We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't understand negative reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Hotel Katarina
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Harrow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Can't understand negative reviews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Good - spacious interconnecting rooms with bunk beds for the children, wonderful views, clean rooms. The hotel is 2 star I would guess as it doesn't have aircon - we found fans were fine although may be a problem if any hotter. Lovely pools with no fighting for sun beds even in august. Fabulous location.
Not so good - nothing major. If you have kids and are not looking for a luxury hotel but one with a great location this is ideal. Breakfast a bit busy but just come early or later if that concerned. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank lol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    84
    18
    13
    2
See reviews for
52
98
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

lije a typical socialist company in the 1980s!
- two stars hotel, rooms like a youth hostel, yet 240 eur a night with discount! a true burglary
- fantastic island and view, like a palace, yet it is run down
- service is horrible with a true socialist attitude
- breakfast buffet is like in a youth hostel with ham and cheese, soft drinks i think even the cheapest supermarket does not carry. coffee is a nightmare. breakfast closes az 10 sharp
- beach towels are not given by the pool
- i got stuck in the elevator 2x within 24h with my one year old daughter and noone came to help, i had to force the door open myself. the staff who heard the alarm said moment and was giggling

i did not believe such a hotel existed for this price anywhere in the world!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zz013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Cape
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

At first thought, being on an island would seem to add inconvenience to one's visit to a mainland town. Far from it - the ferries are frequent and free to hotel guests, and the crossing to town takes only a few minutes. Compensating for this is the beautiful setting in wonderful gardens with a great view of Rovinj. The location, in fact, adds an extra dimension to the enjoyment of one's visit to Rovinj. Hotel facilities and services are without fault, unless one counts the minor inconvenience of the absence of an elevator!

Room Tip: Ask for the view across to Rovinj
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ExplorerWesternCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

Rovinj is an incredibly worthwhile destination. After traveling for two weeks through Croatia and making our way north to the amazing Istrian corner of the country, seeing Rovinj's spire appear at the terminus of the endless stretch of highway was like seeing a Balkan El Dorado.
No less impressive was the incredibly romantic and atmospheric (two words that Rovinj continually evokes from even the lesser poets amongst us) boat ride from the mainland to Katarina's Island, where the Hotel Katarina is, logically, located. It was dark, the only lights coming from Rovinj and guide lights from the island. We alight, walk up a hill to the hotel. Visually this was a tourist's dream come true. It was only after getting to our room that this castle in the air began to crash to earth.
The hotel is a grand structure set on amazing grounds, with a view of Rovinj across the the harbor to match. The rooms, though, are a world weary throw back to a simpler and more disadvantaged time. The first thing which strikes you is the synthetic vanilla and floral smell of a funeral parlor moonlighting as industrial chemical factory. Not someone's idea of a pleasant spray-can smell with which they got carried away, but a full tilt assault on your nasal membrane and tear duct integrity. Even after a day with the windows open, the smell brought tears to our eyes.
The carpet and bedding were shabby and worn, but clean. However the bathroom had a penitentiary quality with garish fluorescent lights, stained flooring and mold and cobwebs at the ceiling
There was no wifi available in the building, which in most modern traveler's life is a necessity.
And last on list of dislikes about this hotel was the breakfast, which leads among the worst I've experienced in my travels. Only the eternally optimistic expect much from a breakfast which is included at any hotel. But this one was literally inedible. Whole groups of guests would pile our plates from the truly vast assortment of options at this buffet only to pick amongst them for something we could swallow. Finally giving up, table after table would leave uneaten plates upon the table. And the coffee, ah the machine-tortured coffee: a dilute battery acid would yield a better morning experience.
The double tragedy in this is that, for two weeks, Croatia granted us a great series of breakfast options: pastries, meats, cheeses and even some fairly good coffee. This place was truly the outlier in that regard.
So I write this review, not just for the catharsis of venting my spleen, but hopefully to help the Hotel Katarina right it's course. The physical location is brilliant and with modest investment they could make this place truly special.
Here are my recommendations:

• Install wifi. Make it free. This is all but standard in Europe (and Croatia) these days.
• Update the bathrooms immediately followed, over the course of several years, the
carpeting and bedspreads in the rooms.
• Improve the breakfast. This could easily and cheaply be done by shrinking the number
of options but by improving the quality of what was presented. The coffee machine
should be replaced with the means of making a decent morning cup.
• Get rid of the fragrance tsunami that is wielded around the property. A clean room is
it's own olfactory reward, especially with a nice sea breeze from those lovely open doors to the balcony.

Good luck Hotel Katarina!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2009

Rovinj is a great place to visit and we are very glad we put it on our itinerary. The hotel was clean the staff were very friendly and able to talk in 3 different languages. They were helpful suggesting local events and things to see. Breakfast was very good.
The only thing which would have been better would have been on site car parking.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank We2kiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2008

the place was recommended in our travel guide book
the katarina office is near the park hotel in front of the marina
they arranged for us the room and we took the boat there
they have parking arrangements for free
the place is rated 2 stars, they have new owners
we stayed on a half board basis for one day and received a beautifful balcony room overlooking rovinj cathedral
the food was perfect , the staff very kind
the room nice and clean and the surrounding area very very romantic
what else can you ask for a 2 stars place???
Monica and Daniel Fridman
Israel

  • Liked — the whole place
  • Disliked — transport
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank deny55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2007

First impressions of the hotel Katarina were very favourable although it left us a little confused as the ferry dropped us off at the service landing stage on the wrong side of the island, not the normal ferry stop. This left us wondering where to go as there were no directions and the only other people went directly into one of the annex buildings and we were left trying to get into reception at a rear door that was locked. Once into reception, the area was clean, smart and welcoming, and we were dealt with quickly & efficiently. The room was clean although a little dated, and we had a balcony where we had a partial view of the town. Because we arrived late in the afternoon, we just had enough time for a brief look around the hotel & immediate grounds (again very favourable) before going into the dining area for the evening meal. All the evening meals (and breakfasts) were excellently displayed and tasted great and there was generally plenty to eat and a good choice, but food could be cold.
After our initial enthusiasms for the hotel, things went downhill. I always say that any hotel has to get the basics right, then the little things do not matter much. Here the basics are fine (good food, good staff & hotel in superb location), and if you can name a couple of niggles it does not spoil your holiday. But if there are 5 or 6 niggles, or in our case you could easily run off a dozen without even thinking too much, then I would not recommend this hotel to anyone else unless you are a family with small children. There were so many things that were not right (some small, some not so) which lead me to think that this hotel is not run very well. The issues are too numerous to mention here but here is a small selection:-
SMELL – Sewage. Smelt awful at times. By day 3 they brought across a vehicle on to the island to remove it. By day 5, the smell was back again. Below our room were two tanks buried into the ground with green lids on the top, and every day these leaked what looked like soap suds. They definitely had a drainage problem or two.
NOISE – 3 floors below us was the laundry. From 07:00 to 19:00 every day was the noise of industrial washing machines doing the laundry with a constant humming, except for the time when it was on a spin cycle and then it rattled the place. An afternoon nap was out of the question.
KIDS – I knew the hotel had a kids club (June & July only) but by going in September I thought there would not be any there or only a few. Wrong. Up to the first weekend there were about 30 to 40 small kids (aged between 3 – 9 years) running around the dining room each night and apart from noise & the danger of getting something hot spilt on them, it just was not a relaxing way to have a meal.
RUN DOWN FEELING – There were so many little things that needed attention. Sink useless, taps where you needed 2 hands to work them, outside paths needed repairing, there were lights on the paths but most did not work, the area’s away from the main blocks called a botanic garden were just overgrown and in desperate need of attention, and a couple of disused building that either need sprucing up or knocking down. There were loads of other things I could mention where I would expect a German run hotel where its main cliental were also German, would & should have been better managed.
Overall the hotel was a bit of a letdown which is a great pity because it is in a superb location and has great potential if it can be managed better and have a bit of investment.
The journey in the mini bus could have been far more relaxing. Because we were on a 2 center holiday we flew into Slovenia and were transferred to Rovinj and then for the second week were taken back the same way to Lake Bled. The journey both ways was with the same driver who looked like he should have been on a skateboard park instead of driving us. He drove way over the number of hours that is safe for any driver let alone a bus driver, and was getting through about 6 cans of red bull on each trip to stay awake. He left Venice at 04:00, picked us up in Rovinj at 07:10, the airport by 10:45 where he had a wait until 11:30 before repeating the whole journey again in reverse.
The town of Rovinj is an excellent clean friendly place for a holiday, and although there are quite a lot of bars (not the noisy type – just nice relaxing ones), there is lots to see & do. It’s an excellent place to wander around or go on one of the several walkways outside of the resort and down the coast.
Finally, must make a comment about the Holiday Options rep. I have seen many reps in my time and attended loads of welcome meetings, but this one could not be faulted. He kept the welcome meeting brief, informative & relevant and gave loads of useful advice and did not push day trips at all. At the end of our stay he was waiting on the quayside to help us off the ferry and show us to the mini bus even though it was only 07:10 am.

  • Liked — Its location.
  • Disliked — The place was packed with too many noisy kids even in September.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Dudley-Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
1.3 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arupinum
Hotel Arupinum
#9 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel Katarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Katarina

Property: Island Hotel Katarina
Address: Otok Katarina 1, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
#8 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Hotel Katarina 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a beautiful island, a stone throw from the Rovinj City centre, Hotel Katarina is a romantic getaway surrounded by a lush 19th century garden that offers perfect vistas of the Old Town and Punta Corrente Park forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Hotel Katarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katarina Hotel Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing