We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Island Hotel Katarina
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2006

My husband and i stayed at the Katarina hotel on the island of the same name in June of this year, we found it a lovely place to stay and the staff were very friendly. We were lucky in that we had an amazing view from our balcony though some were not as lucky as there view was obscured by the trees. Our only reservation was the fact that there were so many children there and most of which were under five. We were told while there that the hotel has special offers some months where by children go free hence why it is so popular for people with family's. Although it would not put us off staying there again i think the hotel need to cater more for the English as for example at dinner there was only one English menu and alot of the signs in the hotel are in German only.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank suzmark20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 254 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2006

Stayed here for one night in June 06. Had originally booked in for two nights but we were very disappointed and left after one. The hotel brochure hyped the place up to luxurious oasis of calm but our room, although classed as a sea view - had only sketchy views of sea through trees and room was not the luxurious standard mentioned in brochure. It was comfortable and quite large but small pokey shower room let it down.

Dinner was not too bad but a buffet service - wine very expensive and no bar to drink in only the terrace or dining room. They told us there was a beach bar open for a drink but when we went down this was shut and bolted ( this was at 8pm)!

Pool area is beautiful but very noisy at all times - no chance of a snooze. This is an ideal holiday hotel for families with young children and the hotel was filled with them. If you want a romantic break this is perhaps not the hotel for you.

If you walk through the day to the west of the island through the central nature reserve it is very quiet but this walk only takes about 20 minutes.

We felt it was over priced for what was on offer - but as we said if you are willing to pay a bit more and have a young family is probably ideal for you.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank argylllassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tore B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaistraCroatia, General Manager at Island Hotel Katarina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paolo673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaistraCroatia, General Manager at Island Hotel Katarina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank 재환 임
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaistraCroatia, General Manager at Island Hotel Katarina, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank coriblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaistraCroatia, General Manager at Island Hotel Katarina, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Matthias H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaistraCroatia, General Manager at Island Hotel Katarina, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
833 reviews
1.3 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
1,043 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#4 of 23 in Rovinj
1,463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
283 reviews
2.2 mi away
Resort Amarin
Resort Amarin
#15 of 23 in Rovinj
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel Katarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Katarina

Address: Otok Katarina 1, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
#8 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range: $99 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Hotel Katarina 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a beautiful island, a stone throw from the Rovinj City centre, Hotel Katarina is a romantic getaway surrounded by a lush 19th century garden that offers perfect vistas of the Old Town and Punta Corrente Park forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splitty, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Island Hotel Katarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katarina Hotel Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing