We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon”
Review of Island Hotel Istra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island Hotel Istra
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Been late writing up a review, but have to say this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in, it was outstanding!...

We went first to Venice then drove to Rovinj, caught the little boat which takes 10mins.
Once we booked in, we went to our room and had champaigne provided free of charge and had an incredible view of the sea.

Our 6 days spent here was great and we were incredilby sad to be leaving!

The service of the staff, the room and food were brilliant....I really cant fault anything.
The island is big enough not to get bored, with plenty of activities to do and just as good to chill out and bathe or swim or walk around the gardens.

Brilliant place you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hinchys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,046)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

639 - 645 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

Situated literally a 10 minute ferry ride from Rovinj with stunning views. Ferrys to and from Rovinj run every hour from 6am until 1am
Accommodation & service were excellent. Food was good, buffet style with complimentary beer, wine & soft drinks with meal. I also received a complimentary bottle of bubbly from the hotel management for my birthday, which was a lovely suprise. Although the hotel was very busy there were plenty of little places to get away from the crowds. Ideal for couples and quite romantic really, we especially loved walking around the islands early morning and evening. Saw some beautiful sunsets. We were lucky with the weather exceptionally hot for time of year (Mid September) only had one bad day. There is also a lovely restaurant the 'Lanterna' on the island, not too expensive, worth a least one visit during your stay.

Room Tip: Although many rooms have sea view, in our experience it is best to pre-book to guarantee, or request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Denal77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

My wife and i stayed for a week from 27th September. Booked a sea view room, which to be fair we were allocated, but it was on the first floor over looking the cafe bar roof and sea beyond. I went to reception and asked if we could be moved to a higher room and was immediately given an alternative on the third floor which was lovely. Room was spacious and immaculate and remainded so throughout our stay. Food was very good with plenty of choice at breakfast and dinner. Unlimited wine and beer included with dinner and whilst the red wine wasn't up to much! the white wine and beer were fine. Great facilities included an indoor and outdoor pools, Gym and treatment rooms. Free ferry to and from the lovely town of Rovinj which runs on the hour and is proabably the only issue with the hotel as you had to clock watch a little if you needed to be somewhere by a certain time. Thomsons resort rep (Orluna) was first class and we booked a boat trip and excursion to Lake Bled in Slovenia through her, both of which were great. Would definately return in the future to a lovely peacful hotel where the sun shines daily (at leasy on our trip!) in a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are nice but unless you intend to stay in your room all day, I wouldn't pay a for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KMSKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband and I went to Hotel Istra to renew our wedding vows - together with my infant, 4 grandparents, sister in law and brother, his wife and 2 toddlers and had both an amazing holiday and stunning service. The hotel is on an island, a 15 min boat trip from the mainland - the most beautiful setting I have ever had the pleasure of being in. The food and staff were excellent throughout the holiday, only topped by the wonderful food and service at our vow renewal service. We re-said our vows looking out over the sea - I doubt there is anywhere more perfect in the world. Special thanks to Vedran, who helped arrange the day and looked after us all.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LesleyJDow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Five friends spent a fantastic week at the Istra in September - the weather was perfect, even the sea was warm for swimming. The hourly ferry over to the island works well although, as other reviewers have commented, we would have been quite happy to stay on the island. It was a pleasure to walk around the two islands and watch the variety of boats going past. Also, it was a treat to get up early in the morning to walk up to the mausoleum (folly) on the adjoining island and feed the pheasants (with bread bought in Rovinj the previous evening). It was just so peaceful although there were still a lot of visitors at the hotel. Our rooms were on the third floor above the indoor pool and overlooking the outdoor pools and the istrian coastline. We were lucky with an ironing room complete with steam iron and trouser press close by, together with a lift down to the Wellness Centre and indoor pool with jacuzzi. The beds were really comfortable with nice large pillows. Plenty of storage space in the bedrooms and a free digital safe, which wasn't working when we first arrived but it was repaired within five minutes of reporting it to reception. The minibar/fridge in the room was useful for keeping milk and bottled water in. There are no tea making facilities in the room, so take your own kettle if you like an early cuppa! The restaurant does get noisy and busy but we were half board and found if we timed breakfast and dinner right, there was very little queuing and the waiters tended to keep us a large table as we were a group. The food was plentiful, beautifully cooked and always a good selection of meat, fish and veggie dishes. Also, there were always plenty of nice cooked veg which is rare in many hotels abroad. The wine, beer and soft drinks were very acceptable with the evening meal. Both morning and night there was a good selection of fruit - bananas, pears, peaches, plums and lots of melon.
We caught the local bus to Pula - which was well worth the visit, with lots to see in the old part of town. We also walked through the "Botanical gardens" past the Park and Eden Hotel in Rovinj. More of a park than gardens, but a lovely walk with a nice bar to stop at for a drink and to look over at the Istra Hotel, together with plenty of little bathing spots.
Altogether a wonderful hotel on a picturesque island overlooking the stunning town of Rovinj.
I will be back - already booked for next summer.

Room Tip: Sea view room on higher floor for perfect views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JanePowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Just returned from this lovely hotel, it is spotlessly clean with every facility one would want. Totally
peaceful, pleasant helpful staff and a setting which is second to none. The boat trip to Rovinj was
a relaxing way to start a visit to the town, although, I would have been quite happy to stay on the island! A stroll over to the smaller island is a delight, with a charming restaurant to visit for lunch.
Will we return? I certainly hope so.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lamb082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We have just returned from a 10 day trip to the Hotel Istra (13-22 September 2011) and had a lovely holiday. The hotel is in a fantastic location and our room was on the 1st floor. We were very happy with our room and the view which overlooked the swimming pools and the Istrian coastline.

Everywhere in this hotel is kept spotless. Housekeeping is excellent. Rooms are cleaned daily and towels and bed linen changed regularly. There are complimentary toiletries and a box of tissues in the bathroom.

Although we booked a room with a double bed we were given a room which had twin beds. The beds were excellent - very comfortable and there is a choice of pillows.

The digital safe is free as is the air conditioning. There is a mini bar but we did not use it – just took all the bottles out and used it as a fridge to store our own drinks in.

Unfortunately tea/coffee making facilities are not available in the rooms.

Not all the rooms have a sea view. Some of the rooms are overlooking the tennis courts.
We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis but we did try the restaurant twice whilst there. The food was quite good but it does get very noisy and busy. The food was hot and several dishes to choose from although there was some quirky food as well! Wine, beer and soft drinks are free with dinner.

We both really enjoyed the breakfasts as the choice of fruit (bananas, apples, peaches, plums, grapes etc.) was fresh and plentiful. Chef will also cook fried eggs or omelettes to your liking. Great choice for breakfast.

The town of Rovinj is about 15 minutes by boat. It’s a very pretty town and every time we went there we discovered different shops. Do be careful if you decide to visit the Church as the cobbled streets can be very slippery (no high heels ladies) best to wear flat shoes or trainers!
The boat service from the hotel is prompt over to Rovinj and takes about 15-20 minutes. We went over to Rovinj almost every night as the choice of restaurants is excellent. Also the shops are open quite late during the evenings.

Highly recommended is the “Scuba” restaurant it’s spotlessly clean and if you love fish then this place is for you! I had scampi there and it was delicious. My hubby had steak and it was cooked perfect. Reasonably priced too. The Scuba restaurant is located just past the Adriatic Hotel in the main square – very easy to find.

On Thursday there was a wine festival going on in the main square of Rovinj which was lovely – a good time was had by all!! Loads of people and a great atmosphere. On Friday there was a live group in the square and that was good also.

To sum up, we both had a fantastic holiday – there is always somewhere quiet to sunbathe either in the gardens which are adjacent to the swimming pools or you can walk across to the island which is opposite the hotel which can be reached by a causeway. This island is uninhabited but is lovely to walk around (takes about 20 mins) and you will see pheasants and other small wildlife there. There is a small coffee bar there as well. It’s well worth visiting.

We both highly recommend this hotel and look forward to going again sometime soon.

Enjoy

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Mazza14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
838 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
298 reviews
1.3 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#8 of 23 in Rovinj
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Family Hotel Amarin
Family Hotel Amarin
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
278 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
1,036 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#4 of 23 in Rovinj
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel Istra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Istra

Address: Crveni Otok 1 - St. Andrea, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#5 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range: $135 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Hotel Istra 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Istra is an island of its own, a traffic free oasis of sea and sun, wonderful beaches and secluded spots, a ten minute boat ride from Rovinj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Hotel Istra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istra Hotel Rovinj
Hotel Istra Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing