We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,178)
Filter reviews
1,178 results
Traveler rating
602
411
113
27
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
602
411
113
27
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevening mealcaptains barevery hourfree wine and beeron tapsea viewday trippersfree ferrylanterna restaurantalways on timeidyllic locationferry tripferry runshalf boardboat servicehotel guestsgreat holiday
Filter
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 1,178 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2016 via mobile

Best resort holiday, absolutely stunning location, excellent value for your money, staff really friendly and helpful.What more do you need? Rooms well equipped, free safe, air con, hairdryer, no kettle though, choice of restaurants, we had a meal in the a la carte, lovely food, excellent service and a setting to die for.

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaistraCroatia, General Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2016

Dear Ron R,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
Sincerely,

Hotel Istra Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2016

After arriving at the harbour, you have a boat ride where the staff load your cases for you onto the boat. Arriving at the Island the sight before you is amazing, not only can you walk the coast road around the hotel you can also cross the causeway and have another beautiful walk around a deserted island, where there are pheasants roaming everywhere.

The staff at the hotel are friendly especially at reception, where Iva works, she is so helpful and a delight to see her smile everyday, love to you and your son Carlo. The restaurant however is a lot to be desired, to me it was like a canteen. The tables were thin melamime with just a cotton strip across, and the chairs were the most uncomfortable I've ever sat on with solid wooden backs. The food was average where you had to queue up with with many people. The so called restaurant itself was heaving, so a tip is, go to the one opposite which is a lot quieter and you will be looked after by Gordana, she is lovely. The rooms are basic but clean, however there was a lot of mould around the bath.

There is a separate block which are suites and you can have your breakfast in the restaurant set in an old monestry, but evening meal you eat with the rest, cannot see how this jusitfies the extra money. As I have just stated there is another restaurant there but you pay extra to eat there.

The evening entertainment was, bingo and then CD's played, a couple singing other nights, no dancing just sit and drink and listen.

The boat leaves the hotel on the hour and returns from Rovinj on the half hour, it is a wonderful service and really enjoyed the crossings. There is also free Wifi all around the hotel. The outside pools are lovely, but there is an indoor pool and jacuzzi, which is normally emply, so enjoy.

I absolutely love the island, and forgetting the negative parts, would I return again, YES YES YES. It is a shame, but with some updating it would definately be worth a 5*.

After leaving the boat at the harbour turn right and there is a National Park to walk through, either along the coast road or through the park. The other stop for the boat is near the shops, turn left and walk up the the church, you will avoid the crowds, and is a lovely walk.

Enjoy hotel Istra as the island is so beautiful.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a sea view either side of hotel
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Woodlands19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaistraCroatia, General Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2016

Dear Woodlands19,

We are very glad that you decided to share your experience, and that you vividly described the facilities and services of the Istria Hotel, and the beauty of the Island. Thank you very much for your comments – both positive ones and those that pointed out some potential shortcomings of ours.
And thank you for your regrads to Ms Iva and Gordana, they say Hy back to you also. :)

We hope that you will remember the nice experience of your stay on Crveni otok that enchanted you, and that you will honour us with your visit again.

Kind regards,
Hotel Istra Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2016

Hotel Istra is very good and comfortable. The food too is very good having improved since we visited the years ago. Love viewable around especially from the upper floors. Walking around the two islands is sooo relaxing - lovely!
We enjoyed the trips to and fro to Rovinj on the ferry.

Room Tip: Upper floors for best views.
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaistraCroatia, General Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2016

Dear Enid B,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay again here, and that you noticed some imrovements that we have made in the last couple of years, that gives us great pleasure to hear :).

We thank you one more time for taking the time to share this feedback, and we hope to see you again very soon.
Sincerely,

Hotel Istra Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one week in September and the purpose of the holiday was to recharge our batteries and relax a little. We certainly did. The transfer from the airport in Pula took about 45 minutes but was very straightforward with the Thompson reps ensuring everyone was checked in on the right to coaches. The coach dropped us off at what is known as the Dolphin Roundabout. Here we had a short wait for a 'ferry' crossing over to the island of Istra. This took about 10 minutes and is free every time you use whilst staying at the hotel. The hotel was very clean, welcoming and quite modern with lifts located for the upper floors (only 3 floors) there's are pool view rooms, sea view rooms and rooms with neither. We had one with neither that was sort of overlooking the tennis courts. It was a lovely room, clean, airy. It had a fridge but no kettle, bath and shower. Maids cleaned everyday and changed towels. Food was excellent, a good choice of fresh food and drinks with mealtimes were included in the holiday. We took the ferry over to Rovinj, and spent a day looking around the shops boutiques and other places of interest. Definitely worth doing. The cobbles are very slippy/shiny, even without rain so be sure to wear appropriate footwear!! We took the Thompson trip to Venice which was excellent. It was an early start (6am ferry) but to have the chance to explore Venice, ride on the gondolas, enjoy the activity of St Marks Square and take a ride down the Grand Canal, was amazing. We returned back to the hotel at 10pm, a long day but worth it. If u chose to do a day trip, and if this means you miss your breakfast or evening meal or both, you can ask for a packed lunch. We did this when we went to Venice as we missed both. We got a packed lunch each, sandwich, juice drink, pear, yoghurt and biscuits, and upon our return there was a cold meat and cheese platter in our rooms too. The pools are lovely (a bit cold) and the sea was beautiful. It's just a few steps down from the pool area to the beach, more of a stoney, pebbly shore but plenty of sun loungers. A lot of people were going in the sea with those plastic shoes on, I think it would have been easier if I'd had a pair as it was quite slippy as u first went in. We would have a couple of beers throughout the afternoon. We got them from the pool bar and for 2 draught beers it was 48 Kuna, this worked out at about £6 so £3 per drink. The prices of the soft drinks and small bottles of water weren't much cheaper hence us sticking to the beers! We didn't take in any of the after dinner entertainment so can't comment on that. We took the opportunity to eat in the Lantern Restaurant next door, which is a beautiful old building with tables overlooking the bay (make sure you reserve them) This restaurant is not included in your stay so you do have to pay for what you get. It was a birthday treat and was amazing. We went whilst it was still light (6pm) and although it's not the ideal side of the island to see the sunset, to see the changing colours of the sky was quite something. The lighting around the place when night fell made the whole evening quite endearing and candles were lit to set the mood. We had a starter, breads, 2 beers, a main dish, a dessert and 2 bottles of the house white wine, as we weren't in any rush to leave the table in such a beautiful setting. I think with a tip we left £85, like I say, you don't have to eat here but for a special occasion this was something that I will never forget. A very relaxing, enjoyable, peaceful holiday.

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
2  Thank nbytrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaistraCroatia, General Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2016

Dear nbytrippers,

We are very glad that you had a nice experience and adventure during your stay at Red Island, at Hotel Istra.
Thank you for your compliments and praise because our incentive is to be even better every year for the satisfaction of all our guests.

We thank you one more time for this great review and your visit, and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Best regards!
Hotel Istra Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is on Andrews Idland just a boat ride off Rovinj.
The transfer from the airport is approx half hour to the dolphin island where you will get the boat over to the island.
Your luggage comes off on to a trolley and is taken to your room when you have been checked in you don't have to touch it, at check in you will be allocated your room best rooms are sea view rooms it is really and I must emphasis this a good idea to have a sea view overlooking the pool or the dock at the front.
There is a spa which has treatments galore incase you want a treat and also a separate sauna and steam room area, one point with this is that people do walk round naked so
Be aware of this - also there is a heated indoor pool which is s good size with a large jacuzzi attached is an outside veranda with loungers .
This leads down to the pool areas which are amazing good sized polls and lots of loungers.
One note people do take trips over to the island and at a cost can use all the loungers and pool etc but they do have to pay and the hotel
Sunbed guy comes round collecting money all day so they won't get away with it.
Activities are canoe pedlo bicycles , small speed boat with driver tennis courts volley ball chess board and numerous others.
There are a few small Beachey areas a little rocky so beach shoes are a must but the sea is clear as a bell,
Lots of fish to see all very beige but still fish , there is a walkway that takes you to a smaller island which has a mausalium on it lots of walks a running track a small restaurant lots of benches along the walks and hidden little coves for sunbathing, one warning people do sunbath nude on this island as it is out of the way.
There are a lot of pheasants walking around both islands which is lovely they are friendly and will eat a crust out of your hand , don't feed the gulls though they are a nuisance and tend to
Pack if anyone drops the tiniest bit of anything on the floor , I think the hotel are trying to keep them at bay.
The restaurant food has been amazing somthing different each night with all drinks included until
21:30 when the restaurant closed so keep your glasses topped up .
The staff have been very friendly we were talking to one girl and she told us they are not used to people being so polite and saying please and thank you it's not the Croatian way but she liked it .
Personally we don't want to go home it's very relaxing here there is no traffic noise or music playing like in a normal holiday resort it's peace on earth.
If you have any questions just ask I may of missed somthing or can answer I am happy to help.

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
2  Thank monic15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaistraCroatia, General Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2016

Dear Monic15,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
Sincerely,

Hotel Istra Management,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews