We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday choice”
Review of Island Hotel Istra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Island Hotel Istra
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Croatia has always been a favourite of ours but we'd never stayed in Istria before. We'd visited Rovinj on a day trip during a previous holiday and decided it would be a great destination for a family holiday to celebrate our retirement. We travelled as a party of 8 viz Grandparents, our two daughters & partners together with our 2 grandchildren [aged 10 & 3]. We chose the Hotel Istra and weren't disappointed.
Manchester to Pula takes just over two hours with a 45 minute transfer to Rovinj before embarking on the hotel's boat, the Rubinum, for the 10 minute or so crossing to the Istra on St Andrew's Island. The hotel is modern and is no architectural gem but we found it to be clean, comfortable and spacious. Our rooms gave peaceful sleep quality and had great sea views, one faced Rovinj, the others faced the smaller Maskin Island connected to St Andrew's Island by a short causeway.
The guests included several nationalities: with similar numbers of British; German/Austrian; Italian, French; with some American and Japanese groups. This cosmopolitan mix didn't seem to have problems in the dining room - food was plentiful with a good choice, free drinks were available at dinner, not top quality but very palatable - we heard no complaints. The price of drinks and snacks at the bar were very good - much cheaper than one would find in the UK.
The facilities at the hotel were very good; plentiful sunbeds; 5 pools: 4 outdoor & 1 indoor; a good gym and a very good Wellness Centre. Our grandchildren loved the indoor play area and were very enthusiastic with the facilities at the outdoor equivalent.
Walking around both Islands took less than an hour even if you were just strolling; the flora & fauna were well managed and there were plenty of benches to sit and enjoy the views. Many people took to the rocks on Maskin to sunbathe.
We had read complaints in previous reviews about the hotel concerning the attitude of some of the staff - we found none of this and didn't observe any either. All staff were friendly and welcoming.
If there was one thing that could be improved it was the evening entertainment, or lack of it - with no alternative on the island we think this is a definite area for improvement.
We wouldn't want to end on a negative note so we would like to unreservedly recommend the Hotel Istra and Rovinj to would-be holiday makers - we enjoyed it - we hope you will.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JatnRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,020)
There are newer reviews for Island Hotel Istra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

Have just come back from Croatia. What a gorgeous place, and the icing on the cake was staying at the fantastic Hotel Istra on an idilic island off the coast, nr Rovinj.

When you arrive the hotel ferry collects you from the jetty and off you go for the 10 min trip, not sure what to expect, until the hotel and island come into view. WOW was my first reaction, the hotel and island are absolutely stunning. Check in was very swift and off we went to our room, we upgraded to a superior, and it was lovely, light and clean. View from our balcony - WOW, absolutely gorgeous views, could sit and watch it all day.

The food was good and plenty of it, good choice of different styles - pasta, fish, meat, etc, etc and you help yourself to red or white wine, or beer. My husband was in pudding heaven, it was plentiful and fresh. The restaurant was buffet style, and on one night it was very busy, but otherwise it was fine.

All the public areas were light and modern, bar was good and it was nice sitting outside on the terrace watching the views with glass of the local beer.

All 4 pools were spotless and well tended by the staff, plenty of loungers available too. Great walks around both islands.

The hotel ferry went every hour to Rovinj (free for guests) so you never felt cut off at all, and could pop over quite regularly. Rovinj is such a romantic place, cobbled streets and awesome views from the church tower (so my hubby tells me).

So all in all, I loved my week here at the Istra Hotel and will definitely be back again. Highly recommended

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank cazziebeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just returned from an idyllic week at Hotel Istra. The hotel was spotless,due to the hard working staff.The food was plentiful with a wide variety to suit all tastes and ages. The hotel had a range of daytime and evening activities, all lead by the talented team of multi-lingual staff. A retreat to relax,un-wind and enjoy the beautiful unspoilt surroundings. The only minus was a few 'choppy' ferry crossings after visiting Rovinj, but that's the nature of the sea and some could say an adventure !!!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the swimming pool would be a better option.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at the Istra for 7 nights last week and had a wonderful relaxing time.We had visited the islands last year on a day trip while staying at the Park Hotel in Rovinj (also a great hotel) and decided that a week out of high season was a must. Our room was clean and modern with great views over the adjoining Red Island (booking a sea view is a must as some rooms look like they have a very limited view).The staff are all very friendly and helpful and the two islands have lovely walks with beatiful views of the Croatian coastline.The hourly ferry service into Rovinj takes about 10 minutes so we could shop, sight see and eat out at any time we fancied.The choice of food at the hotel is very good but we like the previous reviewer found that it could have been hotter! We also experienced the Italians and can vouch for the noise level they made!! However the other groups who arrived during the week had no effect on our lovely holiday. A great holiday location but we can imagine it is very busy with families during the school holidays so late May/early June is ideal for a get away from it all break.

Room Tip: Third (top) floor have the best views especially over the swimming pools we has room 334.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This Hotel favours very large group bookings.During our 11 nights there this month there were 250 school children,replaced by a group of 250 Italians ( noisier than the children),followed by a group of approx 200 Austrians( or Germans) who were then replaced by another large conference party.Indeed we had booked here for 14 nights but all bookings were cancelled for our first weekend as the Hotel booked a group of 450 Germans at short notice whereas we booked the Hotel last year.

Thomsons rooms all used to be sea view but are now relegated to the only block with many non sea view rooms and as a result we had to pay 160 Euros to the hotel for a sea view. The receptionist ( I won't name her but it began with V ) was not at all interested to see my email from Thomsons apologising for the cancellation ,by the hotel,of the first few days ( we were transferred to Hotel Eden on the mainland until the Tues), that the content mentioned they would try to get us some special attention as it was a wedding anniversary and for the disruption caused( we had family and friends booked into the Istra from the Tues so had to make a lot of calls to get agreement that we could switch from the Eden to the Istra to join them!)
.She was also completely unimpressed that we had stayed at the hotel before,had two other rooms booked in our party and had recommended friends and family who were guests in the past.
Despite our past custom,recommendations ,special anniversary and disruption caused by the Hotel "V"refused to transfer us to another room without payment in full before hand.
Other than the fact that you will not be valued as a guest the Hotel and staff are very efficient and the location ( if they don't cancel your booking in favour of some later more lucrative ones)is very good. The Hotel is very clean and the buffet has a wide choice although not always very hot.
The Thomsons rep,bless him,organised some sparkly wine on our anniversary .

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BilloEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel would only be worthwhile staying at if you had kids and wasn’t too fussy about rude staff. Hotel itself looks like a concrete relic from the 70's, nice gardens but rooms are dated. As for friendly service we arrived a few hours early and asked if any rooms were available only to be rudely told no!....like we were crazy for even asking. Service didn't improve much from there unfortunately. Hotels like this need to realise guests will overlook a lot if the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

I will review hotel not island and nature which are true paradise but you can come here on a day trip and don't have to be ripped off!
Room:
Had a superior room. View to the island church. Someone here wrote that it's like an Ikea hotel and it's true!! Furniture like from Ikea,very basic and without soul. It so sad that for 4* hotel there is no bathrobe,no flip flops (you can only pay for them if you use wellness). In other 4* hotels you can also find tea/coffee machine,body lotion,maybe some welcome drink or little present but not here. Also there is no internet connection in rooms,only in the lobby and you have to pay it extra! Don't understand why is so big problem to "bring" wi-fi in rooms.
Maids woked up us in 8 in the morning because they were talking and talking on hallway and we did put "don't disturb" sign. Obviously they don't understand that we are on vacation and maybe we want to get some sleep. I wanted to get out and tell them something but didn't. Fool. Our room wasn't cleaned untill 1.30 and we were out all the time. I saw one of the maids outside the other room and she told that it's not her part to clean but she will clean it.

Food:

So dissapointing. No Istrian cuisine at all. Cheapest fruit yoghurts. Undrinkable cola and juices. Red wine was ok but it would be nice to see Croatian beer and not the cheapest foreign. There are a lot of salads and fresh fruit. Food is really like in a cantine,without any effort and soul. Edible and this is it. Dissapointing for price paid and 4*.

Wellness:

Looks very nice,garden is nice,it's very nice decorated. Only green tea in offer and we all don't like green tea! You get bathrobe only if you pay for full day but if you take for 4 hours you'll get only ONE towel and flip flops ,how silly is that?!? So take towels from your room if you don't want to get cold! You can't take bathrobe from your room because I remind you that you don't have it there!!
So there are 2 finnish sauna. Great but I wonder do they clean them inside at all?! You can see trails of sweat and dirt. No essential oils in bio sauna like advertised. Turkish baths also without essential oils . Showers not working properly because of calc and those near turkish bath are not working at all.
Wellness is really nice equipped and decorated but needs general cleaning!!

In the end of our vacation we felt ripped off because we really didn't got service that we paid. You can always come to the island by boat for 5€ on a day trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MTCTDTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
788 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
993 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#4 of 23 in Rovinj
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#8 of 23 in Rovinj
248 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
261 reviews
3.4 mi away
Resort Amarin
Resort Amarin
#16 of 23 in Rovinj
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel Istra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Istra

Address: Crveni Otok 1 - St. Andrea, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
#6 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range: $87 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Hotel Istra 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Istra is an island of its own, a traffic free oasis of sea and sun, wonderful beaches and secluded spots, a ten minute boat ride from Rovinj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Island Hotel Istra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istra Hotel Rovinj
Hotel Istra Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing