We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Small island” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Hotel Katarina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Island Hotel Katarina
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Small island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent long weekend here in avgust.Hotel was clean but old .Air condition was not necessary because nights were cold.Island is romantic and full of birtds and trees .Food was great especially dinner.Staff were kind.Beach was ok but water is not clean.I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piter07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    84
    18
    13
    2
See reviews for
52
96
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Samobor
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great hotel, excelent location. Location is realy fantastic, on a small island very near to city of Rovinj (about 200 meters).
Rooms are clean, not luxury, but much better than 2 stars. I think that only thing because this hotele received (only) 2 stars is lack of aircondition in some rooms and lack of parking (which is normal because hotel is on small island).
Food was very good, we had buffet for breakfast, and it was very rich.
Surrounding of hotel is very very nice, trees and flowers everywhere. The special part is that room (in fact the whole hotel) is very close to sea. I thouthght that I can jump into the sea directly from my balcony :-).
Hotel has a very nice pool (if someone prefer that) and plenty of armchairs on it, but I prefer swimming in sea, which was crystal clear with nice beaches.
All in all, I had wonderful time there, and I will shurelly come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Neki V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed here with my Girlfriend and we were slightly nervous due to some of the posts on this website, however we had a great time. The setting is truly amazing, looking back at the beautiful town of Rovinj on one side and out to sea on the other. The pool area I though was fantastic, 2 large pools and lots of loungers overlooking a beach area and the sea beyond.

The hotel itself is a lovely building from the outside and I liked the dining areas/lobby etc., however the rooms do let it down and I guess are the reason why it is only 2 stars. Honestly though this doesn't bother me as how much time do you really want to spend in your room whilst on holiday? The bed was comfy, there was a fridge and TV and a decent sized balcony which was all we needed.

We were b&b and didn't have dinner at the hotel so I can't comment too much on the food. Breakfast wasn't great though and from what I seen of lunch it didn't look particularly nice either. However there is a beach bar which does nice pizzas, and also a cocktail bar which at night-time is really beautiful. There are lots of great restaurants in the town, we ate somewhere different every night and had no complaints. The little boat goes back and forward every hour and is pretty reliable and actually quite a nice way to get home each evening!

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel for couples and families wanting a relaxing holiday in a stunning location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banska Bystrica, Slovakia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We found the hotel randomly. I really liked the island and the view ( directly at the old city centre of Rovinj), especially in the evening ( there was a life music playing in the bar next to the sea- kind of romantic atmosphere.)
The hotel was decent a bit overpriced I would say, the rooms certainly demand some reconstruction. Also, air conditions should be standard at the hotels like this one. The food and personal were okay, again no glory, just the avarage.
Well, if we look at this hotel as "a two stars hotel", its trully above standard.
But if I compare it to the hotels in the same price category, I would say its very avarrage.
Once again, the privat island added some value to the place.
Would recomand it for romantic weekend for couples

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki_Nikitka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Had reservations in both senses ahead of my trip to Katarina. Seeing the mixed reviews and having gone to 2 star hotels before but my worries were soon put to bed. The room was nice and clean. Breakfast was fine, nothing special but I can only assume that it's vastly improved since the last reviewers visited. Most of the staff were great.

I would go again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Good - spacious interconnecting rooms with bunk beds for the children, wonderful views, clean rooms. The hotel is 2 star I would guess as it doesn't have aircon - we found fans were fine although may be a problem if any hotter. Lovely pools with no fighting for sun beds even in august. Fabulous location.
Not so good - nothing major. If you have kids and are not looking for a luxury hotel but one with a great location this is ideal. Breakfast a bit busy but just come early or later if that concerned. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank lol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

lije a typical socialist company in the 1980s!
- two stars hotel, rooms like a youth hostel, yet 240 eur a night with discount! a true burglary
- fantastic island and view, like a palace, yet it is run down
- service is horrible with a true socialist attitude
- breakfast buffet is like in a youth hostel with ham and cheese, soft drinks i think even the cheapest supermarket does not carry. coffee is a nightmare. breakfast closes az 10 sharp
- beach towels are not given by the pool
- i got stuck in the elevator 2x within 24h with my one year old daughter and noone came to help, i had to force the door open myself. the staff who heard the alarm said moment and was giggling

i did not believe such a hotel existed for this price anywhere in the world!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zz013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
1.3 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#4 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel Katarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Katarina

Property: Island Hotel Katarina
Address: Otok Katarina 1, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
#8 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Hotel Katarina 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a beautiful island, a stone throw from the Rovinj City centre, Hotel Katarina is a romantic getaway surrounded by a lush 19th century garden that offers perfect vistas of the Old Town and Punta Corrente Park forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Island Hotel Katarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katarina Hotel Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing