We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveler rating
119
123
27
17
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
123
27
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery hourbunk bedspool areapretty hotelfish nightthe breakfast buffet was greatold townboat ridelarge suiteboats runair conditioningcontinental stylemain bedroomsmall ferryshower roomlots of sun bedsfree boat
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 290 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one week. Previously stayed within the maistra group at the Lone. Both lovely hotels. The price to stay at the Katarina was really good value for money. Felt nice being on an island, but Make sure you are ok with smallish transfer boats. The staff here are very pleasing. Normally wouldn't go half board at a hotel, but So glad we did this time. The restaurant gives you a choice of a main course, which is of a very high standard, including a fish night, wherethe manager (Alan) took time to explain the local fish. Also the BBQ night was good. Prices are what I would expect with the wines and beers. Hotel room was nice and lovely and clean, again cleaners friendly and hotel should be proud of them. I hope we never loose this little gem in Croatia.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank julielovesholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaistraCroatia, General Manager at Island Hotel Katarina, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Dear Julie,

Thank you for having chosen Hotel Katarina for your vacation.
We are glad that you are completely satisfied with all the service and facilities of our hotel, as well as the features of the island of Katarina.
We are looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
Hotel Katarina Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one night in a standard room. We had a fabulous view of rovinj from our balcony.
Facilities were excellent. Changing rooms for pool, pool bar good. The pool is lovely and quiet.
Great breakfast and excellent service.
If you go for lunch the club sandwich is amazing!

If you go to rovinj for a holiday don't stay anywhere else!
You can get a free boat from the island to rovinj and back every hour.

Table tennis, archery, tennis and other activities available.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Saucy2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaistraCroatia, General Manager at Island Hotel Katarina, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Dear Saucy,
Thank you for staying at our Katarina hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we will be a part of a beautiful memory. We sincerely hope to have soon the pleasure of welcoming you back at Katarina.
Sincerely,
Hotel Katarina Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017

Wow, what an island, and the Adriatic sea to swim in, beautiful blue water. Hotel is nice, but it seems the elevators breakdown a lot, so be prepared to carry your suitcase up stairs. The breakfast is phenomenal, the dinner good, quite a selection. The town is great, not much to see, good shopping, small museum, but nice. It's uphill all the way, great food market, I was told not many people go in winter, as it gets cold and most stores are closed. Have to take a boat from island to town, be on time, they leave on time.! All in all I would go again, and again, loved it.

Room Tip: Any room with a view, of the town, or water.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank muellerlorijuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaistraCroatia, General Manager at Island Hotel Katarina, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2017

Dear Mueller :),

Thank you for staying at our Katarina hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we will be a part of a beautiful memory.
We sincerely hope to have soon the pleasure of welcoming you back at Katarina.

Sincerely,
Hotel Katarina Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017

Spent 6 nights here and loved it. It is much better than its 3*grade. Beautiful grounds, pretty hotel, great swimming pool area. Lots of sun beds around pool and beaches. Easy access to mainland on hourly boat. Breakfast was good and lots of outdoor seating. Had dinner twice - not bad, not amazing but well priced. One main gripe - no towels were provided for pool or beach - never been to any hotel in the world that doesn't provide pool towels. Would definitely recommend and return.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaistraCroatia, General Manager at Island Hotel Katarina, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017

Dear Irene,

We are very glad that you had a nice experience and adventure during your stay at hotel Katarina.
Thank you for your compliments and praise because our incentive is to be even better every year for the satisfaction of all our guests.
We thank you one more time for this great review and your visit, and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Best regards,
Hotel Katarina Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017

We stayed as a family group from August1st until 15th on half board. I have been a regular visitor to Rovinj over the years and this is a very pretty hotel on a quiet and peaceful island. There have been a lot of changes put in place to give people better access to the sea on the island and we were always able to find a quiet, private spot using the sunbeds that guests were allowed to use. Our room was nice, almost 2 rooms in one although I am not sure my 33 year old daughter was that thrilled at spending 2 weeks in a bunk bed- Maistra should be able to cater for different family dynamics. My part of the room was great- I had the big bed and the AC unit but there was no AC in the bunk bed room- do children not feel the heat too??
The staff worked incredibly hard at every service in the restaurant- they were lovely, lovely people and I wish I had had enough Kuna left to give them all a little bit each. The breakfasts were great, loads of choice. The juice was weak- no doubt a ploy to get people to pay for the freshly squeezed option. the drinks were outrageously expensive- a rip off. I worked out a mark up of around 700%- greedy. The evening meals certainly had a lot of choice in the buffet section. I didn't love the food, and for the price we paid, genuinely feel it should have been better at times. I have eaten at the Eden Hotel and the food there was so much better. It needs someone at Katarina in charge who has a bit of vision to refresh and re arrange things. The main courses were poorly cooked and lacked any cohesion- who would put salmon with brussel sprouts?? There also lacked carbohydrates at dinner time, sometimes rice and pasta, but rarely potato and hardly any veg. The desserts looked nice- tasted of nothing or herbs. There was one night where bad weather grounded most of the guests on the island and the restaurant simply could not cope, not the fault of the staff who worked flat out, but of absent managers, and seemingly no contingency plans in place for this. It should not take 45 minutes for someone to take our order/ get a drink and another 45 mins for food to arrive. There was a notable absence of any kind of management seen over the 2 weeks.
The hotel itself was kept clean and tidy as were the grounds.
The shower was not suitable for large people- I have sent a strongly worded letter of complaint about this to Maistra. We reported a problem with the shower door that was logged but never even looked at- so maintenance is poor. We found the receptionists to be polite but not helpful- Evelina Iskra who worked at Hotel Adriatic was a superb, superb receptionist- a total asset to Maistra, she could show the receptionists how it should be done- they were all very passive.
So overall, we had a great holiday, Katarina was lovely. However, Maistra as a company are fast turning into such a money orientated organisation that they are forgetting that many people, who have saved hard, are not wealthy clientele but ordinary people who deserve value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AdeleLeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaistraCroatia, General Manager at Island Hotel Katarina, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017

Dear Adele,

We are very glad that you decided to share your experience, and that you vividly described the facilities and services of the Hotel Katarina, and the beauty of the island and of the town of Rovinj. Thank you very much for your comments – both positive ones and those that pointed out some potential shortcomings of ours.
For us, each guest is equally significant. We are trying to meet the needs both of our individual guests and groups. We hope that you will remember the nice experience of your stay on Katarina Island that enchanted you, and that you will honour us with your visit again.

We hope to see you soon. Best regards.
Hotel Katarina Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews