he was just joking to make the short ride more enjoyable for us. But when we got to the hotel, it all turned to be true. They said we just booked for one night, WE haven't checked out in time so they had no other choice but to collect all our stuff on a plastic tray what was covered with a bedsheet plus in our bags and put everything out to the sauna. OUR PERSONAL BELONGINGS put completely mixed together in piles, jewellry, contact lenses, pilles, books, make-up kit, sandwiches all on top of each other and this all at 10 PM without any further information. The manager showed up in an hour, tried to put the blame on us and was not even saying sorry. The most unprofessional service ever, the most rude manner ever, the worth experience ever. We finally did not have to pay for the accomodation, but we were put into a hotel at the other end of Rovinj (arrival at midnight afrter a long and unfriendly debate) where we were forced to pay a full rate the other day which was even more expensive than Angelo d'Oro.

We will make a diplomatic issue out of the case (3 hungarians and one british), we all will inform the Hungarian and British embassy to warn their citizens not to enter the hotel if they want a relaxed holiday in Rovinj. The shame on the management of Angelo d'Oro to hire such emloyees, hopefully they learn from this case a lot and will restructure their human resources policy soon.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
509 Thank szidni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
256 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
766 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#4 of 23 in Rovinj
1,371 reviews
1.8 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
989 reviews
0.4 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#8 of 23 in Rovinj
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Angelo d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angelo d'Oro

Property: Hotel Angelo d'Oro
Address: Via Svalba 38 - 42, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Angelo d'Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic building in a cobblestone street leading to the church of St Euphemia and steps away from Rovinj's main square has been carefully renovated and transformed into a charming small hotel, where traditional features are combined with up to date facilities to ensure a unique and comfortable stay. The seamless blend of tradition and modernity is accented throughout the hotel, which boasts finely restored antique furniture, centuries old stone walls and exposed beams, as well as wi fi and air conditioning. Sumptuous breakfast is served on the shaded patio behind the hotel and in the stone-paved reception and lounge area; at night this turns into a lounge bar where guests can have a quick drink or sample wines from our small but well-stocked wine cellar and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere. Our 23 standard rooms, three family rooms and one suite are decorated in tranquil earthy tones, with elegant wrought iron beds, yet each is one of a kind, with hand-picked antique wardrobes and dressers. All rooms have modern en suite bathrooms with bathtubs or showers, air-conditioning and free wi fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Angelo d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Angelo d Oro
Angelo d Oro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing