We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit To This Superb Hotel”
Review of Hotel Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Park
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at this great Hotel for 7 nights from Tuesday 25th September 2012 we had a great holiday. Weather was still warm but sometimes overcast but generally sunny , we had one evening of rain.Baring in mind that my stay was heading towards the end of the season Rovinj was quite vibrant, however some of the Bars and Restaurants were either closed or quiet during the evening.The Hotel Park kept up it's high standard of service being very clean, our room was on the second floor it would seem that the whole floor had recently been refurbished. We were allocated room 226 which gave us a wonderful panoramic view of Rovinj.The Hotel Staff very keen and eager to please in fact I went to the reception desk to request two extra pillows when I directly returned to my room they were already there .

Room Tip: ROOM 226 Superb View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank twmthebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 771 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at the park on the 21 aug to 3 sept we had a lovely sea view room the views are fantastic all the staff were helpfull & friendley the food was very good their was good evening entertainment a 5 min walk takes you into rovijn where you will find all you need walk the opp way along the coast &their is lovely park area I would like to say thanks to the management for the bottle of champaign & card on my wife's birthday many thanks mr&mrs bland

Room Tip: All rooms have advantages but a sea view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WestYorksPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have just returned from a week at Hotel Park in Rovinj. The hotel is in a fantastic location with great views of Rovinj. The hotel itself is clean and the hotel staff are friendly. The only thing I would say is that the hotel is in need of refurbishment as it is very tired looking especially from the outside. Some of the rooms are very dark as they look out onto the forest and the trees block out the sun. Some of the sea view rooms do not have a balcony and they also seemed to be very dark. The bathrooms are not at all suitable for the elderly or infirm as the shower is over the bath and the bath is very high. The food is quite good and there is always something suitable for all tastes although I did find sometimes the staff were slow in replenishing the dishes (this could have been due to lack of staff). Rovinj itself is quite beautiful with a harbour from where you can take numerous boat trips, lots of cobbled streets with plenty of shops to browse in. The church is well worth a visit and if you can manage the steps up to the top the view is outstanding. If you are thinking of taking a bus trip to nearby resorts it is worth buying your ticket the day before as the queues can be very long first thing in the morning as there is only one person on duty. There are plenty of walks around the national park or for the more energetic you can hire a bike. Rovinj is definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel with balcony are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Hotel Park is in a great location with lovely views but only a short walk into town. We stayed in a perfectly reasonably sized room with a lovely sea view (even though we were only expecting a partial sea view) and the room had ample closet space. The maid also kept the room nice and clean. The pool bar/cafe staff were excellent and really friendly (and charged reasonable prices), as were the entertainment team. There were great facilities with archery, table tennis and lots more if you were feeling a bit more active than us, and a very funny aqua aerobics guy. The sun terrace had plenty of loungers and we never struggled to find two, despite a lot of towel reserving, but there weren't so many parasols as apparently a recent storm had ruined quite a few. We didn't suffer from mosquito bites once which was a nice change, even though the weather was perfect and we didn't even need cover-ups in the evening.

The only thing we didn't like about the Hotel Park was the buffet restaurant. We're not really a fan of these anyway but as we were staying HB (there being no B&B option) we gave it a try the first night, only to be told my husband needed to wear long trousers in future instead of the smart shorts he and just about every other man was wearing. The food was adequate, the swordfish even rather good, but we prefer our meals to be served fresh, not kept warm, and so we ate out for the rest of the week and had some lovely reasonably priced meals in town.

We both liked Rovinj but not quite as much as Hvar or Dubrovnic, although eating out and drinking was quite a bit cheaper. One word of caution: the stone streets in the old town were incredibly slippery so leave the heels at home.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view or partial sea view as the view is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loobylooWokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We booked at this accommodation at the last minute but managed to get a room overlooking the harbour, Fantastic view, watched the sun go down over the old town and marina Room was basic but very clean which is all that you want. location is 5 star, no stairs to tackle and very close to town Staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get the ocean view, complete experiene
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seanMargaretRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Hotel -
The views from this hotel are absolutely stunning. As you look out to sea on the right is Rovinj town, My mum has had both knees replaced and it only took her 30 min's to walk around to the centre, Its a nice flat walk no steps and has bars etc along the way. You must walk up to the church, take the easy path next to the sea, It's free to go in the church.
In front of the hotel is the main harbour, Great if you like to watch the sailing boats coming in and out, out to sea is ST Katarina Island, which you can get a boat out to from just outside the hotel. The sunsets over the Island of an evening really nice.
To the left is Punta Corrente ( Like a big country park ) You can hire bikes and go cycling in it, Lots of people go there to run but also there are many hidden places to get access into the sea and sunbathe.
There is a promenade in front of the hotel that stretches both ways really good for a walk after dinner and underneath the hotel is a supermarket so you can get all you need.
Red island is just around the cornor and it is a little beauty, You can get a boat there from just outside the hotel, it goes on the half hour every hour, When you arrive on red Island you need to go to the ticket office to get your return ticket 40 Kuna per adult. Once on the island you can walk around and go where you like, there are alot of sunbathing areas, a water sports centre , cafe, toilets etc at the hotel that you can use. Coming back the boats are hourly on the hour and run all day long to late at night.

The hotel its self does need updating.
The reception area is hugh and has leather seats and sofas and also an outside balcony so you can watch the sunsets, the bar is also there.
There are 3 lifts at the hotel yes they are a little on the dark side but there are fast and we never had to wait for one.
The room was small but I have had smaller but I didn't like the blue and yellow colour scheme not my taste, there was a coffee table, Mini bar ( which I took out and kept my own drinks in for the holiday ), big armchair and bedside table. The wardrobe was on the small side and could of used more hangers.
The bathroom was ok, the side of the bath is high if you have mobility trouble thou and the shower curtain does want to make love to you when you shower but I solved this trouble by anchoring it with my shampoo bottle. There was a hugh mirror and a shaving point.
There was no tea and coffee making facilities in the room but lots of plug sockets so you can take your own.
The pool area is fine as it looks out over the view there are 2 outdoor pools 1 bid one and a smaller one for children and 1 indoor pool ( only open in low season ) There was always plenty of sunbeds but not as many parasols, You can get a hotel towel for 100 Kuna deposit.
You do have to pay for internet access 40 Kuna for 1 hour.
Food was ok, Breakfast - Fries eggs, Bacon, Sausages, Fruit, Cold meats, Juice and Dinner Turkey, Chicken, Beef, Pasta, Pizza only had chips once in the 2 weeks!! Desert needs alot of work pretty poor.
The hotel staff are great and very helpful. Reception gave us the bus timetables and highlighted on the map how to get to the station etc

The rep at this hotel is the best we have ever had, she was amazing, really friendly and genuinely cared that you had a good time, I wanted to go scuba diving and she spent her time searching and finding me somewhere I could go and she phoned them up and booked me in so it was done properly. Not something Thompsons would normally do, can't thank her enough.

We done quite a few trips out.

We done the trip to Venice it is a very long day so be warned. You get the boat from Rovinj at 6.30am ( order a packed breakfast from reception the night before to eat on the boat ) you then go to Porec to pick up more people, then you go across to Venice. You travel with Venezialines we was on the San pawl, As you go across the guides go through the day with you and the extra options you can pay extra to do. There was a gondola ride at 12.15pm 29.00 Euros per person, lunch at 2.00pm 25.00 euros per person, A taxi boat ride at 1.00pm 29.00 euro per person.
You arrive at San Basilio and you walk to St Marks square going over the grand canel bridge and they tell you about bits as you go along, it takes about an hour to get to the square but if don't want to do the walk to ST Marks Square they could book a shuttle boat service for you 15.00 euro per person which drops you right there.
If you don't book any of the above, you just have free time to please yourself and walk around.
You leave at 5.00pm getting back at 9.00pm.
Venice is very expensive so ensure you take enough euros with you !!!!

We done the trip to Lake Bled in Slovenia stunning beyond words, Another long day but so worth it. The coach gets you at 7.30am and you have a toilet stop along the way, when you arrive you go straight up to Bled castle which is up high, you get a birds eye view of the lake and mountains, There are a few bits to see in the castle, then you go back down into the village, if you want to pay for a carriage ride around the lake you can, It costs 50 euro for a carriage, so if 5 of you go 10 euro each. Its a lovely ride around the edge of the lake and the only way to see it all in the time you have or you can get lunch, walk around etc. You are then taken to get a Pletna boat across to the tiny fairytale church, Church of Mary the Queen where you climb the 100 stairs up to get into the church, It costs 3 euro per adult to go in the church and you can ring the church bell to make a wish. You get back about 8.00pm

Natures Creations is a trip to the Postojna caves in Slovenia ( Take warm clothes, Its cold ). It is a massive cave system but has been well thought out and has no steps and has been surfaced quite smoothly under foot, You get a little train in and then a guide walks you around, its very impressive and then you get the train back out, A meal is included in this trip and you go to the hotel next door for a 3 course meal, then it is back to the coach and you go to Lipizza to see the Lipizzaner white horses used in Vienna. At 3.00pm you go in and see a show and after they walk you around the stables. Then its time to go home getting back about 7.30pm

I done a days sea Kayaking, The company come and pick you up from the hotel at 9.00am and drive you to where the kakaks are you are given a brief of what you are going to do and tips on kayaking. You go around the Rovinj archipelago about 9kms takes about 4 hours to complete. You stop at ST Johns Island for lunch included in the price and then stop at Red Island for snorkelling. The day costs 270 Kuna

The last trip we done was a boat trip up the Lim Fjord. You leave at 2.00pm and get back at 6.00pm. You sail up to the top of the fjord going past Fish and Oyster farms and have an hours stop the scenery is lovely, There is a cafe to get a drink, then on the way back you stop again for 20 min's where you can visit some caves, If you stay on the boat thou you can have a swim at this point.

There is loads to do in and around Rovinj, The people are very friendly, the country beautiful, the airport is small but very efficient. Just wish the hotel could raise to the same standard but Yes I would go back in a shot I miss it loads.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank abby722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful week in Rovinj staying at the Hotel Park which is a 3 star plus hotel in a 5 star plus location.Booked a sea view room which gave us the most amazing views of the town,marina and St Katherines Island, ok the room isnt huge but it was more than adequate.The staff at the hotel are marvellous and everyone was really friendly always willing to help with a smile.Thomson reps are great and being local very clued up on the area.If we were to return we would book B&B as their are lots of very reasonably priced resteraunts around and I'm sure you have read other more detailed comments on the evening meals.Took sterling and got a good exchange rate (9.16 Kuna to £) at the local banks also ATM rate good but check with your bank prior to going as to their charges (Nationwide = 2% + £1 per transaction).DO go to Red Island DONT go to Venice if the weather is unsettled, we spent 4.5 hours on a seacat coming back like a roller coaster ride.If you want a weather forecast ask Pedro down by the dolphin statue who sells trips around Rovinj.We loved Rovinj and will definately be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
1,011 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
826 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#4 of 23 in Rovinj
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#8 of 23 in Rovinj
254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
277 reviews
1.3 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Park

Address: I. M. Ronjgova 11, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range: $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Park 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a lively atmosphere and relaxing privacy with a great view of the Old town, Hotel Park sits right above the seaside promenade, between the Marina on one side and the centennial forest park on the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Rovinj
Hotel Park Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing